Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little wonder.
This is a great little lens, especially at this price. What some people might not realise us that you don't necessarily need a 3D television to view the results. They can be viewed in 3D on a computer screen if you have the correct red/cyan glasses, available cheaply on the internet and download a free program.
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by D. Burrows

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3d lens
A different outlook for your photos to view. Just install free software from the internet to view on your computer and you get ok results but advise to be in plenty of light to get best results.
Published 20 months ago by The Oracle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little wonder., 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
This is a great little lens, especially at this price. What some people might not realise us that you don't necessarily need a 3D television to view the results. They can be viewed in 3D on a computer screen if you have the correct red/cyan glasses, available cheaply on the internet and download a free program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun and you do NOT need a Panasonic TV to use it, 7 Aug 2012
By 
G. P. Bartley "Xiedphdf" (Hilversum, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
Now that this is tipping in at around 100, I thought I would give it a go. It is quite a lot of fun as it changes your thinking of what a "good" photograph is. Took it to Amsterdam at the weekend, which is normally a photography wonderland, but the thing about this lens is you have to look for what makes a good 3D shot, not a good 2D shot. So, canals and canal houses are non-starters as they are "flat" - instead you start looking for statues and stuff that will stand out in 3D, that perhaps you missed before... All very interesting.

In terms of viewing the photos, the lens (on a GX1) outputs in .MPO format, which from what I can gather, is a 3D standard - it is NOT Panasonic specific. I do not have a 3D TV or 3D monitor or any such 3D equipment and so used some freeware software I got off the internet and a pair of those old fashioned red/blue cardboard 3D glasses (given away in some kids DVDs or available on EBay for a quid), converted the images to red/blue format and could see 3D images on my normal monitor. These red/blue images are called "anaglyphs" and you need conversion software to go from .MPO to a funny JPEG - there's pretty much a de facto standard piece of freeware that you will find after a bit of searching - I'm not saying which one it is, in case Amazon block the review ;-). It is, however, a bit techy, so needs a bit of trial and error, however, in the software if you Select "File", then "Multiconversion", then choose Output file type as "Colour Anaglyph" then "Convert Selected files" then say "yes" to question, you should be OK. If this doesn't make sense, then you've got the wrong software...

The only drawback is the image quality which is probably around the level of a top-end compact - not what you are used to with something like a GX1, but there are two little, fixed lenses so I suppose you can't expect miracles. Images are coming in at about 2MB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens but be prepared to relearn how to take photos, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
Got this from my wife as a xmas pressie. Although it states that it is 12.5mm lens beware this equates to a 65mm equivalent lens due to the wonders of physics and both lenses using the same sensor. ie be prepared to keep stepping back. I found that if I gave the lens an extra millisecond to focus and sort out the electronics the shots are very clear, a quick snap shot can sometimes be a little soft on the focus.I also found a fill in flash useful as the lens is f12.
I am using on a Lumix G3. lens is very light and not a burden to carry.
.mpo file on my Samsumg TV and Sony bluray both play wonderful with no problem.
Real pity that it doesn't take video but maybe the next incarnation will.
I took shots of the Tenerife Carnival and up until dusk worked really well, even at Loro park dolphin show achieved 3d shots of dolphins jumping out of the water, here the 65mm was helpful. It works really well from about 2m to 50m taking a landscape doesn't give much 3d effect but reading forums this is normal and 3d photo is a skill in itself. You need clutter in the photo to show depth, a head shot with the background out of focus will look great in 2d but terrible in 3d. Always try and get a bush, a plant a bus, anything in the first 2m, then your subject then an interesting background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Product, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
Usefull & works well with good results when used correctly. Capable of stunning 3D pictures when shown on a 3D TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3d lens, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
A different outlook for your photos to view. Just install free software from the internet to view on your computer and you get ok results but advise to be in plenty of light to get best results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, how different is photography these days?, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
Fast delivery, and great value compared to Panasonic's own website price. If you enjoy photographing plants, and flowers, or just experimenting, then this is good fun. The only downside to this is that the manual is in Japanese and Panasonic are yet to provide a manual in English online for us to download. The G3 camera alters it's settings automatically as soon as you connect the 3D lens, but I would love to know what the little manual actually says, if only I could read Japanese!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At this price it's perfect, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Np Cross (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
Many had said that this lens on the GH2 would not be viewable on a Samsung smart tv (ue55es7000) I can confirm it works perfectly without any software/pc tweaks needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DOES NOT WORK ON ALL Lumix Micro G systems, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
This lens DOES NOT DO AS IT CLAIMS to do. It will not work with all Panasonic Lumix Micro G systems.

I have recently bought it for my wife's G10 and it will not work. We have been in touch with Panasonic and they have looked into it and have apologised.

From what I gather it works with the G3, GH2 & G2. There may be more but these ones Panasonic have confirmed.

I do not know if its any good on those cameras until I trade my wife's G10 in for a G3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only used 1time, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
Only used one time to test working 3DLens is F12 so this weather poor light to get us.But was able to see on TV .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caution - not 3D, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Panasonic Interchangeable 3D Lens for LUMIX G Micro System (Accessory)
This lens ONLY plays back 3D shots when output to a Panasonic 3D TV, and not all Brands of 3D TV, eg Samsung. This is NOT made clear on box, nor on the operating instructions nor by the assistants in a approved Panasonic dealership. A mis-sold product. Do not buy this unless you are very sure you have a compatible TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews