Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puttin' On The Ritz
Just thought I ought to point out that one of the extras - the documentary "A Couple of Song and Dance Men" - features Astaire's otherwise unavailable "Puttin' On The Ritz" from Blue Skies, COMPLETE and UNEDITED. Seeing as it is, in my opinion, the greatest dance number he ever did - which is saying a LOT - it makes the DVD worth buying for that alone. Watch it and...
Published on 7 Jan 2005 by B. Westenra

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Feature Transfer but extras wrongly formatted.
Whilst the feature film was a brilliant transfer, it is a pity the extras were not correctly formatted.

On a 16:9 tv the extras were all squashed. If you have a 4:3 ratio it is still squashed with black on the sides. No altering of TV picture size could set it right.

Some other extras were shot in widescreen but squeezed into 4:3. Poor work...
Published 18 days ago by Channel 5


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bing and Fred - who could ask for anything else?, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The original and far superior film to White Christmas. Have been intending to purchase this for yonks and this is superb. This is one of the films you need to take the phone off the hook and/or switch off the mobile, lock the doors, pull the curtains and curl up on the sofa with a hot chocolate to watch.
Delivery was wonderful so I didn't have to wait anxiously to watch one of my favourite films of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better in colour, 23 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Inn (Colourised and Black and White Versions) [DVD] (DVD)
I had it in black and white and it was probably my least favourite Christmas film. This wasn't so much because of the black and white but because of the rather limp story and lack of that special something that great Christmas films, and great musicals, have. However, the addition of colour makes a big difference - the colour looks very natural and the documentary that comes with it shows just how much effort was put into the colourisation process. Now all the spectacle in the production numbers shines out and it makes for a much more enjoyable viewing experience.

Highly recommended - give both versions a chance (the black and white version is on a separate disc) and it'll be the colour version you'll want to go back to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 28 Dec 2006
By 
H. Kitchener (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The tap dancing scene that Fred Astaire performs to the firework bangers is directly responsible for the tap dancing scene that Jamie Bell performs in Billy Elliot, just after he has had a fight with his father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Feature Transfer but extras wrongly formatted., 8 Dec 2014
Whilst the feature film was a brilliant transfer, it is a pity the extras were not correctly formatted.

On a 16:9 tv the extras were all squashed. If you have a 4:3 ratio it is still squashed with black on the sides. No altering of TV picture size could set it right.

Some other extras were shot in widescreen but squeezed into 4:3. Poor work considering the 70th anniversary DV of the film had these extras properly formatted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Inn, 5 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Holiday Inn (Colourised and Black and White Versions) [DVD] (DVD)
A magic film in B&W but much better in colour. Thats what I Like about this version, A choice of either film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Inn, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Inn (Colourised and Black and White Versions) [DVD] (DVD)
This is another film that I just had to have. It is a lovely film and gets me ready for the spirit of Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream of a White Christmas, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Inn (Colourised and Black and White Versions) [DVD] (DVD)
Bought to replace a missing DVD as lent out and person never returned it
Okay may be old film but one of the classics
Item cheaper than others and would recommend them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dream come true film, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Inn (Colourised and Black and White Versions) [DVD] (DVD)
It was a dream for the fans of old movies which can be seen again again. A real classic! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Colourised Christmas, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holiday Inn (Colourised and Black and White Versions) [DVD] (DVD)
It's always been one of my favourite films as I'm a big fan of Fred & Bing and this is watched in our house every Christmas and a few times in between as well. The colourised version is fantastic and really well done. The films a classic and now it's a colourised classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item AAA+++, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Item A+ A+ A+ I have recommended the the great service I will buy again I am delighed to recommend this product to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 49 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holiday Inn (Colourised and Black and White Versions) [DVD]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews