Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, A True Michael Jackson Videos Set!!!
Many will question Sony's decision to put out another reissue of Michael Jackson's material. After all in the past that have really milked this man's hits! However this is simply not the case here, I happen to applaud sony for giving us a set to cherish.

Michael Jackson's Vision is quite simply the definitive Michael Jackson DVD video collection. Whilst others...
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by AV1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to have
This is a great colection of MJs Music Videos. However, the quality of the earlier videos has a lot to be desired. The company who are distributed this collection could have improved the quality of the the ealier videos.
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by mr barry c forbes


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, A True Michael Jackson Videos Set!!!, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Many will question Sony's decision to put out another reissue of Michael Jackson's material. After all in the past that have really milked this man's hits! However this is simply not the case here, I happen to applaud sony for giving us a set to cherish.

Michael Jackson's Vision is quite simply the definitive Michael Jackson DVD video collection. Whilst others have fallen short (History gave us just 10 of the king of pop's short films, number ones gave us 15 edited videos), vision gives us the opportunity to watch some of the greatest music videos ever made, 4.5 hours worth, uncut and with fully restored picture and audio. Many videos (she's out of my life, another part of me, etc) have never been commercially released on dvd, or any other format before. There are some issues to cover. Whilst Ghosts is included it is reduced to just the music video (after all, Ghosts is not a short film at 40 mins, disc space has been reserved for more music videos, no doubt it will probably get a seperate release in the future, same as moonwalker did) and at least we don't have the shorter blurred version of smooth criminal seen on number ones' dvd, here we have the excerpt from moonwalker.

The first 2 discs offer a chronological look at the career of a true icon. Starting with don't stop til you get enough and working through the years we get 35 era defining short films, directed by Hollywood directors such as Martin Scorsese, John Landis, Spike Lee, etc and featuring appearances from the likes of Eddie Murphy, Marlon Brando, Naomi Campbell, etc. Most of these are uncut (bad, smooth criminal, remember the time, the way you make me feel, you rock my world, black or white). Disc 3 then gives us extras which include videos of the Jackson's, 3T & Paul McCartney, all of which feature MJ. The other added bonus is that we get the alternate (more controversial) prison version of they don't care about us, and the previously unreleased one more chance bringing the total to 42. Also included is a 60 page book with photo's from video shoots.

Quality wise does it promise the restoration that Sony promised. Well yes and no. Many of the videos have black bars at the side (like old films do on blu-ray). This may not please some but I'd rather have them this way than cropped, stretched, etc. There are a small number that have been cropped though (Remember the time is one). Which is a shame but only a few suffer this. The picture quality is actually not bad. Colours look bolder and brighter than before, not always razor sharp but not too far off the mark. The few that have been cropped (all from disc 2) look a little pixelated but I have seen worse. Disc 3 could have included more material really. Despite this it is still the most definitive collection to date (until the inevitable blu-ray release!!)

It would have been nice to have included a couple of live performances such as the motown 25 performance, but maybe they're saving them for the extras of another release! I don't think this will be the last of Sony's plans for the Michael Jackson dvd collector, hopefully next we'll see the bad & history concerts (and hopefully on blu-ray too) but for now let's enjoy Michael Jackson's Vision.

DISC 1
1 Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough 4:12
2 Rock With You 3:22
3 She's Out of My Life 3:35
4 Billie Jean 4:54
5 Beat It 4:57
6 Thriller 13:42
7 Bad 18:05
8 The Way You Make Me Feel 9:24
9 Man In the Mirror 5:03
10 Dirty Diana 5:05
11 Smooth Criminal 9:27
12 Another Part of Me 4:45
13 Speed Demon 10:08
14 Come Together 5:40
15 Leave Me Alone 4:36
16 Liberian Girl 5:34
Total Disc 1: 112 mins.

DISC 2
1 Black or White 11:01
2 Remember The Time 9:16
3 In the Closet 6:05
4 Jam 7:59
5 Heal The World 7:32
6 Give In To Me 5:29
7 Who Is It 6:34
8 Will You Be There 5:55
9 Gone Too Soon 3:38
10 Scream 4:47
11 Childhood 4:29
12 You Are Not Alone 5:34
13 Earth Song 6:44
14 They Don't Care About Us 7:08
15 Stranger In Moskow 5:33
16 Blood On The Dancefloor 5:27
17 Ghosts 3:58
18 You Rock My World 13:30
19 Cry 4:57
Total Disc 2: 125 mins.

DISC 3 (Extras)
1 Blame It On the Boogie - The Jacksons 3:32
2 Enjoy Yourself - The Jacksons 3:31
3 Can You Feel It - The Jacksons 9:37
4 Say Say Say - Paul McCartney & Michael Jackson 4:57
5 They Don't Care About Us - Prison version 4:52
6 Why? - 3T featuring Michael Jackson 4:33
7 One More Chance - previously unreleased 4:03
Total Disc 3: 35 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Love it!, 23 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Michael's short films all on one collection! It's absolutely fabulous, the quality is great, the menu's etc are great, the book is great and the packaging is Awesome! it has a lovely hologram front to it which really brings it to life.
Michael Jackson - A legend
Has full versions of short films such as bad, thriller etc.

Only possible complaint would be not having the History March video sequence from other dvd's - but technically that's not a music video anyway.

Without a doubt a Wonderful Collection of the best Music videos of all time.
A GREAT BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate MJ video collection, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
If you're a dedicated hardcore fan like me then you already have most or all of these videos already with of course the exception of One More Chance.
You may be thinking that you don't want to buy this set for that very reason but I would urge you to get it, it's a beautiful collection which covers Michael's video career pretty much in full.

No the full version of Ghosts isn't in this set, we must wait a little longer for the DVD release it seems and Blood On The Dancefloor is the remixed version not the original and the version here of You Are Not Alone is not the angel version, BUT!

You get the full versions of Bad with the credits at the end, the full version of The Way You Make Me Feel which is very rarely if ever shown on television. The full version of They Don't Care About Us with the wonderful drumming sequence by Olodum at the end plus the previously banned prison version too. Also the full version of Can You Feel It complete with end credits and a really fun performance of Enjoy Yourself with the Jackson brothers looking very dashing indeed in their sparkly white tuxedos. The full version of You Rock My World is in this set too.

Not to mention of course the previously unreleased One More Chance video, the main reason a lot of fans like me will buy this set-it's fantastic, HE'S fantastic and you won't be disappointed.

The set itself is packaged and presented beautifully with a book full of lovely photos of the videos, some of them quite rare it seems. The moving images on the lenticular cover are gorgeous and the menus and title cards on the DVDs themselves are a joy to see, really stunning - the DVD's load fast too - no sitting through reams of info you can't fast forward through, you get straight to the videos really quickly.

For those of you who aren't hardcore fans you will enjoy this set too, it's a pretty comprehensive look his video career and at this price for all of these videos it's a bargain shamone! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vision, 3 Nov 2010
By 
C. J. Hibberd "musicmaniac" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I cannot believe anyone would give this 1 star and why a Michael Jackson fan would even complain. It is selfish and petty in my mind and people will still complain that they have seen it or have some fuzzy footage somewhere of Ghosts if they decide to put that to DVD!!
Sony have a 7 year contract ample time to bring out concert footage and full versions of Ghosts etc., To have all his short films in one box set is a brilliant move by Sony, no more hunting around for different dvds, youtube, fuzzy copies etc., There are also may older fans who do not have the internet and would not have seen some of these films but to me the biggest factor is this will introduce a new generation of fans to Michaels brilliance and hopefully they will fall in love with his artistry and as a man as we did. It is not always about the fans and fans should be happy that more people are going to be introduced to Michael - his work has been buried under tabloid trash for too many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 5 Jun 2012
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
It's Michael Jackson and it's another fantastic experience and journey of his talent.. what more can be said that hasn't been said already, well maybe the fact that it's probably the best and clearest versions available (quality-wise) which is even more reason to buy it.

However, PLEASE try NOT to give a low star rating just because the DVD's are NTSC and not the European standard of PAL. I was shocked to see an overall rating of apprx 3.5 to 4 stars and this is not justified for the universal legend and phenomenon that is Michael Jackson. I know there is an issue with the playback for some people which frustrating because even though most devices are compatible, there are still some TV's/DVD player's out there that may still be incompatible with the American/Japan NTSC standard. Also I've witnessed problems with playback on a Mac computer; as good as Mac computers are, sadly they are a bit (no very) lacking when it comes to DVD compatibility especially the included DVD Player software in OS X - If you've experienced this personally then I would recommend that you download the fantastic free 'VLC' player in order to play these fantastic DVD's and enjoy. I know this problem is particularly frustrating given that the item has been done in region 2 so one would expect that they would have released a PAL version, BUT given that the original material (especially the older music videos) were probably shot in NTSC this may lead to some loss in picture quality and 'resolution', therefore it has been kept as NTSC to maintain the best original raw quality.

Format issues are another issue all together, therefore try and base any review on the material of this most talented of all artists to be genuinely fair, after all it's not Michael Jackson's fault that music distributors (long after Michael was taken from us) have unfortunately presented a bit of a compatibility issue with the product. So if unable to view the contents you have my utmost sympathy and you must complain to the music distribution companies regarding this product, but please refrain from writing a review until such a time that you are able to watch it, i.e. upgrading viewing devices for universal TV standards.

I hope my 'VLC' player tip works for those having problems on a computer/Mac.

Lastly and back to the material itself; although this is a fantastic product with 42 high quality music video clips of Michael at his best, I still can't help feeling that they could release even a bigger collection of Michael Jackson's music videos that would contain more material from as early as the days of The Jackson 5/Jacksons, i.e. containing music videos of all like 'Ben' with both versions; Michael singing on stage as a youngster and the movie version with the rat called Ben. Maybe a definitive ultimate DVD box set thats called Michael Jackson the Phenomenon. Who knows, but wouldn't it be the best thing to cherish forever!

(If you agree, then please consider finding this review helpful so that it gets voted up so other's may see this and think carefully before unjustly rating this must have legacy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOADS OF BRILLIANT VIDEOS., 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I should state that the five stars i've given this is because the videos are brilliant and it's very nicely packaged. I have seen one star reviews of this elsewhere and just don't get it. Sure,it is a bit annoying that most of the videos have been squashed (black bars on the side) and yes it would have been nice to see the entire "ghosts" short film and the making of thriller,plus quality isn't quite as crisp as would be expected. But this is a really enjoyable mj set which all mj fans will crave,even if it's only for the few minutes of videos you don't usually get to see,there were several videos i didn't realize i hadn't seen in totality before and i love this guy's work,have done for years. It was also great to see the videos almost entirley uncensored and uncut (only very petty gripes could be expressed). So,yeah i admit it's not perfect in that there were things that could've been done better and 3 discs for 4 and a half hours seems a bit cheeky (could've easily fitted on 2) but this really is a brilliant reminder of why millions fell in love with this much missed megastar. There will only ever be one michael jackson and here's the proof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 5 Nov 2010
By 
Dean (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
At last, a box set which is deserving of the 'King of Music Video'!

See his greatest work, some of it for the 1st time on DVD, in full-length. Worth the money just for 'Ghosts' and 'Can You Feel It'!

Now a 'Bad Tour Live' (preferably Wembley '88) please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael's short films, 24 Jan 2011
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Have heard many fans saying: "This is nothing new, I'm not considering buying it!" As a fan myself I do NOT share this view at all. Buying this 3-DVD boxset will give you a full picture to the genious of Michael at his best. You will own and experience all his ground-breaking and at the time highly innovative short films, visualising his first class music. Though 99% of these short films are well-known to the fans, this collection gives them all in high quality picture and sound. For example you can enjoy watching BAD in its whole entirety as Michael has dreamt it. You even get one previously unreleased gem, the film called "One more chance" un-finished by him. All in all this is a great tribute to the King of Pop showcasing all his fantastic visual interpretations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic.., 2 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Having read the reviews, I took a gamble on owning the set and despite the rare negatives here I have to say that this is a MUST for true MJ fans. This is far more than a re-issue of his tracks, Sony have pulled off a scoop that will last as a true record of his genius for generations.

It is real treasure to have his short films on disc, finally those old videos can be placed aside. The quality is very good and listening to the tracks brings back some wonderful memories. I can't understand why anyone would give this a low rating, the quality of the production is really good as is the supporting booklet.

There do seem to be many moaning about poor quality reproduction, format of picture widescreen etc, but one must remember that there wall never be pleasing everyone we all have our own preferences, so why not enjoy the collection for what it is.

Miss Golding's review pretty much sums it up. "absolutely fabulous, great quality, the book is great and the packaging is Awesome"!

Now will someone please release a dvd of his memorial as I missed some of it.

For the price you get a set of videos that would cost the earth to acquire on their own, it is really good value for money. Michael Jackson lives on in this legendary set, definitely a great addition to anyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberbly packaged DVD, 26 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Couldn't wait to watch this DVD Collection, and in general wasn't disappointed. I love everything Michael Jackson does. BUT why oh why did Sony put that awful remix version of 'Blood on the Dancefloor' on this DVD, I'm pleased I have the original on another Jackson offering. I also would have liked to have seen the full version of 'Ghost' on here but I guess Sony will make the most of all these short films and Live Performances of Michael's and will release them over the next few years.
I think the packaging was very nice and enjoyed the Booklet too, all in all well worth the money and a lovely keepsake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010]
Michael Jackson's Vision [DVD] [2010] by Michael Jackson (DVD - 2010)
18.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews