Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experimental Genius.
Lambchop are one of those bands that cannot be pigeonholed easily. They take their influences from many genres of music, the result being an explosion of various sounds focused to expressing one emotion at a time. Nixon is the album where this is most evident.
Kurt Wagner is a master songwriter, and knows just how to play on the emotions of his listeners. Nixon...
Published on 3 Dec 2002 by Damien Foley

versus
1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull!
I guess I am out of step here, but I am completely baffled by all the rave reviews.

Turgid wispy meaningless dross. Zero punch.

Not actually unpleasant, so it gets 2 stars, but I certainly shan't be listening to it again - or buying anything else by them.
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by Sigrid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experimental Genius., 3 Dec 2002
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
Lambchop are one of those bands that cannot be pigeonholed easily. They take their influences from many genres of music, the result being an explosion of various sounds focused to expressing one emotion at a time. Nixon is the album where this is most evident.
Kurt Wagner is a master songwriter, and knows just how to play on the emotions of his listeners. Nixon takes us down many different, intervening paths. The opening track 'The Old Gold Shoe" is an easy-paced relaxing number. From there the songs varied. 'Up With People' is bright and uplifting, whereas 'The Butcher Boy' much darker and celebrates a fascination with all thing morbid. Each track, however, complements each other to produce an work of essential listening for all music fans, no matter where your taste in music lays.
Lambchop's latest album, Is a Woman, is a far more focus, finely tuned affair. But it lacks the sense of mystery that makes this a winner. If Nixon was the album the band made to find their sound, and Is a Woman the result of that search, then we can say the journey was more rewarding than the goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Classic Lambchop Album - Now In Deluxe Format, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Nixon (Deluxe Edition) (Audio CD)
This album won the Uncut album of the year award a decade ago and has proven to be the best of a very high quality set of albums by Lambchop.It's a very polished cross betwen alt country, soul and gospel that has if anything improved with age. 10 stunning tracks.

Probably the most thrilling thing about this deluxe version is the full length concert from the Royal Festival Hall, London on DVD which covers the material from the 'Nixon' era, with not only some great songs from their back catalogue, but also a couple of classic tracks 'New Cobweb Summer' and 'My Blue Wave'from the follow up 'Is A Woman' album.

This is a truly great deluxe version with both the classic original album and the excellent live concert performance on DVD, making it a 'must have' reissue both for existing fans, and for anyone who has yet to experienced the sublime Lambchop masterpiece. Highly recommended and one of the top reissues from 2010, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the finest album of the year, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
The evolution of Lambchop from the wistful alt.country of the magnificent How I Quit Smoking album to the majestic soul of Nixon has been a joy to witness. Nixon furthers the Curtis Mayfield influences guiding Kurt Wagner's collective on What another Man Spills, offering lavish, rounded songs that make Nixon Lambchop's best album to date. Up with People is the ultimate party anthem (!), whilst The Book I Haven't Read and The Distance From Her To There are quite exquisite in their delicacy. Better than the last two years best alternative efforts by Mercury Rev, Eels, Wheat and the Flaming Lips, this is an absolute masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 24 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
I am a moderate music fan, not really given to hyperbole when it comes to the appreciation of music, but this album is simply one of the most beautiful things I have heard to date. Ever. Being appreciative of country music, and also of soul music, the combination of these sensibilities creates a hybrid sound that is so quietly powerful it is almost too much to bear. That is not to say that this is simply a country-soul record, as that is an all too simple classification. No, if anything, people are going to have to come up with a new name for this, because I for one have not really heard anything like it before. I urge anybody reading this to buy this album. You simply do not realise what you are missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic (9/10), 15 April 2008
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
Nixon was the record that got me into alt-country, even if it was the Lambchop album that saw the band off on a tangent too far for some fans of the scene. A highly unlikely marriage of Curtis Mayfield-type soul and pedal-steel country twang, it is an album of authentic and timeless ambience that had lost none of its singularity. Probably because Nixon's sound is so odd - dark, lush and jazzy orchestrations, with Kurt Wagner's deadpan murmer interrupted by cracked, oddball falsettos - it has not been diluted by imitators. It remains a swirling, breezy oddity, best taken in its atmospheric whole than as a sum of individual parts. Somehow both bleak and romantic at the same time, the soulful aspect of this record completely liberates Wagner's downcast, despondent tales of working-class life, transforming them into something otherwordly and dreamlike. A timeless classic then, for fans of Bon Iver, Iron & Wine, Calexico or even Richard Hawley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm the first?, 14 Nov 2006
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
What? No-one's reviewed this? Surprising. I thought Kurt Wagner had a global audience of die-hard obsessives, relentlessly spreading the word about him. May I say that I had heard plenty about Lambchop before I bought Nixon, but had never heard Wagner's music. I was expecting to hear some sort of alt-country lo-fi type melancholia. While there are elements of these genres, my ignorance of their sound was in fact a great advantage, as coming to their music afresh, I was surprised but delighted to find out that what we have here is actually one of the greatest soul albums I've ever heard. I'm serious. Tracks like 'Up with People', 'You romantic you' and 'Grumpus', sound like Curtis Mayfield crossed with Marvin Gaye (although Wagner does NOT sound like these singers)crossed with Gang of Four. I have been listening to this album over and over again. It is absolutely fascinatingly constructed, with a bewildering array of layers to it that give you something new every time you play it. Even though the album is lushly recorded and layered, there is still a quite beautiful simplicity to it, like you get with tremendously complex symphonies coming together to create a unitary passage, where everything is subsumed into the force of the whole. This album's a bit like that and although I cannot comment on the other work of Lambchop (which, according to various people has been a bit hit-and-miss), this is without a doubt, the best thing I have heard all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the album of the year, 2 Mar 2001
By 
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
I had never heard Lambchop before 'Nixon'. The first time I played it, skipping tracks to get a general feeling of the album, all the sounds were so hip that the subsequent information that it was a Nashville band came as a shock. Nashville? Yes, but that's exactly what makes it so beautiful. Listen to tracks such as Grumpus or Up With People and you'll realize that all the soulful and luscious sounds blend with slide guitars, violins and a full orchestra of little things that distinguish it from anything else you've heard before. The best thing about Nixon? Definitely 'You Masculine You', a GREAT track (a personal favourite for this year) and Kurt Wagner's falsetto voice - beautiful, sensual, magical. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Friends and Influence People - Play them "Nixon" !, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
Hopefully the wonderfully surreal video for "Up With People" is gonna introduce the sublime genius of Lambchop to a wider audience sometime soon. In the meantime I'm making a lot of friends by playing "Nixon" to new listeners every week. Anyone from fans of the Cowboy Junkies (the Godfathers of alt.country) to Parliment freaks get into this album pretty darn quick thanks to the ecletic charm of the thing. Oh yeah and it's real hard not sing along to "Up with People" after you've heard it once too. Best Album of the year so far - and thats a hard admission from a big Morcheeba fan like myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first great album of the new millenium, 20 April 2000
By 
Darryl Still "daxvondrac" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
You may think that slide guitars and country rythmns have no place in rock music, Lambchop will prove you wrong. Nixon is a stunning belnd of alt.country and the kind of gorgeous laidback tunes that Wheat & Mercury Rev do so well. This album arrived in early 2000 and immediately set the tone for the new century.
An essential purchase for any real music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - Utterly Superb, 8 Jan 2003
This review is from: Nixon (Audio CD)
As a long-time Tom Waits fan, and newcomer to Lambchop, this album stunned me. It's gorgeous. Atmospheric, gentle, mysterious songwriting. A gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nixon (Deluxe Edition)
Nixon (Deluxe Edition) by Lambchop (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews