Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Critics are Wrong!!!
In terms of Love's history, Four Sail is routinely criticized. It seems many Love fans either like the punky sound of the first 2 albums or the more introspective "Forever Changes". In truth, this release takes up where "Forever" left off, but there are "Changes", get it? This is much more an electric guitar album, but there's still lots of great finger picked guitar...
Published on 11 Nov 2002

versus
16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Things are never quite the same 2nd time round
By 1968 Love had given us 3 albums. One promising Byrds/Who influenced debut ( Love ), another ( Da Capo ) comprising one side of pop gems and one side 17 minute turgid chugging unlistenable jam, and then in 1967 their masterpiece ( Forever Changes ) mixing darkly apocalyptic lyrics with lush orchestration. Then it all went wrong.
Drug and money problems split the...
Published on 3 Nov 2002 by Kevin Randall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Critics are Wrong!!!, 11 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
In terms of Love's history, Four Sail is routinely criticized. It seems many Love fans either like the punky sound of the first 2 albums or the more introspective "Forever Changes". In truth, this release takes up where "Forever" left off, but there are "Changes", get it? This is much more an electric guitar album, but there's still lots of great finger picked guitar stuff like on Forever. Also, this is Arthur Lee at his happiest! Give the guy a break - his career was going pretty well at the time. Excellent, happy stuff. Killer track: "Nothing" absolutely lovely! This is the kind of music you want to play while out driving on a sunny day. Like "Out Here" there is plenty of classic stuff here! August, Neil's Song, Good Times, etc. Forget the critics. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the anti-forever changes, 23 Nov 2002
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
taken in the context of Arthur Lee's recording career up to this album I'm sure many people are forever bummed that Mr. Lee didn't continue in the same vein as De Capo and Forever Changes- In fact, I think that FourSail is a quite brilliant antithisis to those two albums.
The recording technique is purposefully lo-fi and muffled compare to the extravagant yet still rugged Forever Changes; listening to the bonus cut of "Talking in my Sleep" and you'll hear that his vision was to make an even more muttled attack, even thicker and distorted than the final product that the records company ended up with.
Another big change was the minamal use of hooks- certainly there are some good melodies, but the songs rely more on the energy of the performance and production value. With a new line-up on hand the music was obviously going to take a change and in the liner notes Arthur Lee alludes that his new bandmates had not entirely respected the folk-rock sound that had made up the previous two Love albums. As he put it he wanted it to be more of a band sound so he wrote the songs around what the other musicians wanted to play and less to what he wanted to say (I think by now he had a pretty jaded view of the business of making music).
There are some really solid memorable songs in here like the urgent August or spiteful Neil's Song, and as a whole the album works quite well together. It would have been interesting to hear what he would have invisioned both production-wise as well as song choices (another thing that is mentioned in the linear notes is that he intended this album to be a double album). I think that this album lines up pretty well with Love, Da Capo, and Forever Changes- it was a definitly a departure, but really it was an inside out anti version of Forever Changes and Da Capo bookends it perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love rock, 12 April 2014
By 
Mr. William Mcdonald Orr "BOOGIE WIZ" (Comber, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
A fine album. If 'Forever Changes' equates to 'Sgt. Pepper' as one of the great 'pop' albums, then this is Love's 'Abbey Road' - a shift into 'rock' whilst retaining the pop sensibilities of the mid sixties (I'm thinking Moby Grape or Hendrix 'Axis: Bold As Love'). The songs in terms of changes and melody stand comparison with anything in the band's earlier canon, and are in no way diminished by the lack of augmentation evident on their previous offering - in fact as a bare bones guitar / bass / drums outfit this is probably the best 'Love' of them all. Basically the album that for me confirms just how good Arthur Lee was....and sad that so little else followed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love band for the Summer, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
Just a great Album. Love is a band everyone has heard at some point but don't know who they actually are. I am glad i was put onto them at very early age. A band for the summer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good..., 18 May 2009
By 
I. K. Anderson "CJ" (Manchester, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
This is certainly a decent album, but I feel that it is somewhat predictable. When I first listened to it it did not have the same instant 'wow!' factor that forever changes did. So i have to disagree with people who say its as good as that.

(Here's a cheeky tip for people looking to buy this album - you can get it for 1.19 on itunes - obviously you won't be able to touch it, but i can't see myself listening to this album that many times so it doesn't bother me too much)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ARTHUR LEE - A one of a kind, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
Amazing record that rocks hard, is played by exceptional players & will rip out your heart.

Forever changes is worth every ounce of praise put it's way ...
Four sail is worthy of similar attention.

5 straight classic Arthur Lee toons ...
August , Singing Cowboy , Dream , Robert Montgomery & Always see your face.

The rest is good as well.

The remaster pulls no punches & sounds phenomenal.

Love is not just a band - It's a feeling.

put it in your basket, roll a fat one & hear how great music can be!!!

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decline, what decline!, 17 Mar 2011
By 
A. ADAM - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
Several reviewers have quite rightly pointed out that critics of this album are gifted with cloth ears. Although filler can be found, there are several songs here that number amongst Arthur Lee's finest. My favourites have always been the beautiful 'I'm With You' and the first 3 tracks on the original side 2: 'Dream', 'Robert Montgomery' and the marvellous 'Nothing'. The rudimentary sound quality of 'August', 'Singing Cowboy' and 'Always See Your Face' spoils these pretty strong tunes, but at least we have them in some form.

The final Love album that sees the gems outweigh the clinkers, one assumes its modest reputation (or worse) results from its coming immediately after 'Forever Changes', not an easy album to follow. Much thinner pickings are to be found after 'Four Sail', but don't be misled by talk of Lee's post-Changes 'decline'. It's not happening here. Any person who can knock out songs as achingly beautiful as 'I'm With You' and 'Nothing' is not in decline, or not just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome thread from the dim and distant past, 18 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
An album that shimmered in my memory since not long after it came out, I have sought on many occasions to secure a copy, It is only since the arrival of the internet that I have been able to buy a copy and I am at last able to savour the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great, 14 May 2008
By 
Steve (By DUNDEE Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
I was very pleasantly surprised when I first heard this album- I wasn't expecting much, but it has a few excellent songs, and is generally a solid follow-up to the masterpiece Forever Changes, although it's obviously nowhere near as good. To be honest, I don't think it sounds all that different to the earlier albums- its still recognisably Love- the lilting, bittersweet melodies are still there, although there are some harder rock leads, and the drummer, who is excellent, does lots of Mitch Mitchell style licks. But these rock elements sound kind of "bolted-on." A good example is the opener, August, which has typical Love-style verses, but with a hard rock lead, and finishes with lengthy, psychedelic vamping. Its a good opener, but it sounds like Lee and his band are trying to take the song in different directions. The best songs are the ones where Lee sticks to what worked on the earlier albums- "I'm With You" could have been on Forever Changes, with its brisk Latin-tinged percussion and breezy melody, while the lovely "Nothing" and "Always See Your Face" are equally impressive.

Generally, though, the album is solid- the band's playing is excellent, despite the basic sound quality (although its doesn't sound that bad, actually), and although there is a drop-off in intensity from its predecessor, I'd recommend Four Sail- its better than the debut album, and is tighter and more consistent than Da Capo overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Things are never quite the same 2nd time round, 3 Nov 2002
By 
Kevin Randall (Ashington, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Four Sail (Audio CD)
By 1968 Love had given us 3 albums. One promising Byrds/Who influenced debut ( Love ), another ( Da Capo ) comprising one side of pop gems and one side 17 minute turgid chugging unlistenable jam, and then in 1967 their masterpiece ( Forever Changes ) mixing darkly apocalyptic lyrics with lush orchestration. Then it all went wrong.
Drug and money problems split the bands original line up leaving only main singer-songwriter Arthur Lee to soldier on under the name Love. Lee recruited a new band and hit the studio in the latter half of '68. The result were about 27 new songs which were bizarrely split over two albums, and as Love were in the process of changing labels. Elektra had the first pick of the songs and chose 10 which became Four Sail. The remaining 17 went to new label Blue Thumb who released the lot as a double album ( Out Here ) about six months after the release of Four Sail. Most of the songs from Out Here are now on a compilation album Out There.
The first thing you notice on listening to Four Sail is how different it is to the first three albums. Lee had gone for a harder, more rock orientated sound which just didn't seem to work as well as the Latin flavoured pop songs on Da Capo and Forever Changes. The musicianship is certainly better on Four Sail but you can't help thinking theres something missing. The only tracks that come even close to the standard of the earlier stuff are I'm With You and Dream, while the likes of Talking In My Sleep just plod lifelessly along and Robert Montgomery is such an Eleanor Rigby rip-off its embarrassing.
Even though its quite patchy I preffered Out There to Four Sail as it has more stand-out tracks like Willow Willow and Listen To My Song, however if you haven't already got it then the Love album to have is Forever Changes. No CD collection should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four Sail
Four Sail by Love
Buy MP3 Album3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews