Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and fun card/board game, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
Quick games, heightened by the randomness of passing your hand of cards to the next player make this game a replayable and fun strategy game. Main downside was the rulebook, which didn't always have the best explanations for some rules (most of the time it was fine though).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game even for casual gamers, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
I bought this a couple of months ago after my son brought a copy round that he'd borrowed from a friend. Since then we've played it a number of times with between two and five players (you can play with up to seven), and everybody has enjoyed it, even my girlfriend who likes relatively simple games and certainly isn't a hardcore boardgamer. The game mechanics are very clever and there are several different strategies that can be pursued, but their success or failure depends on many factors. There is good interaction between players, unlike some games where it can seem as though you're playing on your own until you come to tot up the points. All in all, a really great game for anyone who is at least moderately game-literate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Board Game - Every Game different, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
This is one of those games that keeps on giving. The first time you play there will appear to be too much going on but once you have played it you will begin to see all the different possibilities of differing strategies. Depending on which 'wonder' you have and what your neighbours have and then how the cards fall, a different game every time. It is not usually easy to see who is winning until everything is counted at the end. Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Board Game, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
This is a strategic board game, and quite difficult to explain for the first game. But once you've got over the hurdle of the first game and explaining all the rules (which are set out very well in the instruction guide) this is the best game ever! It never takes more than 30-40 minutes to play a game, so you don't get stuck in 4 hour games like you can do with Monopoly or Settlers of Catan, but it requires a similar level of strategic thinking and luck, so it remains just as fun to play. Will definitely be looking to get some of the expansion packs for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The game to have when you are a group of many players, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Peter Banck "MasterBofSweden" (Sweden, Helsingborg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
A very good and fast paced social game for up to 7 players. It is a must have if you have regularly more than 5 people and inexperienced players playing with you. It is easy to understand and recomended to play 3 games and then add the score for the 3 rounds to get a more "fair" judgement on who's the winner. Since the game is played easily during an hour or less, that IS an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
It's interesting, because unlike many games it's not strictly 'me' vs 'them', it's 'how can I do it best'. No luck, all strategy. I played with a group of people who like playing games, ranging from 3 players to 6. All in all, a big recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game, 12 Feb 2014
By 
David Oxley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
Looks complicated (so not for people who are easily scared) and can be quite difficult to explain to newcomers but actual gameplay is very straightforward and fun. It's easy to accidentally (or deliberately(!)) make illegal moves which can be impossible to unpick so games can be spoilt.

There are lots of variations to the game (7 cities, each with an A and B side) so lots of scope. Buy buy buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game - recommended, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
I received this game as a Christmas present and have played it a number of times since with a variety of different numbers of people. The first time we played it took longer to complete as you you would expect when you don't know the rules, but it was much quicker (about half the time) the second time round (which we played immediately after the first time!)
I find it a challenging (interesting - not hard) game that changes every time you play as you have a choice of 7 different cities to play (14 if you count the fact that you can choose whether to play the A or B side of each city) and because everyone else has different tactics to you and there's many different ways to gain victory points, anyone has a chance to win.
It's great to have a game that you can play with more than 4 people and i feel it works best with 4 or more players, although there is an 'advanced' 2 player option which my husband and i have tried a few times.
Once you have played a few times and know the basic rules, its fun to try out different strategies and see how effective they are.
My only slight issue with it is you need a large playing space if you are playing with more than 3 people as you have to lay out your cards as you play. The floor is ideal if you can get down to it!
If you like Settlers of Catan, you'll enjoy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Satchemo (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
Allowing for the fact that we had to watch you tube to work out how to play it (!) as the instructions weren't clear enough for us , this game is really very clever indeed and a firm family favourite and is simply fabulous to play. Definitely a 5 star game. No surprise its won so many accolades. 100% recommended with no reservations. Takes approx 30-40 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Wonders Board Game (Toy)
Fun game. Very easy to learn. Ideal for a mixed age group. It won best game and deservedly so in my opinion. Played every few weeks and up to 7 players which is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

7 Wonders Board Game
7 Wonders Board Game by Repos Production
£30.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews