Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every twitch,every flip...a terrific mix of songs from a great singer (and band) ...all for you
Imelda and her band return with another energetic mix of rockabilly, pop and jazz ; From the opening "Pulling the rug" all the way through to their excellent cover of Tainted love, the album is chock full of songs that worm their way into your skull that you'll be humming for weeks.
The cheeky "Psycho" has a driving sixties-spy vibe complete with growling guitar and...
Published on 4 Oct 2010 by Andrew

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading - not a new album, just an extended version of Mayhem
The title 'More Mayhem' suggests that this is a second album in the same vein as 'Mayhem', but it's just the same album with a couple of extra tracks. This is really misleading and quite annoying.

Don't buy if you already have Mayhem. If you don't, buy this instead, as it does have some extras.

Will be buying one of her other albums and check the...
Published 20 months ago by Seraph


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every twitch,every flip...a terrific mix of songs from a great singer (and band) ...all for you, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Imelda and her band return with another energetic mix of rockabilly, pop and jazz ; From the opening "Pulling the rug" all the way through to their excellent cover of Tainted love, the album is chock full of songs that worm their way into your skull that you'll be humming for weeks.
The cheeky "Psycho" has a driving sixties-spy vibe complete with growling guitar and howling outro ; "Mayhem" is a tale of a disruptive London couple with a catchy chorus ; "All for You" is an earthy atmospheric ditty that reeks of the bands links with burlesque; "Bury my troubles away" is a wonderfully jazzy-blues foot-tapper, "Let me out" is another catchy tune that just begs a crowd singalong to the chorus....the list goes on.
Highams guitar work drives the tunes along ; Prisemans' trumpet work shines throughout; Al Gare's bass and Rushton's drums make the beat irresistable- one of the bands great strengths is that each is given space to breathe and the overall effect is a delight to the ear. Anyone who has seen the band live will know how amazing they are on stage; they are all excellent musicians at the top of their game.

Is the album perfect ? Not quite.

Where the album's slips slightly (and it *is* only slightly) is that some of the arrangement choices made by the band for the recording seems to have blunted their edge a bit. "Eternity" and "All for you" - both fantastic songs live, and amoungst their best - particularly seem to have lost a little in translation. "Too sad to cry", "I'm alive" and "Kentish town waltz" aren't instant classics, but are decent songs, and do grow on repeated listens.

That said, this remains an excellent and well-paced album, packed with tunes you'll be humming for weeks, and offering alot to both the casual listener and the avid fan. If you've enjoyed her songs on the radio or loved "Love Tattoo", I can heartily recommend this album - the lady doesn't disappoint, and you'll be playing this again and again for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem: Imelda May - Infectious and fun feelgood album, 20 July 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Recent music releases seem to be dominated by people who take it all ever so seriously and seem to have forgotten that music can be fun. Imelda May corrects that with this charming release, her third as a solo artist (`No turning back' and `Love Tattoo' preceded this)

The style is mainly up-tempo rockabilly, a big band with some great electric guitars backing a powerful singer belting out tracks with vim and vigour. Stylistically it is a lot like Jools Holland and his Rhythm and Blues Orchestra's recordings. Largely written by Imelda May, the songs sound as though they were recorded in the late fifties, but with lyrics and themes that come straight from the world of today. A sense of fun pervades throughout and you really get the impression that everyone involved was having a whale of a time, which is quite infectious.

Standout tracks are `Sneaky Freak', a good example of the fifties sound with the modern themes, and `Tainted Love'. This song, which has been everything from a soul stomper to an electronic synthpop hit, is here transformed into a classic dancehall rock'n'roll track, and guaranteed to get you up and dancing.

A great feelgood album which will lift anyone's day. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading - not a new album, just an extended version of Mayhem, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Seraph (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Mayhem (Audio CD)
The title 'More Mayhem' suggests that this is a second album in the same vein as 'Mayhem', but it's just the same album with a couple of extra tracks. This is really misleading and quite annoying.

Don't buy if you already have Mayhem. If you don't, buy this instead, as it does have some extras.

Will be buying one of her other albums and check the track list to ensure it's not just a bunch of dupes.

That said, Mayhem is a fantastic album that I play endlessly. If you like that retro, rockabilly, double bass sound and songs to dance to, then this album is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Fan, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
As an older person I am very reassured about the younger generation when I hear music as good as this. I have even ordered a previous cd which cannot come too soon. Many thanks Imelda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I am happy with this record of a faultless performer. I have been to two of her shows and I am glad to be able to get another record by her. ( I only wish I could have been in USA to see her with Jeff Beck. Still, I have the DVD and cd!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayhem / Imelda May, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Totally awesome cd, just my kind of music fits very well into my music collection. Always a great deal to be had with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 14 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I can't stop playing this, its absolutely brilliant and I like every track!! Thats almost unheard of previously. Just the thing if you need cheering up!

Play loud!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding stomper of an album!!!!, 14 Oct 2010
By 
D. M. G. Rollason "Dan the Music Man" (Dudley, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
I absolutely adore this album. From the very start of the album "Pulling the rug" up to the remix version of "Johnny got a boom boom" is just outstanding. Even the slower tracks on this album are equally as good. If you are looking for a real footstomper of an album for Christmas, please make this your first choice, and make it go to number 1. This album deserves that accolade.

Well done Imelda, keeping on rockin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Gal Dun Good !!!, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Following on from the critically accalimed 'Love Tattoo', Imelda May releases her brand of Rockabilly Mayhem on this her second studio album. The difference between this album and the last is that the songwriting is stronger & the sound more gutsy and edgy. It is a fantastic breath of fresh air as opposed to most of the drivel around these days. You can tell that Imelda loves doing what she does and is supported with a fantastic backing band. 'Psycho', 'Mayhem' and 'Pull the Rug' are the foot-stompers whilst 'Kentish Town Waltz' and 'All For You' lend the balanced sentimentality to the album. A fantastic collection, finished off with a great version of 'Tainted Love'. This collection will enhance any music collection. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Mayhem (Audio CD)
Totally agree with previous review.
The production quality, the songcraft and amazing vocals blew me away.
Imelda May and her incredibly talented band go from strength to strength with every new release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mayhem
Mayhem by Imelda May
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews