Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every twitch,every flip...a terrific mix of songs from a great singer (and band) ...all for you
Imelda and her band return with another energetic mix of rockabilly, pop and jazz ; From the opening "Pulling the rug" all the way through to their excellent cover of Tainted love, the album is chock full of songs that worm their way into your skull that you'll be humming for weeks.
The cheeky "Psycho" has a driving sixties-spy vibe complete with growling guitar and...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by Andrew

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading - not a new album, just an extended version of Mayhem
The title 'More Mayhem' suggests that this is a second album in the same vein as 'Mayhem', but it's just the same album with a couple of extra tracks. This is really misleading and quite annoying.

Don't buy if you already have Mayhem. If you don't, buy this instead, as it does have some extras.

Will be buying one of her other albums and check the...
Published 15 months ago by Seraph


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imelda Mayhem, 24 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
A great follow up to Love Tattoo. Saw Imelda and band live in Brighton the weekend prior to the album's release and so heard many of the new songs for the first time at the gig. Many catchy choruses so soon caught on. There is a good mix of styles, underpinned by the rock a billy core, others verging on country and some more to the blues. Hopefully will push the bands profile some more which they fully deserve, great musicians. It you have heard some Imelda May and like the sound then give the album a try, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works on so many levels, 21 Feb 2011
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Mayhem is the name of the album but there is no chaos here, despite the jazz / rockabilly fusion that does not sound a good idea on paper... and yet it works. With such good musicianship (love the jazz trumpet), great songs / vocals and boundless energy, Mayhem has to be a sure fire hit. Perhaps the mayhem is in a concept that can sound so retro and current at the same time. Will appeal to many .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insanely catchy, brilliantly spirited music, 30 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Imelda May has a fantastic voice and her band do her proud here. There are some all-time classics on this album, songs that you will be humming for days after listening to them. The sound is a little raw in places but that makes it all the more truthful; she's singing her heart out on lots of these tracks. Some will grow on you, some are instantly appealing, some are downright silly but a lot of fun. 'Inside Out' would make a perfect first dance for a wedding. As a fantastic live band, it's always going to be hard for them to get the same effect on a recording, but if you haven't heard them live - and maybe even if you have! - I think this would knock your socks off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imelda Rocks, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
If Elvis and Pink had a love child, she'd be Imelda May. Bluesy, rockabilly and unique. She's got an amazing voice. These tracks are memorable for all the right reasons and you catch yourself singing them in your head or, in my case, out loud long after you've switched off your CD player/MP3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting CD, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Mayhem (Audio CD)
i wasnt quite sure what to expect as I had only heard a couple of the tracks but I really like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A REAL WAKE UP ALBUM, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
REALLY LOUD AND BRASH LIKE IMELDA HERSELF. WE LOVE IT BUT PREFER LATER ALBUM FOR THE SONGS AND MUSIC. MUST BE WICKED LIVE IN CONCERT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I am happy with this record of a faultless performer. I have been to two of her shows and I am glad to be able to get another record by her. ( I only wish I could have been in USA to see her with Jeff Beck. Still, I have the DVD and cd!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem / Imelda May, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Totally awesome cd, just my kind of music fits very well into my music collection. Always a great deal to be had with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Again I like Imelda May so I like the music good CD at a good price good for in car music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking!, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I replaced this CD with one I had lost - heaven knows where it is! Fantastic CD and it arrived very promptly. Top~notch service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7a98fd8)

This product

Mayhem
Mayhem by Imelda May
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews