Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Joan Rivers: A Piece Of Work" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With This 'USA-ONLY' Title...
Most of the reviews are for the 'DVD'. But if you want to buy this on BLU RAY and you live in the UK or Europe - there's a problem...

This American Only IFC Films BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Another title denied us by the crap of Region Coding. Joan would be...
Published 14 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Driven
This film is simple in concept. The makers followed Joan Rivers for a year, filming her every move as they went and these edited highlights give us a window into her life. It's far from being the most interesting doumentary I have ever seen but it left me with two strong memories. Firstly how driven Ms Rivers is and secondly finding out that this woman who works...
Published on 11 Jun. 2012 by Dyspeptic Spirit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Joan Rivers: A Piece Of Work" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With This 'USA-ONLY' Title..., 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Most of the reviews are for the 'DVD'. But if you want to buy this on BLU RAY and you live in the UK or Europe - there's a problem...

This American Only IFC Films BLU RAY is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Another title denied us by the crap of Region Coding. Joan would be rightly outraged...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Woman To Admire, 4 Sept. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
On this day of Joan River's death, take an hour to watch her documentary. It is a record of one year in her life . She shows us warts and all.

Much of what people say about Joan is the calibre of her jokes. She often said what we wanted to but didn't dare. I liked her. Her staff loved her. In this documentary we see her staff. Her manager is no longer with her. Truthfully he looked a little sleazy. However, what mattered the most to Joan was her daughter, Melissa and her grandson, Cooper. They will miss her immeasurably. She was beloved by many of her peers, and her work stands for itself. This documentary will be an eye opener for many who did not know her. She is a woman not to be taken lightly.

This year in her life is a wonderful sight. What struck me was her work schedule. She hated an empty page, to her it meant no one loved her. She came from a loving home, but as we all know her husband committed suicide, and this was an issue for her and her daughter, Melissa. However, her success meant a lot to many. She put many of her staff's children through private school. Who does that?

A friend said that he can see Joan a Rivers and Robin Williams wherever they are, laughing uproariously over each other's dirty jokes. A wonderful memory.

Recommended. prisrob 09-04-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Emotional and Brutally Honest, 16 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
Joan Rivers is a living comedy legend! I'm 16 and I think she's 10x funnier than half of the 'modern day' comediennes, and whilst we see her bravado on tv, her humour and jokes made of herself as well as her brutal opinions and public roastings from others we never see whats behind the curtain..this is without a doubt one of the best documentaries I have ever seen! Joan has seen some real trauma in life and still struggles to go on in life with her career, the camera is almost non stop rolling sometimes you forget you're watching it on dvd and feel more like you're watching it first person. It offers in sight into how Joan feels about things, how she deals with them and how she goes on in life despite everything thats happened. This dvd allows you to see a true celebrity in her true form, and we see just how talented she is, in every aspect. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Driven, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
This film is simple in concept. The makers followed Joan Rivers for a year, filming her every move as they went and these edited highlights give us a window into her life. It's far from being the most interesting doumentary I have ever seen but it left me with two strong memories. Firstly how driven Ms Rivers is and secondly finding out that this woman who works ceaselessly, who craves popularity and success, who to my eyes looks pretty good if a little like a "real doll" is 75 years old. If I have half her energy when I am that old I will be a happy man! It's absolutely astonishing to see a woman of that age depressed unless her diary is anything less than packed out (we are talking multiple appointments every day) at a time of her life when she should be taking it easy. Part of me admires her spirit, the other half of me feels that she should get some perspective. But ultimately if she gives people pleasure and enjoys what she is doing, who am I to comment.

Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely fascinating, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
I always enjoyed Joan Rivers' comedy, particularly when she was at her peak in the 1980s, but in more recent years, I rarely laughed, only when I saw her as herself on TV chat shows. I think her humour had become too celebrity based, offensive, and just plain mean spirited. However, I always respected her longevity, considered her a pioneer in comedy, and admired her strength of character.

I had heard a lot about this acclaimed documentary, and since Joan's passing, I was eager to see it, and I'm glad that I did. It really is a fascinating insight into her world, where the cameras followed her around for a year in her life. We see the real Joan, and a rather tragic figure emerges, a woman who is very insecure and unhappy in herself. She talks openly and movingly about her feud with chat show host Johnny Carson, the suicide of her husband, as well as the constant fear that one day she will no longer be working.

The film includes some recent clips of her hilarious stand-up comedy, where she talks humorously about her herself, and proves that she hasn't lost anything, as well as vintage performances from her early days. There are interviews with key players in her life, including her daughter Melissa, her manager, and people like Kathy Griffin who regard Joan as a mentor.

Her kindness comes shining through, and that's what makes 'Joan Rivers - A Piece of Work' such a joy to see. Both sad and comical at the same time, this film is a real 'must-watch' to find out about the person behind the humour. RIP Joan Rivers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best ShowBiz Film Ever- Rivers Delivers The Theatrical Documentary of the Decade, 20 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
Joan Rivers was once just an innocent Jewish girl, growing up in Brooklyn, NY.
Now she is the face of female comedy, and an undoubtable legend. Love her or hate her, Joan Rivers really is "A Piece of Work", in this documentary of her struggling to be taken seriously as an actress, whilst dealing with age, self-doubt and the pressures of staying on top in show business.

The film is compelling right from the start, as Rivers applies her morning make-up ritual, then showing a short reel of her career. We are let into Rivers' life, with very little confidentiality.
From her dazzling "how Marie Antoinette would've lived, if she'd had money" Manhattan apartment, to her time on Donald Trump's the Celebrity Apprentice. The film shows captivating shots of "the city that never sleeps" and Rivers going through tragedy, rejection, and talking to us of her past and career at the same time.

She [Rivers] lets us into her daily schedule, the team which gets her on stage, the process of "Joan Rivers: A Life in Progress by A Work in Progress" and it's harsh reception to the London critics, and a lifestyle many desire to live. But it's not all been plain sailing for Joan, as she reveals her opinions on her husband's suicide, keeping on top at her age and dealing with competition and biting criticism.
Rivers is a strong woman, a performer and a businesswoman, and an extremely talented woman, yet manages to keep a level head at the end of the day.
Any Rivers fan must own this and to those who hate her, once you watch this, you'll stop hating for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and a must-see documentary, 31 Dec. 2010
By 
Lois Levett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
Love or hate Joan Rivers, this is a totally must-see film. It shows her vulnerability, her difficult life but, above that, her surprisingly true work ethic and truly great spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary about the queen of Stand-up., 26 Dec. 2010
By 
Rodolfo Cabaleiro (Antwerp, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film from beginning to end. It is JUST perfect. It has excellent jokes and humor of course but at the same time depth and insight on life in the sense that without hard work and effort, you don't get to the level where Joan is. This is a fantastic woman who went though everything in life and still wants to laugh about it. She is an excellent example on how we should take life if we want to live long. If you love women and stand-up comedy, this is a must in your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inside The Life Of An Icon, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
A delightful and honest peek into the current life of one of the planet's funniest people.

An absolute must for all Joan Rivers fans.

I recently met her in real life and can honestly say she is what she is. Funny, clever, gracious and incredibly hard working. She treats her fans like gold, which is good. Because we think she is a diamond !

The DVD also has lots of extra scenes which is a real bonus.

Super.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true living legend!, 23 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to catch this fascinating documentary late one night on television, and afterwards I was so compelled to buy the DVD. The story is of survival, but with just the right amount of wit and grace. A wonderful incite into what it takes to survive, and triumph, in the cruel world of show business.

Joan Rivers is a true Piece of Work...

DRN - Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD]
Joan Rivers - A Piece Of Work [DVD] by Annie Sundberg (DVD - 2010)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews