Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This book has been really useful to me. It cover so much information about postfix and it's all very well written.
I bought the book to learn postfix so I've tried all the different sorts of configurations discussed in the book. Only on the very rare occaision have I needed to find out more information to make things work correctly.
Its also really great how...
Published on 11 Mar. 2005 by K. Whitbread

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, but needs an update.
The usual O'Reilly high standard of technical writing - concise, well-explained, with clear diagrams and the right mix of overviews, technical information and reference.

Really good explanation of Postfix's architecture, and how to develop for Postfix.

However, in 2014, it's in dire need of a revision. Postfix has progressed a lot since this book was...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. R. Redpath


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Mar. 2005
This book has been really useful to me. It cover so much information about postfix and it's all very well written.
I bought the book to learn postfix so I've tried all the different sorts of configurations discussed in the book. Only on the very rare occaision have I needed to find out more information to make things work correctly.
Its also really great how almost all O'Reilly books (including this one) have those 'lay flat' bindings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goddie.., 2 May 2004
A brand new postfix book, now that dont happen every day.
This one is uptoday and alot better than Blum`s Postfix book (sams). Its writen in the usual O'Reilly's style.
Lets face it, there is no realy good postfix howto on the internet, and postfix can be a pain if your geting advanced.
This book covers most part of postfix and 3rd party software as Ldap etc...
If your new to email administration, you will save yourself alot of time with this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to work from and understand, 17 April 2006
By 
DJI (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
I did not get a lay flat bound book which was a disappointment, that aside the book will lead you through Postfix from beginning to end, it touches on MySQL but misses postfixadmin which would have been a good addition to the MySQL section.

FreeBSD is covered throughout but as usual it is an afterthought and not handled fully, that's not a problem as we BSD people are used to that though ;)

Well worth buying, missed a star due to the points I have raised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Aug. 2007
By 
Calacorm (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
For those of us who are Windows administrators finding a decent literature about a piece of software that exists on our networks is usually the first step to doing something useful with it.

Dent does a great job in breaking us in gently, but an unerstanding of the whole SMTP concept cannot be gained with this book alone and I dare say if thats what you need then a different book could be better. If you have experience of the nuts and bolts of Exchange you'll be grand.

Great book, and definatly a good start to Postfix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Postfix the definitive guide, 16 Jan. 2008
By 
Mark Piekos (Wembley, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a really excellent book. It covers Postfix in eloquent, concise detail, starting with an introductory chapter on how email works. The fact that so much can be covered in such a small space is partly due to excellent writing and partly due to the superb design of Postfix itself. Postfix is a really good system and this is the 'must have' book to get you started and then sit on your desk for reference.

I also recommend 'The Book of Postfix' and 'Linux Email' to help put Postfix into a system context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Introduction to Mail Servers, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even if you decide not to use Postfix and opt for a different mail server this is an excellent introduction into mail servers and how email works as well as introducing all the concepts you would expect, protecting your mail server from hacking and avoiding vulnerabilities aswell as Spam email. This book is well written and easy to read for such a complicated subject, although some knowledge of Unix operating systems is required to understand some of the concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, but needs an update., 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Redpath (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The usual O'Reilly high standard of technical writing - concise, well-explained, with clear diagrams and the right mix of overviews, technical information and reference.

Really good explanation of Postfix's architecture, and how to develop for Postfix.

However, in 2014, it's in dire need of a revision. Postfix has progressed a lot since this book was written and the reference is lacking some fairly important areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' for anyone using Postfix for anything more than simple use., 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It could be argued that you don't 'need' this book, all the information is available elsewhere - but this gathers it all together in one place, together with some hints and tips. It answers those 'why does it do this' questions that anyone who has used Postfix invariably asks.

Postfix is a great mail transfer agent - this book is the perfect companion to get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff!, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An oldie but a goodie. The first few chapters are a basic boot-strap of how email should work (not the MS butchered way) and then it dives into Postfix and some extras (e.g. Courier). Well worth it for the budding SysAdmin or anyone who wants to run their own email server.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine example of a really good guide, 31 May 2008
By 
Alex (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Recommended to anyone who wants to know more about Postfix, or internet mail in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Postfix: The Definitive Guide
£20.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews