Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful *and* exciting, 18 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only version of Op. 106 I had was the Lindsays, which I don't like much - it's quite exciting, but, for me, lacking in beauty.

BBC Radio 3 'building a library' recently pickled out the Pavel Haas as the best version of Op. 106. They have the excitement and drive of the Lindsay's, but also sound very beautiful in the slow passages. The Pavel Haas version of the 'American' is also worth the purchase, but not as convincing as Op.106. For me, the Lindsays are slightly better in the 'American'.

In seeking out the Pavel Haas on Amazon I spotted the Stamitz set for a ridiculously low price and bought that instead! But I found their versions of Op. 106 and Op.96 lacking the excitement and intensity of the Pavel Haas, while the Pavel Haas match them in beauty.

So, in the end , I had to get the Pavel Haas CD. Their mix of dynamism and beauty is not to be missed in Op. 106. If you are tempted to seek out more Dvorak string quartets, try the Stamitz if you value languid beauty above rip-roaring excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves the plaudits., 18 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
This disc has won the gramaphone award and once you've listened to it you'll understand why. The disc couples two of Dvorak's later string quartets, the well known "American" no.12 with it's wonderful slow movement and no.13 in G. I bought this disc because I love Dvorak's chamber music and I wasn't disappointed. It's not just the quality of Dvorak's writing (though that in itself would be justification for this purchase) but it's the sublime playing of the exciting Pavel Haas Quartet that makes you want to listen again and again. Just as a footnote, the disk is also superbly packaged with a colourful and informative booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Dvorak, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Ali Tigrel (Ankara, Turkey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
No wonder this is an award winning disc. Superb performances of both quartets. Would probably be my first recommendation for these beatiful works. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous ensemble, 1 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
Heard them last week at the Wigmore in Czech music with an unforgettable encore of the slow movement of the Dvorak American. Bought this disk and it in now way disappoints. Watch out particularly for the wonderful cellist. Fab sound from supraphon - great balance and positioning of the 4 players with no over-miking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful quartet, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD after hearing the Pavel Haas quartet at Birmingham town hall. They are particularly impressive in Czech music such as this. Highly ecommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Peter V. Case - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
A fine performance of these superb works. Quick delivery of CD. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quartet music, 20 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
First class string playing.Tempo generally very good and steady instead of unecessary rapid tempos so often
heard these days by players showing off their technical skills to the detriment of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pavel Haas Quartet, 23 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
I discovered the Pavel Haas Quartet when they were the BBC's New Generation Artists, and I was amazed with their inspired and astounding performances - especially Janacek.
I am in no doubt that this group of young musicians is the best I have ever heard, and their interpretations of the most demanding quartet music is unsurpassed.They have recorded three CDs and these are essential additions to the collections of all serious chamber music enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very high quality CD and excellent musicianship!, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my mother's upcoming birthday and it is well worth the money. A very high quality CD by the established Pavel Haas quartet. I especially love the 'American' quartet - superb playing and terrifically captivating movements. I recommend the 2nd for very lyrical melodic music and the 4th for a boisterous and emphatic finale. I even received a £1 'gift voucher' for amazon mp3 downloads and actually downloaded the first movement of Dvorak's 'American.' It will be well loved and treasured in my mother's CD collection as has been on her wishlist for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can see why this was a Recording of the Year!, 17 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" (Audio CD)
The playing is stunning (and they're not so bad either). The Pavel Haas Quartet is fast becoming my favourite string quartet. Their playing is precise, effortless and technically astounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American"
Dvorak - String Quartets Op. 106 & 96 "American" by Pavel Haas Quartet (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews