Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At this price, you'd be mad not to!!!!
I agree with the review further down. I cant believe anyone would give 1 start for these headphones when they quite clearly deserve the full 5 stars. Theses JVC headphones are very comfortable indeed and the sound quality is lovely. I have tried many "high end" noise cancelling headphones and while on some of them noise cancellation is noticeably different to these,...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by MR J E SIMPER

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Noise cancelation
Like another reviewer, I felt this is a great package with good sound IF YOU ARE IN A QUIET ROOM. The noise cancelation is touted at 85%, but I would rate it at about 25%, which is simply not adequate for listening to music on airplanes. Partly it's because of the small ear covers, which let lots of sound leak in. I kept trying to adjust them to keep out the noise, and...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Stuart Archer Cohen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At this price, you'd be mad not to!!!!, 31 Dec 2011
By 
MR J E SIMPER (Huntingdon Cambs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
I agree with the review further down. I cant believe anyone would give 1 start for these headphones when they quite clearly deserve the full 5 stars. Theses JVC headphones are very comfortable indeed and the sound quality is lovely. I have tried many "high end" noise cancelling headphones and while on some of them noise cancellation is noticeably different to these, you have to pay in excess of 250-300 for this difference. Seriously at this price you'd be mad not to consider them. The retractable cable is a brilliant feature. The cable may seem a bit thin but it is very strong, so no need to worry about that. I will admit i needed to investigate the instructions to find out where to put the battery however this again proves the ingenuity of design. The volume limit is good for not being deafened but who wants to listen to their music quietly....Especially with noise cancelling phones. The cancellation these headphones provide when you are listening to music is really very good. In the box you get a nice soft carry pouch and also an adaptor for on a plane.

Comfort - 5/5
Style - 5/5
Noise cancellation 4/5
Sound - 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value For Money!, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. C. Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
Wow! What can I say? I have a pair of JVC HA-NC 250s and thought they were the box delux, but these phones are awesome. I bought the 120s for my wife to use for commuting and at the gym. Knowing how good my 250s are I thought if these are half as good they'll do for the missus! They arrived today and they look really stylish in black with a dash of chrome. The battery is much easier to fit than the 250s as you just slide off the right ear cover. The lead is a bit thin but, it seems strong enough and the retractable lead feature is pretty nifty. I plugged them into my Sony mp3 player and switched on the noise cancelling. You can hear the quietening effect, but naturally the NC really only makes a difference when there's music playing. Other reviewers have said that the NC is poor, I would disagree quite strongly. The Bose QC3s may be slightly better but at 325 so they should be! I thought the volume was a bit low, but the volume limiter was switched on. With the limiter off the volume was very good (I like my music loud)and the sound quality was brilliant. They are not as deep on bass as the 250s but this is rectified by just turning up the bass levels a notch on the mp3 player. The mid and treble are crisp and clear and much better than headphones costing three or four times as much. Overall these phones are superb and to be honest I prefer them to my 250s, but the missus won't do a swap! At 40 these phones are great value, I really can't understand 1 star ratings for these phones they deserve 6/5 in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review from an audiophile/sound editor, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
Thought this could do with a review from a less casual listener. I do a fair bit of sound editing as part of my career so I'm fairly picky when it comes to sound equipment.

My general impression is that for the money these are a solid purchase, *but*, they do need a fair bit of tweaking with EQ to get the best out of them in terms of sound quality.

Noise Cancelling: People expect far too much from noise-cancelling headphones. The technology is simply not advanced enough to achieve anything like the '88%' that is advertised, but what they do achieve is as good as it's going to get with this style of ear-on headphones as far as I'm concerned. For a start I feel it's important to note how well they keep out noise simply through their design. As stated the material that's in contact with the ears is optimised for this purpose (they're effective at absorbing/insulating outside noise) and you can notice this straight away. Very good isolation for on-ear phones with NC turned off. What they achieve in terms of cancelling essentially builds on this by taking the edge off what does still get through. The end result is pleasingly effective. people also need to remember that noise-cancelling tech is only effective for continuous/unbroken noise, and so is optimised primarily for noise produced from things like engines, and not, for e.g., general chatter which is far too changeable.

Sound Quality

Initially my reaction to the sound quality itself is fairly disappointing. Fine for the casual listener who is not used to high end equipment, but not for someone like me. *but* it was nothing that couldn't be fixed with a little tweaking. Out of the box these phones are *very* mid-heavy. (mid-range frequencies), and so have a very harsh and 'hard' sound. However, after some (well, a significant amount) of mid-range dampening (espc. ~1K) using the EQ (most mp3 players/phones should have eq), the result is impressive. A lot of clarity and a well balanced bass end. Bass-addicts will say it's too low but it's absolutely not. Besides they can easily crank it up either using the EQ or a bass boost to get their bass-fix. If EQ tweaking is beyond you, and you happen to use a Samsung Galaxy phone for music, there happens to be a handy feature in the 'extended' EQ options called 'clarity', which essentially dampens the mids and raises the highs slightly for you. I'd also recommend the 'Rock' EQ preset which dampens the mids a fair bit too.

After tweaking I able to get the sound to a standard which holds it's own even against a good pair of Senheisers. Well OK, let's not to get too ahead of ourselves, the Senn's do still blow these out of the water in terms of quality (to be expected), but for 40 I'm very impressed at what these can do in comparison.

Build quality/design

This is where these headphones really excel. As soon as you hold them in your hand you can feel the quality right away. Although they are made primarily of plastic it is very well made and feels sturdy. The padding material is good quality too and very comfortable for long periods. In terms of design they're simply a joy to use. The retractable wire is a work of genius, and even includes a clever retract button which is not accessible using a finger but only using the tip of the jack, so it won't ever get activated by accident. The way they fold is also a real asset for travelling, and the high-quality leather(real I'm pretty sure) pouch is a nice addition too. + they look great.

All in all these are a solid buy for 40 if you're willing to put up with the EQ tweaking required to fix the relatively poor sound they produce 'out of the box'. They sure as hell beat pain-in-the-a** earbuds which just fall out every two seconds...

Hope this helps. Happy shopping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comparison of JVC HANC120 and 80, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
I have recently purchased both the JVC 120 and the JVC 80 headphones for my daily train comute to work. Both headphones work well at noise cancelling but the JVC 80's with the low band setting were more effective at reducing train noise (you could feel the vibrations in your body but not really hear them). The 120's were not as effective but were much more comfortable to wear and are much neater to store with the wind up cable. I replace the JVC 80's witht he 120's due to the head band breaking during normal wear but amazon refunded the original cost. The 120's look like a more sturdy design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Headphones!, 2 Feb 2012
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
For the price, these headphones are a STEAL! The sound quality is great; crystal clear mids and highs, but the bass is a little quiet. They fold up very nicely into a neat little package, perfect for travelling. They are very comfortable to wear but they do tend to slip a bit if you move your head too much so they're not ideal for sports. The retractable cord works very well; it's pretty thin but as long as you're careful, it should be fine. The noise cancelling isn't as good as the quoted value from JVC but they do block out a fair bit of sound, which is noticeable as soon as you put them on your head, even if the noise cancelling isn't switched on. All in all, these headphones are really great for this price; if they were in the 70-90 range, I would have only given 4 stars, but at this price, you're getting a brilliant deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great investment., 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
I bought these a couple of years ago at the full price of about 80. I've always been an audiophile but always lacked the budget to get top of the range stuff.

To me, these headphones still have that top of the line quality and comfort to a degree but their cheaper price tag makes them a solid buy.

The wire is thin but very strong. I've dropped phones and the headphones before and nothing came of it at all. The idea of a retractable wire is brilliant, as it makes it very compact and easy to put anywhere without fear of snapping the wire of causing unwanted kinks.

The sound quality is to be expected of 80 headphones, it's very crisp and clear, somewhat lacking in bass but more than makes up for that in the comfort of the headphones. The noise cancelling itself is very good. If you're expecting to block out the world completely, you're in for a nasty shock. No matter how much they tout +%80 noise cancellation, this price tag wouldn't cover it.

I travelled on a plane the first night I got them and they did the job totally. They got rid of the hum of the engines and the sound of babies crying. If you wanted something where you wouldn't hear someone being murdered next to you, you are gonna have to spend way more than this. Noise cancellation only really works when the noise is constant, such as an engine. That's the basic science. The more expensive models have more tech that allows them to remove more noise. So be weary and always try before you buy.

If you've got less than 100 to spend on headphones, you wont go far wrong with these. And the money you save can go for something else! If you want truly noise silencing headphones, you can accept no substitutes, which is why you do end up forking out 300+ on some models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Noise cancelation, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
Like another reviewer, I felt this is a great package with good sound IF YOU ARE IN A QUIET ROOM. The noise cancelation is touted at 85%, but I would rate it at about 25%, which is simply not adequate for listening to music on airplanes. Partly it's because of the small ear covers, which let lots of sound leak in. I kept trying to adjust them to keep out the noise, and they just didn't

Sound is good is a quiet room, retractable cord is nifty, but if you want actual noise canceling headphones, look somewhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Package, Poor Performance, 15 Feb 2011
I purchased these headphones for traveling based on the compact size, self retracting wire, quoted 88% noise cancellation and bargain price.

The package includes headphones, battery, flight adapter and soft carry case. The headphones fold down to around half their size and can be folded in several different configurations. The sound quality is quite good, the sound is reasonably crisp and clear, and is marginally better than the standard sony headphones that these replaced. These headphones are quite comfortable even though they are on ear design I have worn them for 2-3 hours without any discomfort.

My problem with the headphones is that despite their merits, the noise cancellation is extremely poor, my father has the JVC ha-nc250 which seemed to offer reasonable performance, however when I tested these at the airport on a bose test stand and there was virtually no difference between having the noise cancelation on or off. When used on the flight they take the edge off the background noise but seem to offer no more than 10% noise reduction between having the cancellation turned on or off. In order to appreciate the noise cancellation the headphones needed to be physically held against my ears to hear an appreciable difference.

I would not consider these headphones good value at all as you would actually be better buying earbuds or over ear closed back headphones at half the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Work great, construction is absolutely horrible!, 7 Feb 2014
By 
ERICK "Hayden729" (Anchorage, AK, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
You may have read some of the other ratings on here about this particular model being quite flimsy. Well we found out first hand that it's no joke. The third time my wife went to use them one of the earphone broke away from the headset. She was just turning it lightly the way you are supposed to and snap! Yeah, they are that poorly built. Other than that, if you're lucky enough to get a pair that won't break, the sound is fine. They have solid noise cancelling ability and everything else is right as rain.

If it weren't for that one major flaw.

August 30th update. We managed to tape together and keep using the headphones despite the initial problem. Then just this last week, snap! There goes the other side too! Now we can't use them at all. So if you haven't heeded my advice thus far, please do now. Avoid these headphones at all costs. Their construction is far too flimsy to be relied upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best for price range, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JVC Noise Cancelling Foldable Headphones for iPod / iPhone / MP3 Devices - Black (Electronics)
I read that they were the best cheapest alternative if you can't afford Bose and I was very impressed.
You can still hear the plane engines and underground train but anything I am listening to or watching on a plane or train is now thoroughly enjoyed, without any hinderance of outside noise whatsoever.
I really recommend these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews