Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good for the price
I bought three of these units to replace some old jessops units that were starting to play up. They work very well, the built in photocell trigger is very handy and I have used them quite intensively in my studio for five hours without them getting hot or misbehaving. The modelling bulbs blow really easily - don't move the units around while the modelling lights are on...
Published on 21 Feb. 2013 by H. J. Maryon-davis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The company with which I was dealing was excellent at sorting out the return of the faulty flash ...
A bit of a mixed review of this item.
I bought two of these flash units, they arrived promptly and fairly well packaged. When unpacked, one of the units was found to be faulty - the plastic front of the unit had become detached from the main aluminium body section. The front is fastened by three screws which are recessed in deep wells, the bases of these wells had...
Published 7 months ago by Dee Hannaway


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good for the price, 21 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Studio Light Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
I bought three of these units to replace some old jessops units that were starting to play up. They work very well, the built in photocell trigger is very handy and I have used them quite intensively in my studio for five hours without them getting hot or misbehaving. The modelling bulbs blow really easily - don't move the units around while the modelling lights are on. The weakest part is the tilting bracket that connects the head to a lightstand - is is not strong so don't put a big softbox on the front, the plastic bracket will probably break under the weight. The continuous variable power is not very useful because the modelling light remains full on even if you have turned the flash power right down. If you need to dim one of the lights in a setup, you need to take lots of test shots to judge the effect. Having said all that these units a great value and if you dont abuse them they will get the job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 10 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Studio Light Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Bought these lights a while back I've now got 5 of them amazing for the price although you can tell they arent made of super high quality plastic. The reason for not giving 5 stars is the modeling lamps are incredibly delicate and blow very easily out of the 5 lights 3 of the lamps have blown. But for the price I cant complain. All round brilliant product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works really well. There seem to be a number ..., 8 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Studio Light Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Works really well. There seem to be a number of these 180W lights out there obtainable from various suppliers with different names stamped on them - Neewer C-180, 180W, 180 IP33 RoHS, etc, all at similar prices on the Amazon site. Can be used as a master with receiver or sync cable fitted or alternatively as a slave triggered by other flashes.

Could be used as a main light in a small studio. I use mine as a kicker light or as a hairlight with a Bowens snoot using a Bowens adaptor, both of which are available from Amazon. As reported by others the modelling bulbs are rather fragile. Hence 4 stars rather than 5.

However, I obtained a pack of six replacement 75W 220V halogen modelling bulbs for £3.75 from Sourcingmap through Amazon and a pack of ten 5A 20mm fuses from Maplins for £2.09
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value!, 11 July 2014
Really easy to use and remarkable value for money! Works great with my wireless trigger (by plugging the included sync cord into the wireless receiver) Gives a good amount of light for my small home studio, so is ideal for my needs. Will definitely be ordering another one or two of these soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great strobe light at an unbelievable price, 26 July 2014
By 
S. M. Brides - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great strobe light at an unbelievable price. Bought this as an addition to my three light kit. Cheaper than buying a spare bulb. Great for portrait work. You can also get softboxes snoots or umbrellas to enhance the versatility of these lamps...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, but not professional, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Studio Light Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Although this item is not professional, as the description alludes to, it does work very well. I woul encourage anyone who needs to try out strobe lighting to buy one. This light works great, I have been very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The company with which I was dealing was excellent at sorting out the return of the faulty flash ..., 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit of a mixed review of this item.
I bought two of these flash units, they arrived promptly and fairly well packaged. When unpacked, one of the units was found to be faulty - the plastic front of the unit had become detached from the main aluminium body section. The front is fastened by three screws which are recessed in deep wells, the bases of these wells had cracked leaving only the screws and plastic pieces securely fixed to the aluminium housing.
The company with which I was dealing was excellent at sorting out the return of the faulty flash unit and quickly posted out a replacement. Unfortunately, this replacement unit also had the same fault as the first.
Once again, the company quickly got this second return sorted out and succeeded in getting another replacement to me - this one seems to work.
So, as others have stated - the units are not great but they are very good value for money and that will factor greatly in some peoples' assessment of their suitability or otherwise. I got two of them to add more light to an all-white backdrop and I think they'll do fine.
I'd like to note that the company, who sell them but don't make them, did an excellent job in their part of the distribution chain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy them!, 15 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Studio Light Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
Just buy them - they work really well and I have had shots published using these lights.

The modelling lamps are fragile though so do handle with care at all times.

They don't have fixings for barn door attachments etc BUT they do have umbrella mounts.

Finally - buy a remote receiver for each - they do trigger with the optics in the back BUT that will limit you lighting options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Item, 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Neewer® 180W Studio Light Strobe/Flash Light for Studio, Location and Portrait Photography (Electronics)
I have used this strobe many times with my studio lighting kit and it works just great - goes off everytime with my Interfit EX-150 lights. As others have said it is a little flimsy but for the money it works great for an added light. The only problem I have now is that the bulb has blown and I am unsure where to get a replacement?? any suggestions??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V good value, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I received my second unit today. The first one had to go back to Sweansea because the flash output dial did nothing. The flash fired but all at one strength. This was worrying because the flash had a quality control sticker on it. Anyway, I got my replacement today and touch wood it works well. Obviously I do not know how it will last long term but initial impressions are very good. Don't be put off by the blurb saying that its typical use is as a background light; it is perfectly ok as a portrait light. In fact with one of these and perhaps a speedlite flashgun (in slave mode) and a couple of reflectors you could be all set up.

If your unit works well I would strongly advise buying a 20x27" Universal mount softbox for some £12.99 from China from ebay. These are so and sos to erect but are very good value and work well.Even have a red go faster stripe!:) More efficient than an umbrella but of course a humble umbrella will work too.An umbrella is poor for product photography though.

These units are rebadged flashes made by Godox in China. IMO China will take over all aspects of the flash and flashgun industry within very few years. Back to the unit, it is small and light and very very much less heavy than a Bowens Gemini for example. In fact I would be loathe to suspend a Gemini on even the strongest boom arm over a model but this unit would be much safer weight wise.

The only small criticism I have is that it is not possible to switch off the beep; yes to the modelling bulb, but not the beep.

To sum up. I do not know how long these units will last. As is they are very very good value for money and I may well buy another,(or two)but I will see how this one shapes up first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews