Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling home from Siberia
OK, I'm also a committed non-Christian but this book is great. The 'faith' aspects do not detract from what was clearly an epic adventure and in no way spoiled it for me. If anything, I knew about these before starting the book and was releived the author had not over-egged this aspect.

You'll have to look very hard indeed to find someone - believer or...
Published on 10 Jan 2010 by Mr. David C. Hill

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much 'religion'...
I'm currently reading this book and although the adventure is amazing, the references to religion and prayer are pretty intrusive. Indeed, while Rob has humility and an engaging style, when he faces dangers he prays, yet when unfortunate events occur the acts of his god are not questioned.

The cover and the introduction do not mention the strong strand of...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by ardentreader


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling home from Siberia, 10 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. David C. Hill (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, I'm also a committed non-Christian but this book is great. The 'faith' aspects do not detract from what was clearly an epic adventure and in no way spoiled it for me. If anything, I knew about these before starting the book and was releived the author had not over-egged this aspect.

You'll have to look very hard indeed to find someone - believer or non-believer - this adventurous who can also write about it in such an engaging way and on that basis alone, it is an absolutely fantastic book. Buy it, i couldn;t put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will put a big smile on your face, 31 Dec 2009
By 
C. Atkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rob Lilwall's open and upbeat attitude shines through his writing and makes this an uplifting read. The passage through Siberian winter is truly an heroic feat- cycling through -40c conditions in one of the harshest landscapes on earth is a pretty wonderful thing to have achieved and the reading of it makes the reader aware of possibilities unthought of. Also the section with Rob battling through the jungles and along the beaches of New Guinea is outrageous and certainly his adventure lives up to his own English-explorer standards of 'ridiculousness' and 'epic-ness'. There are many funny moments and I whipped through this book in a couple of days it is such fun. Totally disagree with other comments about religion being annoying- I am not religious and am not at all bothered by Rob's expressions of his faith at various points. Indeed it ties the book together and provides the tale's spiritual core. A book that will make you want to get up and do something huge yourself. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational adventure and human journey, 19 Sep 2009
Cycling Home From Siberia is a genuinely exciting and inspirational tale of Rob Lilwall's adventure cycling home to London from the wilds of Siberia.

Packed with fascinitating insights to the places, cultures and people he met along the way, this is a hugely riveting and personal account of his journey.

Hard to put down, I look forward to his next adventure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary adventure that comes alive on every page, 13 Sep 2009
By 
David L. Shaw (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rob Lilwall's tale of his 35,000 mile adventure on a bike makes compulsive reading. His descriptions of both the extraordinary things that happened to him together with the fascinating and the so generous people that came to his aid come alive on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cycling home from siberia, 7 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Alastair Burnett "The Cyclist" (The Cyclist) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
absolutely awe-inspiring, phenomenal journey, spiritual main character and he gets the girl... he literally makes you feel that he has the whole world in his hands and freedom to go just about anywhere... I can only recommend this with highest praise. This book could change your life forever if you are still young at heart and brave of spirit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, exciting and inspiring, 27 Oct 2010
By 
This lengthy book about Rob's epic 3 ½ year cycle ride home to London from Siberia -going the long way round via Eastern Asia, Australia & South east Asia - is a really fascinating read. Despite the size of the book, he skims through or misses out a lot of parts of his journey and only concentrates on the most exciting & dangerous parts -Siberia, Papua New Guinea, Afghanistan, Iran, so the book is never boring.
Rob does an excellent job of recreating the tension of the most scary moments of the trip, he really had me on the edge of my seat in parts. I also enjoyed reading about all the interesting people he met along his travels, and although he seemed more concerned in asking them about their religion than about their lives he did still manage to uncover some really interesting points.
Rob doesn't always come across as the most charismatic person, but he's quick to admit his faults, and I trusted him to tell the tales without any boasting or exaggeration. I have to admire his amazing bravery and determination in doing this trip and this book has certainly inspired me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Journey Great Read, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. S. Bywater (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Rob Lilwall has written a book that really takes you with him. A great book and a classic example of how to keep going and never give up when you battle with your mind to keep going. It was refreshing to read about the people who have nothing but expect nothing in return. Perhaps some of our western leaders should read this book to gain a better understanding of the real people of this world and not the evil nations they and their media machines like to portray. Iran was one of the most welcoming countries he travelled through which speaks volumes.... Great book and next time you go on a bike ride can I come with you!!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling Home From Siberia, 18 July 2010
By 
Mr. D. Taylour "booksrgr8" (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
LOVED IT. Well done Rob, very inspirational book for cyclists and non-cyclist, everyone should read it. Only wish the book was longer as I slowed at the end to make it last longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so good i bought 3 copies, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. M. Owen (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a great book on many levels - gripping story, inspirational effect it can have on you, love interest intertwined in the text, humorous anecdotes and insights into different culture. suitable for both men and women of all ages and activity levels! Thats why i bought 3 copies after reading it to give as presents to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 29 Dec 2009
By 
N. Ebling (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was so excited to hear the book was ready after having read various email updates during the journey, and the finished product did not disappoint at all. It is a remarkable story of endurance and perseverance, which had me in fits or laughter one minute and tears the next. Rob's honest portrayal of life on the road, the people he encountered across the world, and his own character and spiritual journey was gripping and I could not put the book down. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone to has ever tried to go anywhere on a bike, who loves to travel, or who is simply wondering how long it does take to cycle home from Siberia. Read it - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cycling Home From Siberia
£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews