Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars " DEATH RACE THE BEGINING"
First of all the 1st reviewer must have a short memory of the Jason Statham DEATH RACE, Because he fails to mention or even pick up on the fact that this film is a PREQUEL to it ! And what a prequel it is, its pulse pounding EXPLOSIVE stuff. The story charts how DEATH RACE was concieved by the ratings hungry prison wardens,,& how Frankenstein came to be ! there are a...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by Paul J. Jackson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Death Race 2
I have given this star rating as to be honest I bought it as a present and only got to watch it once a long time ago. If you are a racing fan give it a go.
Published 6 months ago by elvenqueen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars death race, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
a good flim a bit slow in places, not as good as the 1st death race but still worth watching to see how it all began
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gift, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought to add to my partners collection he was happy when it arrived, it was put on and then put with the others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars film is Ok but not good as Death Race with Jason, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I would like to recommend this film for everybody who are curious about beginning of Frankenstein,film is OK but I prefer Death Race with Jason,who is better as Frankenstein than Luke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Low expectations very surprised, 3 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Luke Goss takes the reigns from the Jason Statham movie Death race, and while not quite the star presence or gruff tones of Statham does a great job.

He plays a get away driver sent to an island prison after he kills a cop in botched robbery.

This is a prequel that sets up how the Death race became to be.

Whilst in the prison his skills in fighting and driving are noted by the private prison bosses and before you can say ready steady go, he's being entered in the death race, a violent race between cons involving various models of cars and various weapons, that is streamed world wide to make profit for the said organisation.

Cue much mindless violence, and much motor vehicle carnage.

If you've seen the original you'll know what to expect. If not is is basically, like the original, a take on something like the Arnold Schwarzenegger movie the running man, in which the public pay to see these modern gladiators kill each other.

What is so surprising is that this is a direct to DVD film, with no where near the budget of the original, yet the directors and producers have taken steps in filming, to create some really astonishing action scenes, tell a good story, and gained a quality cast.

It helps that the producers of the original (Roger Corman and Paul WS Anderson) are on producing
duties, and are clearly steering this franchise in a good direction.

All in a quality film that is nearly as loud and explosive as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic prequel, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD cost me no end of trouble, and it's been over a year since I bought it, so imagine my relief when it actually turned out to be a good film. A bank robbery ends in a shoot out, in which a cop is killed. After a chase the police arrest one of the robbers and is sent to prison. Being a known associate of a crime lord, and fearing he will turn state witness, the crime lord played by Sean Bean puts a million dollar bounty on his head. Meanwhile, in prison, they stage Death Matches, in which two prisoners are "randomly" selected and to win they have to kill or make their opponent submit. When ratings and shares fall, they come up with a new event - Death Race, over 3 days and the winner of five death races wins their freedom. Badly burnt in a fire, and assumed dead, the bank robber is given a new identity, as the new masked driver called Frankenstein. His first act is to reverse into the woman who set the race up, killing her, before starting the race. Tremendous action, fantastic racing/cars and a brilliant story make this a worthwhile addition to a DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
this film should of been the 1st one not the second on e cos if u watch this 1st the 1st one makes alot more serires but still cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of Frankenstein AWSOME !, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Race 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is AWSOME! excellent acting and storyline ,I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this film I have the first one with 'Jason Statham ' so I hesitated ,
buying this as he wasn't in the film ,but Danny Trejo, the Mexican Guy ,I just love
any film he's in so I went ahead and bought it ,and I wasn't dissapointed ,there's
action bit a blood and gore ,a watch and watch over and over film ,totally ignore
the negative reviews for this film ('Okay! Guys your entitled to your own opinions).
But click buy and get this you will not regret it ,hope they continue the Franchise.
This film as some reviewers have said watch first then watch 'Jasons'.
Kind regards Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars deathrace 2, 25 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
did not think this would be as good as it is,in my own opinion its better than the statham death race.this is the prequal to the statham movie and how frankenstien came to be.you would be better watching this first then the statham one,this is not a cheap cop out follow on it is pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death Race, 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
These 2 films are really the wrong way round as this one shows you how death race started. If you haven't already seen Death Race, watch this first, if you have no harm done, watch this anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather a remake?, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I thought Death Race 1 was a normal action movie, so lets give Death Race 2 a try too. But this movie isn't a sequel or prequel to the first movie, it's rather a remake. I actually paused the movie a couple of minutes into it to double check that I inserted the right DVD...

However, I finished the movie and if it's just another action movie you're after, you can go for it; there are fast cars, fights, girls (who are there only to look good), explosions and all rest that's supposed to be there...

And of course, Danny Trejo is a star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Race 2 [DVD]
Death Race 2 [DVD] by Luke Goss (DVD - 2010)
3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews