Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Now THAT'S how to make a prequel!
Death Race 2 is an absolutely stonking, adrenaline filled guilty pleasure sort of movie, that will prove irrestible to all you petrol heads out there!

The cars are the best looking since Mad Max and the action is flawless. Luke Goss steals the show as brutal but honourable anti-hero Carl Lukas and Tanit Phoenix is absolutely smouldering as the love interest...
Published on 15 Aug 2012 by Cartimand

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... right load of s*** badly filmed no story and terrible
a right load of s*** badly filmed no story and terrible acting
Published 2 days ago by d bambrough


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Now THAT'S how to make a prequel!, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Death Race 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Death Race 2 is an absolutely stonking, adrenaline filled guilty pleasure sort of movie, that will prove irrestible to all you petrol heads out there!

The cars are the best looking since Mad Max and the action is flawless. Luke Goss steals the show as brutal but honourable anti-hero Carl Lukas and Tanit Phoenix is absolutely smouldering as the love interest. Sean Bean sheds his usual garb of lank hair and rusty armour and puts in a credible performance as the boo-hiss villain and it was great to see Ving Rhames (Pulp Fiction) as head honcho Mr Weyland and everyone's favourite grizzled latino Danny Treho.

The action morphs at break-neck pace from the initial gladiatorial one-on-one combat into the grand debut of the Death Race itself. There's a bit of caustic satire and social commentary thrown in - the ratings soar as more blood flows (rather like in Rollerball) and at a whisker under 100 minutes it never overstays its welcome.

The plot feeds nicely into both Death Race (2008) and the 1975 cult classic Death Race 2000.

The Blu-ray picture quality is pin-sharp and surround sound is used to very good effect during the race sequences. The extras include a terrific on-the-set feature that shows what a blast the actors had making this movie.

If you love fast cars, stylised OTT violence and black humour, then Death Race 2 is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER CORMAN CLASSIC, 6 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What happens when you try to take the ring from Frodo? You go to Roger Corman hell and play the bad guy,although in this movie, they were all bad guys, just some bad guys with "honor." I was disappointed Malcolm McDowell didn't play the prison warden. The part seemed designed for him. Ving Rhames plays a corporate exec. although he would have been better as a prisoner. Luke Gross plays an unconvincing tough guy.

The movie is a prequel for one that I had never seen. It is designed to shore up some rough plot points by describing how the "death race" came about while ignoring the blatant disregard for the constitution. Oh wait. Private corporations run prisons so the constitution is suspended, just like in real life. What is it with Corman and Frankenstein in a Death Race? For those of you who would rate "Death Race 2000" at 5 stars, give this 4 stars. Luke Gross is no David Caradine.

PARENTAL GUIDE: Nudity, sex, and violence. Is there any real need to discuss the plot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 13 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I think it's better than the first, as there is alot more story and the characters are much more filled out and have more depth.
There's not as much action, with the deathrace not happening until towards the end, but then this movies is about the deathrace came into being.
Cast is great, all perform well and are convincing in their roles (especially Goss).
My one gripe is that they should not have called this movie 'Death Race 2' as it's a prequel and is rather misleading. They'd have been better off giving it a more descriptive title.
On a side note I'd like to point out that Lauren Cohan is stunning in this film, and a future star to look out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars " DEATH RACE THE BEGINING", 28 Dec 2010
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Race 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First of all the 1st reviewer must have a short memory of the Jason Statham DEATH RACE, Because he fails to mention or even pick up on the fact that this film is a PREQUEL to it ! And what a prequel it is, its pulse pounding EXPLOSIVE stuff. The story charts how DEATH RACE was concieved by the ratings hungry prison wardens,,& how Frankenstein came to be ! there are a couple of fammiliar faces from the 1st film,, The cast is FANTASTIC = Luke Goss, Ving Rames, Sean Bean & Danny Trejo all do a good job in what is in total a straight to DVD FILM,, The ACTION, FIGHTS, & STUNTS have all been Directed with Style.. DEATH RACE 2 is a good addition to the Franchise, well worth to be in your collection,, " GO & BUY"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A FILM!!!! Seriously hot women, gripping action, GOOD storyline, SERIOUSLY LOVED IT!!!, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having just watched this film now I wanted to leave my impressions on the film, the film is REALLY GOOD!!! - The action is GRIPPING, the storyline is SPOT ON, the women in the film too are SERIOUSLY HOT! - It has substance in every angle & keeps you constantly gripped to the film.

You get to feel a connection with the characters, specially the guy named 'Lists' ... the connection between him & Carl Lucas (Luke Goss) is fantastic, it's each to their own but I feel the reviewer who slammed it a little, everyone is entitled to their opinion, sure, however I don't see any substance (or sense) in it & I'm sure when more people write reviews here you will see what I'm saying is true, the film is remarkable!

I wasn't familiar with the one with Jason Statham (Who I feel is also an amazing actor!!!) - However I'm not sure if people are writing on biased reviews on the basis of because they expected Statham in the film, however I did hear that this film is a PREQUEL, hence why .... & the way this 'Death Race' came about is gripping .... the other person mentioned about fights in the prison cells more so than being based around 'Death Race' is nonsense, it's the build up & climax of the film & all within reason & it's all very very relevant & gripping!

All in all, it's an AMAZING film, which is why I specifically wanted to come & write a review here, all the cast are great, Luke Goss plays an amazing part as Carl Lucas, the twist & plot of the story is spot on & gives you that 'Wow' factor (I didn't expect it to go the way it did), but it's very good, very clever & really well thought out, the fact the women in the film are seriously spot on too is just a massive bonus!

The film is fantastic ... you won't be dissapointed, trust me on this one!!!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch this one first, 23 Mar 2011
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Race 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
We all have a film that we know we shouldn't really like but do anyway and this has to be one of them. We know we really shouldn't approve of violent escapist films featuring fast cars, mindless violence and exploiting women but we still do and this is a great example of that. Luke Goss is first class as Carl Lucas; the driver who becomes 'Frankenstein' and is well supported by a cast who may not be 'A' list but are certainly recognisable. Tanit Phoenix is gorgeous as the love (lust?) interest and if they ever need a replacement for Megan Fox well here she is. The story is predictable but well presented with some excellent stunt driving and fight scenes and leads nicely into 'Death Race' itself. Ironically you should really watch this one first. This is an excellent quality blu ray transfer and presented in anamorphic widescreen so no black bars. The soundtrack is loud as you would expect and makes good use of the soundfield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prequel, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Came as advertised I had thoughly enjoyed Death Race with Jason Statham so I bought this one but it was a little hard to understand until you find out this should have been the first one of the series (there is a third one) but it is a very good film to watch I have watched it several times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars - if you like that kind of thing, 25 Nov 2012
By 
C Schalck "Carlos The DJ" (Denton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Race 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Like I said in the title, this isn't a film for everyone.

But if you want to see a popcorn Saturday night action movie which includes Sean Bean dying (obviously), Marsellus Wallace, an ex-member of Bros and a Jaguar XJS with machine guns and armour-plating, this is the film for you.

Brilliant, tongue-in-cheek awesomeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT PREQUEL..", 28 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Race 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This prequel is as good as the last death race movie in every way, if your a big fan then you wont be disappointed, its got bloody action and cool cars, hot women, and plenty of cool stunts and a thumping hip soundtrack!! Great story with some strong characters all played by a great cast of actors! This movie has a great budget for a straight to DVD-Bluray film, well worth checking out im sure it will satisfy!! The bluray quality is pretty good too and there are some good features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let down, 7 April 2012
This review is from: Death Race 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good film but death race 1 is better, if you have not seen death race 1 I would recommend you buy this film and watch this film then watch death race 1 as this is a prequel and death race 1 is a 100 times better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Race 2 [DVD]
Death Race 2 [DVD] by Luke Goss (DVD - 2010)
3.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews