Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read
Having read all of the Halo novels and enjoyed them, I decided to buy Mass Effect: Revelation from Amazon seeing as I'm really looking forward to the forthcoming video game later this year.

This book initially focuses on establishing the backbone of the universe, explaining and detailing to the reader the situation in the galaxy, mankind's massive...
Published on 5 July 2007 by Stephen C. Wakeman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mass Effect Revelation
I'm a big fan of Drew Karpyshyn but this seems to be his weakest book. The action scenes are brillantly written and the story links well to the games its based on. However only 2 of the characters are well drawn, the rest are just too weakly developed for you to care about. I think this book might have benefitted from either a streamlined cast or a few extra pages just...
Published on 22 Oct 2010 by Rollo Tomasi


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read, 5 July 2007
By 
Stephen C. Wakeman "Mobius1" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read all of the Halo novels and enjoyed them, I decided to buy Mass Effect: Revelation from Amazon seeing as I'm really looking forward to the forthcoming video game later this year.

This book initially focuses on establishing the backbone of the universe, explaining and detailing to the reader the situation in the galaxy, mankind's massive technological evolution and it's introduction onto the galactic stage that it shares with many other species. Once the groundwork is laid, it opens up into it's own narrative that concentrates on a few central characters and tells a story which is a small piece of a much larger puzzle.

It's a light and easy read, although it manages to be descriptive and interesting. It's not particularly emotional, although I thought there were some cool moments in it that will very much appease fans of the type of game it's based on.

I would recommend it to anybody who has enjoyed books based on video games before, or to those wishing to get a little bit of insight into BioWare's next massive fictional world. It doesn't take long to read, so it's not a major time investment and it's enjoyable and entertaining while it lasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feels like the game, 25 May 2010
I don't recommend reading the book before finishing the videogame because it will ruin the last plot twist but, if you've just finished it, it gives some explanations about Captain Anderson and Saren's past.
It also gives more of what we already like in the game: the description of the Citadel, the combat sequences, they have the same pace. Specially the first part reminds me of the mission where I had to rescue Liara.
About the writing style, maybe it is not the best or most elegant I've seen in a book, but it works for entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 10 Oct 2010
This book is an excellent read i found and adds a whole lot more to the existing Mass effect sub-characters and the plots are gripping to say the least, very well written and very much worth a look if you are a big mass effect fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Prequel!, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of Mass Effect games, you are going to love this book. Its a well written story about what happens before the first Mass Effect game, about humanity and their relationship with other species and their integration in the Citadel space. And in the foreground story there is a thrilling adventure with a great sense of mistery that will be cleared through the reading advances.

I cannot do another thing that recommend this book, not only to fans, but to people that like science fiction books. Be aware that the chances that you get hooked up with the story and buy a copy of the Mass Effect game for PC or XBox are too high after reading this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty darn good, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mass Effect: Revelation (Kindle Edition)
ok so i never give out 5 stars as i have yet to read a book that is perfect in every way but saying that this book is pretty darn good.

so additional info Revelation is set about 20 years before the first Mass Effect game and leads into ME1's story giving us some nice lore and background stuff that never comes up in any of the games or is skimmed over as we didn't really need to know about it at the time and while i spotted some of the story coming a mile off it was still a fun read.

if you're a fan of the Mass effect setting then i'd say this is a must read, if you're not a fan of the games i'd still say this stands up well as a close to reality sci fi story.

bottom line ied recommend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those books that will have you hooked from page one. A very entertaining read and links in with the storyline of the game very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great prequel to the first game, 31 May 2011
By 
H. R. Moeller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this prequel to the first Mass Effect game, it gives a lot more background to Anderson and Saren. I would like to go back and play the game again having now read this book. A must buy for any Mass Effect fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly reasonable, 2 Aug 2010
By 
B. Savic (Canterbury, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A perfecly reasonable book. The quality of writing is better than I expected and the story is sufficiently interesting. I did however think that it read like one, short, quest in the Mass Effect game. I think it could have been longer and more complex. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mass effect fans must have, 4 April 2012
Being a big fan of the games i felt there were parts of the story that i wanted to know about. I started to read this book about a week ago and i'm hooked! It's about a young Anderson about 18years before the first mass effect game. Will definately buy all the books in the series! Good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Nights, 9 Feb 2012
By 
LeafySeeker (Bergen, Norway) - See all my reviews
First of all I have to admit, I am a mass effect fan. So when I saw the cheap price and the delicious cover of Saren (You get to know him), it didn't take long before it was in my shopping chart and on its way. Shipping went fine and only took 3 days which was quite surprising giving I live in Norway and nothing arrives when it's supposed to.

Mass effect Revelation is a sci-fi fiction story that takes place before the happenings of the mass effect game series.

It's not heavily written and is quite easy to sink you'r teeth in and before you know it the book is over and the birds are singing outside.

Being a fan of the Mass Effect series it gave the book a huge boost, but it could be read of sci-fi fanboys aswell as someone just looking for a book containing well written dialog, appealing characters and interesting stories.

It keeps you hungering for more. Read the book in just 3 days, definatly worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mass Effect: Revelation
Mass Effect: Revelation by Drew Karpyshyn
£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews