Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars akg q701 headphones
these are the most accurate set of headphones I have ever had the pleasure of owning!! my profession is opera singing and believe me my ears are the most critical on the planet!!!. I have listened to them on an ipod and through my setup at home and was interested to hear that another reviewer did not think they were great on an ipod. my first listening was on the ipod and...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by L. robinson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good sound, but uncomfortable!!!
When i first put them on, the ear cups are very comfy, but the headband is very much not!

I have used many different headphones over the years, and absolutely CANNOT understand why ANYONE would make uncomfortable designs!! The strap that sits on your head is too flat, heads are NOT that shape!! Look at the Sennheiser HD202, which turned out to be my choice of...
Published 1 month ago by C. A. Wilson


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain!!!, 13 Sep 2014
Absolute bargain at this price. In fact a bargain at twice the price. You cannot go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG Q701 Quincy Jones Signature Line Reference-Class Premium Headphones - Black (Electronics)
as good as it gets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic set of cans !

Well built , sound amazing . Reference performance

Purchased with the Meridian Explorer and results in perfect sound stage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very clean and smooth but missing x factor, 20 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i listen to a lot of blues, jazz and rock and i found that these headphones deliver. they are smooth and clean and not bias on bass or treble to you get a good mix. they are the most comfortable headphones i have ever worn and i travel with them quite a bit. they have a long wire that makes them inpracticle but i soldier on with them. i drive them with a Fiio E5. YOU MUST BUY AN AMP FOR USE or they are useless. thats whats reference headphones are about. the design is sleek and attractive.

pros: great audio, very high end materials, the most comfortable headphones on the market, original design, AKG audio if you can drive them, massive ear muffs, great highs and mids.

cons, you get 2 wires one very long and another even longer like twice the size of the shortest ones and then they are massive for short wires, inpractical due to the wires but you can buy smaller ones if you want (YOU NEED 99% OXYGEN FREE WIRES), they sound very ordinary without an amp but if you buy one of these headphones you will know you need a good amp to drive them.

i give them 4 star because they are inpratical and the cable is so big. you need to spend big for an amp to get the best out of them but all in all they are great audio, design, affect and the comfort (shame about the long wires lol)IF YOU ONLY LISTEN TO HIP HOP, RAP do not buy these headphones they are for use of classical music, jazz, blues and soft rock and acoustic music and they perform second to non when played these sorts of music

4.5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but comfortability is a lack in the start., 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, so far I'm impressed, especially for the price point.

The sound is good with the right equipment, the build quality is pretty good. They do look plasticy, and they are, however the plastic is of decent quality so you have nothing to worry about, both if you happen to have cats who like to drop your headphones or weight wise.

However, there is a downside: The part of the headset that rests the weight on your head is of VERY HARD leather and makes your experience become uncomfortable very quickly and is uncomfortable in the start. I never experienced what another reviewer said about glasses giving trouble or a bad sound when moving.

There is not much else to say, the headphones with the right equipment (as mentioned above) has great sound. VERY much worth it, especially with this price tag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars big big very big, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG Q701 Quincy Jones Signature Line Reference-Class Premium Headphones - Black (Electronics)
brought these based on what hifi reviews, wait rose still selling for 500 pounds. beats Dr dre beats by a mile. if you want rap/heavy rock forget these if you have a wide range including classical n jazz and modern stuff such as imagine dragons/patterns/sub focus these r your babies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bad experience with AKG Q702, 2 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just read a lot of things about high quality headphones and finaly make a desision to buy this AKG Q701 pair ... Well - i'm a east european that never have a luck ( just from borning - isn't ? ) but thinking that learning others experience can be usefull, i was jump in this deal ... it's fair to say that in my country nowhere to catch this in real - to hear it, to fill it ect... but ... i was wait it every hour just from payment to open it after a week - all was looking nice ( exclude a small dust film on white polish, but who care ... plug it with cable and start exploring it ... WOW - a great sound !!! Distinct, clear and naturall sound come ... i was just happy ... and seat to listen my favorites artists ... you can easy imagine a situation. BUT - there come first BUT ... after a hour of spended time with headphones - i feel the pressure over my head ... there a upper leather belt is strong strained by cables just like to make you a pain when forget a time in listening. Well - you can move it in front or back to avoid pressure in one place but, there come SECOND BUT ... you will be bad surprised with some inbelievebel gride, scratch or something like in your ears ... This pair of HIGH QUALITY phones just make this if you move it ( to avoid pain !!! from bad belt ) ... may be they use a inappropriate materials for shiny white plastic ( look like plastic is a problem ) and plastic make this terrible noice ... i have no words ... Totaly waste of money ... All nice hearing sound from it cannot wipe of and remove a discomfort when use it for a litle bit longer and horrible screeching if you move it ( or move your head ! ).

Really disapointed :(

WBR, Michel Markovski, Bulgaria

Sorry for my bad English... I hope you understand what i like to tell you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected..................., 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AKG Q701 Quincy Jones Signature Line Reference-Class Premium Headphones - Black (Electronics)
I read the reviews and was expecting these to be amazing, well they weren't. The packaging is nice, you proceed to open them and as you take them out you realise just how light and plasticy they are, they don't at all feel like a high end quality item, they feel cheap. So, plug in the three metre cable, hook it up to my Yamaha amp, I was expecting to be blown away, I wasn't. Bass is poor and even with my amp cranked up the volume was pretty low. I have to say, sitting and listening to them for half an hour the seperation is very good, but that's it, the only positive aside from the cables are thick and very heavy duty. I'm not sure who'd buy these or what their real world use would be but my Monster iSport Victory and Monster Inspiration blow these away. I returned them and was issued a full refund. Thank you Amazon for letting me try them but they don't live up to the hype..................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything is great, 4 Mar 2012
I am still waiting for my beauty. I keep for looking akg q701 for 1 mounth, but I couldn't get it in Au.
so I bought it from Amazon.uk.
q701 is so great that I cannot stop to talk to any of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Says ok with iphone but defo not, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Says can be used with iPod or iPhone etc well this sounds terrible with iphone can barely hear anything ,it should state defo needs a amp and a very top spec one at that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews