Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious
I've never seen the original, so I can't compare the two, but I like this version a lot. The first series was good, but now Reggie's in charge it's stepped up a gear. I've laughed a lot during this current series.

Older friends still tell me the original was better, but that's not going to stop me enjoying this.
Published on 17 Nov 2010 by Sean Glover

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly, but not quite . . .
There are some wonderful moments, but overall both series of the new Reggie Perrin don't quite work for me. Martin Clunes never fails to deliver and he again delivers here. Fay Ripley and Alexander Armstrong have the panache for what is essentially an utterly absurd story, but there's a hint of desperation in some of the other performances.
Published on 5 Sep 2012 by Steve Birdsall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Sean Glover "SeanyMG" (Peterborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I've never seen the original, so I can't compare the two, but I like this version a lot. The first series was good, but now Reggie's in charge it's stepped up a gear. I've laughed a lot during this current series.

Older friends still tell me the original was better, but that's not going to stop me enjoying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More laughs than series one, 26 Nov 2010
By 
J. M. Welsh (smalltown, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Although I had a hard time getting into season one, I found this season better balanced and even side-splitting at times. I especially couldn't get enough of Reggie's secretary this time round...this actress is hilarious. There's no sense comparing to Leonard Rossiter's...it's a different time and whole different animal. Martin Clunes deserves high praise for bringing his own brilliant timing and manic touch to the material. And watching he and Faye Ripley together is just like putting on your favorite pair of old slippers. Definitely worth the money...some scenes are so funny they need to be watched over and over (keep an eye out for the scene where the parents announce they've become engaged).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Excellent!, 17 Jan 2012
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
This show is really FUNNY, but it is funny because it is so smart. Smart scripts, with a real feel toward the nonsense many of us have experienced in corporate/office life. Martin Clunes is truly wonderful, bringing a genuineness to the absurdity of the situations he both encounters and creates. The other actors are good, too, but it all works because of him. He has a special ability to convey many layers of thought and emotion on his face in just a few seconds time. Tremendous energy and charisma, but rarely over the top. I can't think of when I enjoyed a series more - a great surprise as a worthy follow up to series 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest shows in years!, 5 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Martin Clunes deadpan delivery and a well written script have me smiling and laughing throughout both Season 1 and 2.
Anyone who has worked in a office will appreciate the soul sucking nature of such work and the mental gymnastics required to keep sane or in Reggies case, relatively sane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Don't buy this if you can't get the original off your mind, this isn't just a modern take on the original, it is a fantastic script well acted and with great storylines.
This series will be a classic in its own right due to the outstanding comedy genius that is Martin Clunes. Well worth buying.
I just hope that there are more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly, but not quite . . ., 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
There are some wonderful moments, but overall both series of the new Reggie Perrin don't quite work for me. Martin Clunes never fails to deliver and he again delivers here. Fay Ripley and Alexander Armstrong have the panache for what is essentially an utterly absurd story, but there's a hint of desperation in some of the other performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
Very funny series! Shame they haven't made any more! It deserves more than two series! Still it's great to own both series on dvd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Remake, 20 July 2013
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
A poor remake. Simples. Clunes tries hard but the Rossoiter version is unbeatable. Like remaking Fawlty Towers. By the way the DVD cover is a rip off of the Local Hero poster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
I have not seen the original Reggie Perrin piece, so it was all new to me.
I really liked the story line and the quirky characters and situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm almost physically excited!", 7 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) (DVD)
This fresh show brings Reggie into the twenty first century, yet retains the comic genious of "The Rise and Fall of Reginald Perrin". I think that Martin Clunes masters the role just as well as (if not better than) Leonard Rossiter.

Overall: thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010)
Reggie Perrin: Series 2 [DVD] (2010) by Dominic Brigstocke (DVD - 2010)
£8.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews