Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine
Imagine is one of my favourite albums and my favourite John Lennon album.
Recorded in his home studio (Ascot Sound Studios in Tittenhurst Park)in 1971 it reached number one in the US and UK charts.

The Band : John Lennon, George Harrison' Klaus Voorman, Alan White, Nicky Hopkins and others.

Producer : John Lennon/Phil Spector...
Published on 22 Sep 2011 by Raymond Porter

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, strange, contradictory, interesting.
Be careful not to build this album into something that it isn't. It isn't a great album - some tracks are, but others are little more than jamming sessions that were used to fill the two sides.

It's the contradictions that make this such a strange and ultimately interesting album.

The title track 'Imagine' is now a peace anthem - high ideals, a hymn...
Published on 2 Sep 2011 by Stephen Reid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine, 22 Sep 2011
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Imagine is one of my favourite albums and my favourite John Lennon album.
Recorded in his home studio (Ascot Sound Studios in Tittenhurst Park)in 1971 it reached number one in the US and UK charts.

The Band : John Lennon, George Harrison' Klaus Voorman, Alan White, Nicky Hopkins and others.

Producer : John Lennon/Phil Spector.

Composer : John Lennon, except "Oh my love" which is credited Lennon/Ono.

The songs :

1 Imagine : The title track became Lennon's signature song and was written as a plea for peace. It was inspired by a poem by Yoko and musically influened by "Beethovan's" "Moonlight sonata". It is a simple and beautiful song with a lyric which asks the listener to consider what the world could be like, stripped of what he see's as distractions to peace. Imagine is a plea for the unity of all the peoples of the world and an imagination of how this could be done without the constraints of religion or politics. 5/5

2 Crippled Inside : Great rocker of a song with a fantastic lyric which states that however you project yourself to the outside world there is one thing you can't hide. It's when you're crippled inside. George Harrisons playing of a "Dobro" (stringed instrument) on this track is worthy of special notice. 4/5

3 Jealous Guy : The music was written in 1968 and was originally composed as "Child of Nature" during the songwriting sessions in India in 1968 that led to The Beatles' double-album The Beatles. The lyric and title were re-written in 1971 and the result is a song of great sensitivity, pain and beauty. 5/5

4 It's So Hard : Great funky Blues track, "sometimes I feel like going down". King Curtis overdubbed some great sax in "New York" during the final mixing. 4/5

5 I don't want to be a soldier mamma I don't want to die : These are the only lyrics in the song because they are all that it needs. 3/5

6 Gimmie some truth : Written in 1969 during the "Let It Be" sessions the completed version here has a new bridge. This is a strong angry song with an anti hypocricy theme and a strong rock sound. 4/5

7 Oh My Love : The only song on the album to be co written with Yoko. This is such a beautiful love that is right up there with the best of them. This is the song on the album that has brought me to tears on occasion. This song is painful and honest and very very beautiful. 5/5

8 How Do You Sleep : The song that was famously inspired by Johns resentment for Paul. Although Lennon softened his stance in the mid-70s and claimed he wrote the song about himself, he revealed in 1980, "I used my resentment against Paul... to create a song... not a terrible vicious horrible vendetta... I used my resentment and withdrawing from Paul and The Beatles, and the relationship with Paul, to write 'How Do You Sleep'. I don't really go 'round with those thoughts in my head all the time". In truth John was expressing hurt and not hate and the result is this mind blowing clssic. George Harrison's exceptional slide guitar playing really helps to make the song stand out. 5/5

9 How : A deep questioning lyric in which John asks himself many questions including " how can I give love when love is something I ain't never had". This is a very tender and deep song sung with such greatness of expression. 5/5

10 Oh Yoko : Possibly the only upbeat positive song on the album. This is a great pop love song with a very catchy melody and featuring some rarely heard fantastic lennon mouth organ performance. 4/5

Extensive footage of the sessions, showing the evolution of some of the songs, was compiled on a video documentary entitled Gimme Some Truth: The Making of John Lennon's Imagine. Seek this out as it is so revealing.

This album is so good that it is hard to express in words. It should be purchased and cherished forever as it is a work of art that is timeless and unique. The vocal by John is outstanding, the feeling and expression that he can deliver in a song is mind blowing. The quality of the writing is sharp, sober and painfully revealing. Ladies and gentlement, this is the late great John Lennon at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic remaster of a classic album!, 6 Oct 2010
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Mastered from the original 1971 mixes - this is as good as the original mixes are going to sound. I've owned the original 80s CD Release and the original 1971 Vinyl and this is the best Imagine has sounded. Don't hesitate if you're a fan. Bear in mind the mixes themselves are not up to today's standards, but the Abbey Road mastering engineers have done a superb job with the source material. Tape hiss intact too - which means no unnecessary noise reduction used. Imagine that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars imagine another remaster, 6 Oct 2010
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
There isnt much to say about this release except that the album is brilliant. And of course its a classic. Much has already been said about the album so I will just add comments about this release.
The remastered sound is excellent and the album sounds better than ever. The packaging is the currently fashionable Eco type with the semi mock vinyl presentation. There is no tray for the CD disc but it has to slip inside the cardboard cover. This was something I found a pain since its much to tight a fit. But other than that it is an excellent presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic is a classic in any audio format ...., 13 Jan 2004
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Those with sensitve ears and a love of fine detail may miss the original 33.3 rpm version, but its hard for Lennon's Misses (did n't she re-mix this?) or others to detract from this album's charm.
Its more 'commercial' than much of Lennon's Yoko-infulenced material, but its more lyrical, poignant, naive and real than most other music of the period or since.
Buy it and keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of all time, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Lennon excelled himself in 1971 with the album, Imagine. Recorded at his home at Tittenhurst Park, it represents his first reconciling of his bare emotional statements to a more commercial musical interpretation.
All of the tracks here are excellent, particularly the moving "Jealous Guy", the gutsy and satirical "Gimme Some Truth" and the unusual "I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier", but the crowning glory is the evergreen "Imagine", rightly considered to be one of the greatest pop songs ever written. Although some of its sentiments may ring through as unrealistic as the end of the 1990's approaches, but the beautiful melody and airy arrangement cannot be ignored.
Apart from some muddy and poorly executed production in places, this album is a masterpiece of popular music making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What review could I write?, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Someday someone will claim Lennon was a modern day saint.

Received quickly and in good contion

The interesting part of this version is it contains 'How do you sleep at night'. A brilliant track in its own right and provides an insight into the relationship between Lennon and McCartnery afrter the Beatles split up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Eder Leopold "badgasteiner" (badgasteiner) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Imagine is a masterpiece from John, very excellent music. John is a very interesting person and You also hear this in his music. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imagine, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Title : Imagine
Realeased 1971
Producer John Lennon/Yoko OIno/Phil Spector
The band : John Lennon, George Harrison, Klaus Voorman, Alan White, Nicky Hopkins and others
Composer John Lennon except "Oh My Love" Lennon/Ono
Chart position : No1 in USA and UK charts.
Location : UK and USA
Singles released : Imagine in USA, no releases in UK.

The Tracks : Imagine
The title track "Imagine" became Lennon's signature song and was written as a plea for world peace.

Crippled Inside :
A great rockin song with a sharp anti hypocricy lyric. George Harrison plays the "Dobro" on this to fantastic effect.

Jealous Guy :
"Jealous Guy" has also had enduring popularity and was originally composed as "Child of Nature" during the songwriting sessions in India in 1968 that led to The Beatles White album.

It's So Hard :
Great blues track.

I Don't Want To Be A Soldier :
The title says it all.

Gimme Some Truth :
This song was written in 1969 during the Let It Be sessions and finished off for this album.

Oh My Love :
Beautiful love song co-written by Lennon/Ono

How Do You Sleep :
John Lennon quoted, "I used my resentment against Paul... to create a song... not a terrible vicious horrible vendetta... I used my resentment and withdrawing from Paul and The Beatles, and the relationship with Paul, to write 'How Do You Sleep'. I don't really go 'round with those thoughts in my head all the time".[4]

How :
Sensitive and painfully appealing.

Oh Yoko
EMI pushed for this track to be the single, but Lennon thought it was too "pop".

Extensive footage of the sessions, showing the evolution of some of the songs, was compiled on a video documentary entitled Gimme Some Truth: The Making of John Lennon's Imagine.

This is a must have album for any music lover and in my opinion the best John lennon album. This new re-mixed version makes it sound even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imagine..., 6 Aug 2004
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
"Imagine" may not have been as groundbreaking or as superb as "John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band," but it's certainly more listenable. There is not much that can really be said for the opening title track, except that it has probably had more effect on people as a whole than any other popular song of the 20th century. The way that the piano softly fluctuates as Lennon fantasises about a world with no religion, countries, war, bloodshed or possessions and invites us to do also, and then a lush string quartet - which never goes over the top and always stays in a tender and controlled mood - is introduced as John sings, "you may say I'm a dreamer but I'm not the only one, I hope someday you'll join us and the world will live as one" to convict us that it really would work, if only we would all let it be more than a dream - inspires awe. The other masterpiece of the album is "Jealous Guy," one of John's tenderest and sincerest odes to his wife in which he apologises for an un-named incident and acknowledges his own frailty: "I'm just a jealous guy." There's also the diatribe "How Do You Sleep?" aimed directly at Beatles collaborator and close friend Paul McCartney, with such cruel but irresistible lines as, "The only thing you done was 'Yesterday'." The album basically swings from the political to the confessional - in fact, "Imagine" is probably the most exemplary and typical demonstration of John Lennon's work as a whole - even if "John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band" is just a little bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, strange, contradictory, interesting., 2 Sep 2011
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Be careful not to build this album into something that it isn't. It isn't a great album - some tracks are, but others are little more than jamming sessions that were used to fill the two sides.

It's the contradictions that make this such a strange and ultimately interesting album.

The title track 'Imagine' is now a peace anthem - high ideals, a hymn of gentility that is used to portray Lennon as an idealist. But how badly that sits with the vitriolic attack on Paul McCartney that is 'How do you sleep?'!

'Gimme some Truth' has some of the most powerful anti-establishment lyrics ever committed to record. Brilliant. But 'I don't Wanna be a soldier Mama' is repetitive and weak by comparison - little more than a make-it-up-as-you-go session.

`Jealous Guy' - painfully brilliant. `Crippled Inside' - nowhere near as good.

'Oh my Love'- Lennon balladeering at his best. "Oh Yoko!" - a song that seems to be trying to prove something, but which ultimately fails.

Don't get me wrong - this is an album worth buying and worth playing often. But it shows an artist in pain - trying to resolve the momentous decision he made to leave everything and set up with Yoko, hitting out at his former best friend, trying to find a new role for himself.

Listen to it in that light, and `Imagine' makes sense, the ambiguities can be explained. Not a great album overall, but a piece of pop history - in turn beautiful, strange, contradictory, interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imagine [+Digital Booklet]
Imagine [+Digital Booklet] by John Lennon And The Plastic Ono Band (With The Flux Fiddlers)
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews