Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars annoying formatting errors make this virtually unreadable at times
A welcome break from more challenging literature. Sookie becomes further entangled in the lives of Louisiana's supernatural beings.

I was however really disappointed with this kindle edition which is full of text errors; whole sentences run together as one word, speech marks falling in random places due to formatting errors, a total lack of "ff" in the...
Published on 1 Feb 2011 by Mrs. K. E. Southall

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great stories - v badly edited kindle version
It would have been a 5 star review but the editing or lack thereof in this kindle version of omnibus is dreadful. My money has been taken and a full and complete book has NOT been provided.

I'm enjoying the stories just as much but be warned.
Published on 27 Sep 2012 by stl_sw11


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars annoying formatting errors make this virtually unreadable at times, 1 Feb 2011
By 
Mrs. K. E. Southall "tall kate" (Sutton Coldfield , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
A welcome break from more challenging literature. Sookie becomes further entangled in the lives of Louisiana's supernatural beings.

I was however really disappointed with this kindle edition which is full of text errors; whole sentences run together as one word, speech marks falling in random places due to formatting errors, a total lack of "ff" in the third book leaving you wondering what "coee" might be or being faced with a lonely "o". i
I remember wondering what an "oice" was and whether it might mean something when read in a deep southern accent."

When it is possible to buy this in paperback at a similar price (presumably in a copy that has been spellchecked and proofread before reaching the printer) i would avoid this kindle edition until it has been improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stories but so many errors in this version!, 26 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
There are three novels in this omnibus and although I've reviewed each individually on their own pages, I feel I must review this 'omnibus' version I downloaded for Kindle. All of the stories are wonderful and very entertaining. If you've read the previous Sookie Stackhouse novels, you'll know what to expect and you're likely to enjoy these as much as the previous stories.

This omnibus is books 4, 5 and 6 of the Sookie Stackhouse novels. I purchased the first three individually on Kindle before purchasing this omnibus of books 4-6. It's much better value than purchasing books 4-6 individually, as long as you don't mind that this will appear on your Kindle as one big book rather than three smaller seperate novels. Of course, however, the have made it obvious where each book ends and the next begins, just as they do with printed omnibuses.

However convenient and good value this ombibus version of books 4-6 is, I do have to mention the amount of errors in the book. All three stories are full of typos. I'm not talking about just the odd letter missing - they're huge errors, making it almost unreadable at points. For example, there's sentences that feature no spaces between words, meaning huge paragraphs where the reader has to work out what words are there, or words are cut off half way through and continue on the next line. These errors make it particularly difficult when the characters are speaking as the reader is unaware what is being spoken and where the speaking part ends.

If you stop reading and think about what the errors are supposed to say, it's not too difficult to work out how the text is supposed to read, but it does stop the flow and ruin the enjoyment a little. I find it hard to believe that this version was ever made available for purchase in this condition and can't understand why nothing has been done to correct it.

Overall, it's fantastic value and if you don't mind breaking your concentration to work out the errors, it's a great way of reading these three Sookie stories. The stories themselves are fantastic and dispite the 'typos' I enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular Sookie, 2 Dec 2010
By 
J. Charlton "J C" (Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having just finished reading the Twilight series of books, I was looking for a similar vampire tale. I enjoy the True Blood series on TV so I thought I'd try these books and I'm very pleased I did.
Although the T.V series follows the tale of Sookie loosely, the books are far better in every way. The main characters are well drawn and believable, particularly Sookie and the story lines are exciting. There is quite a bit of humour, some romance, too which balances the blood curdling moments and I had trouble putting the book down.
I will read all the series and then I suppose I shall have to try another author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great stories - v badly edited kindle version, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
It would have been a 5 star review but the editing or lack thereof in this kindle version of omnibus is dreadful. My money has been taken and a full and complete book has NOT been provided.

I'm enjoying the stories just as much but be warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read - badly proofed, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
I really like the Skokie Stackhouse books - they run close to the TV series True Blood but with differing story lines.
My main issue with these books (on the kindle at least) is that they do not appear to have been proof read before going on sale. The books all have bad spelling, punctuation & grammar throughout - often multiple words are strung together without spaces or new paragraphs are started mid sentence.
If you can get passed this the books are enjoyable & easy reads - if you liked the TV show you'll enjoy the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book but hard to read, 9 May 2012
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
i have all these books in paperback but wanted them on my kindle too. the story and characters are as brilliant as always. the problem is the mistakes i am not fussy but speech marks are placed incorrectly there are whole lines sometimes 2 without spaces i paid for these books for the story but the terrible editing makes it almost unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my goodness, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No spoilers. The book is so so good, loads of unexpected but still feasible plot twists. Sookie's constant falling for fifty million guys starts to get a bit eh after a while but I could not put this book down, bought the next one and it was just as good. If you loved the first book, don't hesitate to buy this. (And the next one and the next one and the next one until they take over your life)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True blood omnibus 2, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read. Well written and with lots of humour which is always good. Skookie Stackhouse has an exciting , never dull life. I can't wait to read the next omnibus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. R. Rottner (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
Completely draw in from the first couple of pages, couldn't put it down now on the 6th book already. Very easy reading but you will become addicted having to know what going to happen in the next book as soon as you have finished. It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vampires Rule, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse) (Kindle Edition)
A Must read for all True Blood fans, it will make you want to read it again and again and not want to put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Blood Omnibus 2 (Sookie Stackhouse)
£9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews