Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small and funky - great MP3 player for the younger market
This has to be one of the smallest MP3 players around which is one of the good points. It's also pretty durable and looks quite funky, though seems to be aimed at kids. With that in mind it does the job; it's pretty simple to set up and use, the sound quality is good and the headphones are ok - though don't offer much bass.

Bad points? The one button control is...
Published on 18 Nov 2010 by Sinbad

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Call me old fashioned, but.....
Whilst this has its plus points, which I will get to presently,the main thing you need to know about the TicToc is that there is no LCD display and it operates only on motion. This is an advantage if you can't read or if you like gimmicks and novelties, but a disadvantage if, like me, you like to scroll playlists and ponder.
You have to learn to use it, as its not...
Published on 25 Oct 2010 by sam155


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, does what it says on the tin, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
To be honest its a pretty basic MP3 with earplugs that are standard when they really should be better quality for the price. The main use that I see for this mp3 is working out, its lightweight its easy to carry and all in will do what you need it to do. Other than that the only other problem is not knowing whats on it as theres no display to tell you which track your playing. A shame but theres always others out there and you might be better getting a different player at the end of the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but ultimately flawed gadget..., 23 Nov 2010
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The only real selling point of this player is the 'ease of use' and interface - the one-button and motion sensor combination. I don't know of any similar player available at the moment. However, there is probably a reason for that. The device is not as easy to operate as you might think, and having to remember which movement does what, and what tracks and albums you have loaded on it is annoying if you have more than a couple. For example, lets say you wanted to play a particular song to someone - you would have to remember the order of the albums, than the track order, then do all the clicks and twists in the right order to get to the track. It is even less easy then it sounds. The coplete lack of any visual readout or multiple direct-command buttons (play, pause, skip etc) just doesn't feel right, and makes the device seem clumsy. As for the hardware, it works acceptably, it's small and looks good, and the audio is as good as any other decent player. Personally, this is not for me and I would not buy it for myself or as a present for someone, not at the current price of forty-four pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A runners best friend!, 15 Dec 2011
I bought this on a whim as i was fed up of going on a run with my ipod strapped to my arm and the awkwardness of changing tracks mid run. This product is not only amazing value for money but is so simple to use. It is literally an inch long, weighs pretty much nothing and will clip to your shorts or top and stay there the whole duration of your activity. It is that compact and light weight you won't even realise your wearing it! Once you learn the button combo you can change song, album and volume with ease without even having to look down and drop your speed during your run! it is rechargeable and the battery last for ages. Sound quality is decent (not ipod standard) but good enough to blast your favorite tunes out. As for moving your music onto the TicToc you plug it into your pc via the usb cable provided and simply drag and drop your files into the folders it couldn't be easier (non of this itunes nonsense). My only judgement is that if you are using it for running you might want to change the headphones because the way they sit in your ears like ear plugs means every time you run and your foot hits the floor you will hear the echo in your ear (difficult to explain but you'll know what i mean if your a runner). On the positive side if you increase the volume you wont notice it any way and the head phones stay in your ears like glue!
It's a must buy for any runner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 9 Sep 2011
It is an excellent player, the quality of the sound is very good and is light and extremely portable. I suggest it for running or just to go on the train. Sometimes it is a bit annoying to use the shuffle options, else, it is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 May 2011
great sound quality, long lasting battery and loads of space for all those great songs and more....plus a great small easy to use design.... :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really very good indeed, but poor software, 8 Nov 2010
By 
James Miller (Durham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Samsung TicToc 2GB MP3 Player - Pink (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the smallest 2GB mp3 player I've seen. I have found it to be more intuitive than its one button approach might suggest and particularly good for running etc. where it is so small as to be unproblematic.

The software was awful and I've dumped that in favour of dragging and dropping like a memory stick. The only annoying feature comes when listening to extended files where an accidental jump is irreversible.

The headphones are pretty good and with the correct buds on stay in rather well.

All-in-all I think this is damn nifty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kiddies MP3, 25 Oct 2010
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a tiny fun-looking fun-operating MP3 player. It offers in-ear headphones (spare pads too), USB cradle for charging and a PC porgram for loading/deleting tracks. The management program is held as a loader program in its memory and is offered when plugged into a PC. It uses this program to manage MP3 files. The program works well under Win7 64-bit. Load it with your favourite tracks from your PC and away you go.

There's no visual display of tracks or folders so you have to remember what's on there - make it simple! It is very easy to operate. There is a lady's voice to say when you have gone beyond its parameters.

The supplied headphones are not too good but they are usable. Bass is basically absent. Overall, the sound is okay. Using a pair of decent Sennheisser in-ear phones the sound is better but still lacks in many areas. I have a cheapish Samsung mobile phone which beats this MP3 player by a mile.

This is a kids' MP3 player and as such is not too bassy or loud - those young ears. But it is fun to use and different from others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small, reasonable sound quality, good battery life, poor control system and software, no playlists, 23 Oct 2010
By 
David Burton "aenikata" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The problem with this device isn't so much what it does do, or how well it does it in its own right, but how it compares to its competition.

There's no doubt at all that in this regard the TicToc is competing with the iPod Shuffle. While this is physically a bigger device it decides that it's better to have one button and use a tilt sensor and multiple presses and so on to work out which function to run. While this works, it's clearly more faff than having a few more buttons, and there's plenty of room on the device for them, so it's a step too far really.

Volume up and down are done by pointing it up or down and pressing the button. Which is fine until you realise that you need to be almost exactly up to down for it to work, more than a little off and you've just skipped through a few tracks instead.
Similarly you get details on the current track by shaking the device, which sometimes works, but then occasionally decides it's not going to recognise that any more. And to change modes (between Normal, Shuffle, Fast songs and Slow songs) you have to shake it 3 times, which often takes more than one attempt. I've no idea how to pause it, still, and you can't lock it.
The voice details of your current song only work if you've transferred the file using their software. This would work better if the software was good, but it's slow and limited, and you'll probably be more inclined to just copy the files over yourself. And sometimes it crashes (especially if you unplug the device while the software is open), and it doesn't always update the free space details properly.
Then, to dock it, you have to undo the case, disconnect the earphones, pull out the player and plug it in, then work out where to put the earphones and case parts while it's charging for 2 hours.

The lack of playlists really sets it lower down than the shuffle, though. Instead of being able to configure playlists and select one of those, you can skip between folders by pressing the button 3 times (only in Normal mode). Shuffle is standard, and Fast and Slow uses the desktop software to work out which it thinks are fast or slow, and it will run through all the Fast or Slow ones respectively - no folder skip, no shuffle, very limited.

There are a few plus points, however. The sound quality is pretty good - the supplied earphones are OK, neither good nor awful, and at least come with replacement covers. The battery life is up to 12 hours, which seems pretty good. My 5 year old daughter really likes the look of it, and is able to operate it OK and doesn't realise the limitations. The dock is solid. The maximum volume you can get out of set of decent headphones is good. It plays back WMA files and so on just fine. (While it supports FLAC, why on earth you'd bother with that format on a 4GB device I don't know.)

So, would I recommend it? No, not really - if you want a simplified music-playing device, get a Shuffle - you may be limited to 2GB of songs, but you get playlists and better controls for a little bit less. It's not that it's that bad a device, it's just that there's little to recommend it over its competitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars tic toc player, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
did work just one single day. hard to use. as the name says, it is like the tic tac tablets
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung Tictoc Pink, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter loves this is, it is very compact and stylish and she is enjoying her music without the rest of us having to listen to it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Samsung TicToc 2GB MP3 Player - Pink
17.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews