Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars51
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2013
Having not listened to the Undertones for many years I bought this album and was blown away.
It was played in the house so often that my wife had to hide it on me and the kids who go to school singing "My perfect Cousin".
I utterly recommend this excellent blast of nostalgia which, unlike the majority of stuff from that era, has hardly aged at all.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
This was one of the finest bands around in the 70's and 8'0s.
Their first hit "Teenage Kicks" was the late Radio '1 DJ's favourite song ( although it only reached 31 in UK Charts,surprisingly)! Then came "Jimmy Jimmy" (Which made No 16) in 79. "My Perfect Cousin" No 9 in 1980 (which to date was their biggest hit) Their last hit"Julie Ocean"in 1981 was their most' wistful and just washes over the listener in a' tingly' way. Although they only had 3 top 20 hits they influenced a generation. Their songs were (and still are) SO vibrant and fresh. Punk Indie or pure pop. melodic melodies which make one feel young again. Great to dance around to and pure feel-good music. My fav is "Here comes the summer" is only a minute and a half. Quality over Quantity!! (The catchy " Jimmy Jimmy" is a song about suicide, strangely)
20 little gems not one dud track. Great driving music on a long car journey on a lovely sunny day. That is why this Cd has 5 Stars...Yes, I would recommend it, Yes I would have given it 10 stars if I could!! Feargal Sharkey was their Lead Singer and a power behind the group.... They could actually play their instruments AND actually play LIVE!! That was unusual back then
Am I an old punk NO i am a grown woman that refuses to grow up!! Why should I when I can still enjoy this type of music I took for granted in the first place!! Enloy!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Good fun stuff and the title track Teenage Kicks is super! I bought it for theis track alone but have enjoyed many of the others too! Not too hard core punk as the songs have a good melody underlying things and are catchy! A great album to play loud in the car!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I bought this together with The Very Best Of Stiff Little Fingers .SLF sounded pretty good and true to the original recordings....,this doesn't.It sounds compressed or mastered badly to me and not as dynamic as the original.I stuck it in my cd player and listened in anticipation and tried to like it ,but there's something lacking with the sound quality that isn't like the original recordings..Borrow it if you can before you buy is my advice
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
here again we have pure nostalgia and what memories it revives fergal sharkey and the boys all bouncey and confident that they where in the right ,and whats more the music was darn good and they played a exciting concert to
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2012
Saw the recent BBC4 documentary on the Undertones, remembered that I saw them at the Hammersmith Palais in 1981 and went and bought this CD. Great, lively, fun music. People only seem to remember "Teenage Kicks" but there's a host of good tracks here, my favourite being "Get Over You" followed very closely by "My Perfect Cousin", the lyrics of which always make me smile.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
You forget how good bands were when you were young . So to be reminded buy this cd it will take you back ,brilliant
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
Great CD featuring all the Undertones well known hits. A top punk/new wave band in their time but their music can still be enjoyed by this generation. Excellent replacement for vinyl collection.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
top cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)