Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Endearing and Moving, 16 July 2008
By 
This is the second book of three in the follies series and although it isn't a cliff hanger in the true sense, it certainly leaves you wanting to know how it will all end!

This book starts where the first finished off - and lets us see how the decisions they have made will alter the courses of their lifes. For Rose it seems that her dream is now over an all she has to look forward to is plain (as plain as plain is in the middle of a war) everyday life. Richard closes himself off from the world after his shattering discovery on new years eve and leads himself back into danger. And for Felix and Merry it seems all is well - but is it?

This series seems to improve with every chapter and has managed to fully engross me! Would recommend to anyone with a heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wartime drama, 11 April 2009
By 
ruralbuyer (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thoroughly good read, a nice mix of the entertainment side of the forces and the resistance movement in France. The second in a series of four, and just as good as the first one. Seems good on accuracy as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
loved the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten face of World War 11, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having lived through this period, every word rings true, so I bought the rest of the books
Now my wife is passing them around friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second World War reading, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only just started reading Hilary Green books excellent reading just can't put this book down!!!
Now ordering more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Also Serve (Follies Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Arrived very quickly in good condition, I am really pleased as it meant I could read the whole series in one go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic book, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They Also Serve (Follies Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I have already read 'Follies 1' and found it to be compelling reading. Likewise with this book, I didn't want to put it down. I am now reading 'Follies 3'. I look forward to reading the final one, but will also be sorry because the series will have ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well worth a read, 23 Nov 2012
By 
The Good Daughter (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this because it was set during ww2 and thought it might be worth a read as it covered more than just people in the service. Have to say I really enjoyed it - the characters are all very likeable and the settings are all very realistic - if you like this kind of subject matter and enjoy a light read this is well worth picking up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wartime memories, 7 April 2011
This book is the second of a quartet of books by Hilary Green about characters in the entertainment business during WW11. It is extremely well written and a book (all of them) which you cannot put down. The characters are fascinating and well drawn and you are given a real insight into their participation during the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BOOK REVIEW, 20 Sep 2010
I had not heard of this author before I picked this audio book up from my local library. I was delighted to at the details in the story line, especially the more personal touches. One could imagine that it was happening last year and not in the early 40s. Well written researched and presented. I have purchased this as a Xmas present. This book is part of a set of four books (Follies) I believe that there is enough information to make a film

JML
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

They Also Serve (Follies Book 2)
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews