Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick impression with a warning! No 3D?
Going through the book now and it is well written and easily understood. The fact that it's in full colour is a bonus. It seems to cover almost everyhing quite nicely with one very annoying exception: 3D.

There is *nothing* about the new 3D/Repousse functionality in the book, which is what I wanted most from it. The perils of not buying off-the-shelf, I...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by Eoin Armstrong

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like a manual
If you are looking for a reference book to keep by you while using PS, look elsewhere. This simply does not do the job. Add to that a profoundly irritating writing style, and mediocre index, and you've got a complete waste of time and money. Real shame, because a decent manual for PS would be useful.

If you're a photographer, look at Martin Evening's book...
Published on 21 Nov 2010 by Mr. G. Cusick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick impression with a warning! No 3D?, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Eoin Armstrong (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Going through the book now and it is well written and easily understood. The fact that it's in full colour is a bonus. It seems to cover almost everyhing quite nicely with one very annoying exception: 3D.

There is *nothing* about the new 3D/Repousse functionality in the book, which is what I wanted most from it. The perils of not buying off-the-shelf, I guess. The online downloadable section refers to a 3D section "coming soon". Most of the publishers links just to to elsewhere on the 'net, though.

Maddeningly, the author describes CS5 Extended as something which "offers more features primarily designed for folks who work in fields like architecture and medical science." And thus is how it's dealt - no further mention of any 3D. Gah! Perhaps I should have ordered the Photoshop CS5 Bible instead :(

Gave it 4 stars, because it genuinely covers quite a lot in a lovely style and engaging format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST PHOTOSHOP BOOK ON THE MARKET, 27 Sep 2010
By 
hilda wood (alcester, warks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without a doubt the easiest book to learn Photoshop from, and I have bought many over the years. Reading this is akin to having a friend at your side showing you whats what in the simplest terms. If you want to learn Photoshop, start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really simple to use!, 28 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After graduating from university last year with a degree in computer engineering, I still felt like I didn't know enough to go and get a job so decdided to buyu some books and keep my skills up to date. I bought this one and it really is excellent, it is very well written and so easy to follow. It gives screenshots and there are tutorials to work through by downloading the data from the Missing Manuals website. I'd recommend this series of books to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does just what it says on the cover, 19 Jan 2011
By 
A. J. Parsons "tonesshots.com" (Cheltenham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really great book. It is indeed just what we used to get when we bought a sophisticated product like CS5, this should be in the box. It is on my desk all the time as it is so helpful to getting quick answers to procedures etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well structured and easy to read. I like it!, 12 Oct 2010
Just finished reading the first parts of the book and I, who have no previous experience of the topic, find it well structured and easy to grasp. It is easy to recommend it for my peers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photoshop CS5: The Missing Manual, 22 Aug 2010
By 
Stewart MacGregor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A comprehensive guide which helps to unlock the secrets of photoshop. There is no CD with the book but all the software discussed in the book is available on-line. A very good buy for the beginner and the advanced user.Photoshop CS5: The Missing Manual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like a manual, 21 Nov 2010
By 
If you are looking for a reference book to keep by you while using PS, look elsewhere. This simply does not do the job. Add to that a profoundly irritating writing style, and mediocre index, and you've got a complete waste of time and money. Real shame, because a decent manual for PS would be useful.

If you're a photographer, look at Martin Evening's book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photoshop CS5: The Missing Manual
24.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews