Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put simply...fantastic timeless music!
After seeing Neil Sedaka twice in his recent UK tour and buying this CD I understand why Neil Sedaka is a living legend of music.

This music is simple, yet original. Every track can be listened to as background music, played to entertain, sung along to.

This CD is good because it contains not only all of the old classics that Neil is most famous for,...
Published on 1 Jun 2006 by Gertrude Perkins

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All the 60s hits are original - the later hits are re-recordings.
This disc contains all of Neil's early original RCA hit recordings from the early 1960s (and these are VERY good transcriptions of those hits) but then we get onto his 70s hits and suddenly we're not hearing "All the Hits" any more, we're hearing Neil re-doing those hits - and not doing them as well as the originals.

I have no problem with people re-recording...
Published 17 months ago by AlanMusicMan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put simply...fantastic timeless music!, 1 Jun 2006
After seeing Neil Sedaka twice in his recent UK tour and buying this CD I understand why Neil Sedaka is a living legend of music.

This music is simple, yet original. Every track can be listened to as background music, played to entertain, sung along to.

This CD is good because it contains not only all of the old classics that Neil is most famous for, such as Calendar Girl and Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen, but new tracks, some of which have never been released before, all just as excellent as the oldies.

Neils voice is pitch perfect, just as in the 50's and 60's, pure and warming. All I can say is that if you are not a Neil Sedaka fan, buy this CD, and you soon will be.

As a musician myself, Neil is my idol and my inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contains re-recodings, 19 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Contains re-recordings of some of the earlier material which might disappoint some buyers, this review is not ment to take away any of the genius that is Neil Sedaka
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of all the hits, 10 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. B. Sweet (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For Sedaka fans, this album is a must. Double CD featuring all the 'oldies' as well as later classics such as"Laughter in the Rain" etc and the superb track "Going Nowhere" which is one of the reasons why I had to have this album. If you're a Sedaka fan, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The less played are the king of spades., 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love him this double album is great, full of niceities & spice, not the usual orchestrated *****, go on buy it listen & learn, dont be duped by media lies. aliboy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Sedaka, 25 Oct 2011
By 
G. Robinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic double CD with all his hits. He just gets better and better and his opening track "You" on the first CD brings tears to my eyes whenever I hear it. A must for all Sedaka fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 5 Nov 2010
This is a fantastic CD. It has brought back so many memories from way back. I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great music great artist good sing along music good background music a true showman well worth the money a great present to buy the wjfe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Neil Sedaka, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read the feedback on this CD, some of it too purist for me - all I wanted was an overall, good Neil Sedaka CD with all his familiar songs on it and is exactly what I got in this compilation. On recent tv and radio media, Neil sounds as good as he ever did although, at one point a few years back, he seemed to go 'off the boil' tune-wise with a thought that perhaps he should retire but, no, listening to him on 'Friday Night is Music Night' on the 21st Feb (2014) he's back on form, totally tuneful, as fresh as when he was young. If you like Neil Sedaka, which is assumed you do if you're considering buying, this CD encapsulates everything 'popular' you'd want to hear, is a great memory reviver and sing-along delight. Pleased with its prompt arrival, well-wrapped, so would recommend and use this company again without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All the 60s hits are original - the later hits are re-recordings., 28 July 2013
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This disc contains all of Neil's early original RCA hit recordings from the early 1960s (and these are VERY good transcriptions of those hits) but then we get onto his 70s hits and suddenly we're not hearing "All the Hits" any more, we're hearing Neil re-doing those hits - and not doing them as well as the originals.

I have no problem with people re-recording their hits, but that fact should be right upfront there on the artwork. When it's not there is always the suspicion that the intention is to deceive unwary buyers- and so it is with this release. To most people outside the music industry there IS a difference between the original hit recording and something done later on; it's a shabby trick, one that they play because they know if it DID say "Neil's re-recordings of his 70s hits" upfront on the artwork the CD would sell far fewer copies.

Anyway, I'm off to look for the original 70s hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, but one dodgy track!, 6 April 2013
As a Neil Sedaka fan, I enjoyed this CD a lot, however... the 'live' version of Solitaire suffers from so much distortion in the second half of the song that it's practically unlistenable. It's quite surprising that it was ever allowed to be issued in this condition. Please note that the 30 second clip you can listen to on Amazon is from the first half of the song which is fine!!

One dodgy track out of 43 isn't a bad ratio though, just remember to press the 'skip' button when you get to Solitaire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews