Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living Austen
I am one of the handful of people who managed to miss Pride and Prejudice when it was on TV - it must have been the year I spent in a Mongolian cave - so it has been both a pleasure and a relief to finally see what all the fuss was about. It is, of course, as superb as most say it is, with particularly subtle performances by the always brilliant Colin Firth, nicely...
Published 21 months ago by GlynLuke

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor value
The full film was not as it should be parts missing very disapointed bought it to introduce my Grandaughter to Jane Austen
Published 4 months ago by Sandra Gordon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living Austen, 10 Oct 2012
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I am one of the handful of people who managed to miss Pride and Prejudice when it was on TV - it must have been the year I spent in a Mongolian cave - so it has been both a pleasure and a relief to finally see what all the fuss was about. It is, of course, as superb as most say it is, with particularly subtle performances by the always brilliant Colin Firth, nicely oleaginous David Bamber as Mr Collins, and a quiet scene-stealer of a Mr Bennet from the versatile Benjamin Whitrow, all benign patience and serene sarcasm.
Unlike some viewers, I loved this version of Emma. Romola Garai is just right, with her unselfconsciously broad smiles, ready laughter, and terrible lack of both tact and self-awareness. Jonny Lee Miller convinces as a stolid, upright Knightley, and Michael Gambon is simply glorious as Emma`s fussing but loving father. Their very touching scenes together punctuate the story. Robert Bathurst and Rupert Evans are excellent in their roles, and there are two standout performances: by Louise Dylan as Emma`s `protegee` Harriet, who manages to flesh out a role which could have been somewhat two-dimensional into a funny and credible, if daffy, young woman itching to find Mr Right; and the gifted Tamsin Greig, who embodies the fluttery, talkative Miss Bates with exactly the right blend of qualities to move the viewer each time she appears. It`s a sublime piece of acting from this unique actress. Her flustered embarrassment at the picnic as the import of Emma`s insensitive remark dawns on her is a painful joy to behold.
If Persuasion is flawed, it is flawed for the best reasons. Some rail against Anne`s final run through the streets of Bath, for example, but to me it exemplifies her desperation and her last-ditch determination to escape her repressive family and claim the man she adores. It`s both cathartic and emotionally real. Sally Hawkins has the `jolie laide` appearance to a tee, and Rupert Penry-Jones is a shy, misty-eyed Wentworth. Great to see Alice Krige - in anything - and Anthony Head has a high old time as Anne`s father Sir Walter, in a role he obviously relishes.
The gem here is Sense and Sensibility. Andrew Davies has written a penetrating adaptation, and he is lucky to have two faultless performances by two young actresses as Elinor and Marianne. (As an interview in the Extras tells us, they saw many women before they cast these roles.) Hattie Morahan is soulful, heartrending and perfect as the cautious but likeable Elinor, and Charity Wakefield is a real find as her younger, flightier sister Marianne. Both are so good you want to stand up and cheer. They are utterly believable as sisters, too. Both have incredibly expressive eyes...indeed, so expressive is this whole production that one forgets the earlier Emma Thompson film - excellent though that was.
Janet McTeer is lovely as their mother, a pre-Downton Dan Stevens modestly dashing as diffident Edward, David Morrissey just right as Colonel Brandon, and Dominic Cooper (an actor I usually find all too resistible) is admirable as the romantic but duplicitous Willoughby. There`s also a wonderful turn by the Fast Show`s Mark Williams as Sir John Middleton, his ebullient good nature beautifully conveyed by this always watchable actor.
But it`s the sisters who are at the heart of this story, and the two actresses play them with, if anything, even more subtlety than Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet a few years before.
This is a most welcome box-set which I shall return to often, as much for certain moments and performances as for the stories being told.
Rewarding and warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
perfect in every way lovely quality DVD's good productions from the BBC. I would totally recommend this to any Jane Austen fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wet Shirt, 28 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have at least 3 variants of each Jane Austen work on film of her novels, and of course this has Colin Firths masterpiece included, this pack is a quality item and at a fair price, there is little point in reviewing the individual films as it has all been said before suffice to say I always enjoy the different variations of these novels..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly good, 22 Aug 2013
By 
DCliffe (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed Pride & Predudice which we missed when it was first broadcast in the UK because we were out of the UK at the time.. It is hard to imagine how this production could be improved upon. We have yet to view the other DVDs in this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
If you enjoyed the television series of these Austen books then this is the perfect DVD. Recommend to any Austen fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of jane austen, 16 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
excellent to have all 4 of my favorite jane austen film s together like this superb quality , thank you once again ,10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I have watched Pride & Prejudice loads of times now and have to say this is my absolute all time favourite of all the Jane Auste, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This was a very well presented four box set. I have watched Pride & Prejudice loads of times now and have to say this is my absolute all time favourite of all the Jane Austen adaptations. I have also watched Sense and Sensibility which was very good although I wasn't too sure about the opening scene and wondered if this was really necessary. I have yet to watch Emma and Persuasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this series!, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Ruth Garratt (Sydney NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The Brits know how to do a great period drama! And you can't go wrong with Jonny Lee Miller and Colin Firth! Excellent series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
good price and mum and dad loved watching this on a lazy day
nothing else to say but have to use words up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous., 22 Feb 2014
By 
M. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Jane Austen [Pride & Prejudice / Sense & Sensibility / Emma / Persuasion] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
It keeps surprising me just how incredibly good Johnny Lee Miller is (have I spelt that right?). Everyone knows Jennifer Ehle and the other one, Firth something, did the definitive Pride and Prejudice, but fairplay, the others are damn good productions. Really pleased with this. Husband asks me if I want petticoats if am generally feeling a bit crud. Yes I say, petticoats, and out this comes, with a cocoa or wine or wine followed by cocoa followed by more wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews