Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars9
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2002
This book is an excellent place to start if you know little or nothing about MS Active Directory. Another review says the scripting section is quite large, which is true.
I found most of chapters invaluable, as it covers much of the stuff Microsoft assumes you already know, such as how to design your DNS and AD structure, how to Migrate/Integrate from/with Windows NT. Also touches on Exchange2000.
This is not really a reference book, more a chapter-by-chapter read. This is not a critisism as I retained much of the information the book contains.
Buy this book if you know little or nothing about MS Active Directory, and wish to know how to go about designing your AD network and how it will affect your existing environment. Also, if you are a late starter to AD and Windows 2000 Server this book is for you.
The only reason I gave it four stars was because once it had served it's purpose, I moved on and would probably not read it again. Do what I did , and pass it on.
Excellent book.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2003
Considering it's not the largest IT book on my shelf, "Active Directory" 2nd Edition certainly packs a lot in.
It covers the essentials clearly and concisely, from the basic theory of what AD is to more practical details such as an excellent detailed description of all the settings available in a group policy object.
It then moves on to designing Active Directory, including a few invaluable practical examples and more up-to-date info such as how to upgrade to 2003 Server and where Active Directory fits into Microsoft's overall vision for Directory Services.
Finally there is quite a large section that gets into the nitty-gritty of writing scripts for AD using ADSI, ADO or WMI and how to extend the existing snap-ins.
Overall, I have to say this is the best book I have read on Active Directory (and I've read quite a few!) and is a considerable improvement over the first edition, mostly because it obviously draws heavily on the experiences the authors have gained by actually administering an Active Directory for a few years.
Throughout the book the authors highlight what's new in Windows Server 2003 regarding Active Directory, and the book is worth the money for this alone.
If you only buy one Active Directory book, buy this one.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2005
As a departmental administrator in a global multinational system with many servers, I found this book useful to get you off the ground and keep going. The concept of Windows 2000 Active directory is not intuitive and requires the use of this book or similar material to understand and maintain the system properly. IBM can supply sufficient training and training material; there comes a time when you need to see the information from a different perspective. This different perspective is given in this book.
If windows 2000 Active Directory is totally new to you or if you are used to NT, Novell, or Unix systems then you may want to read "Active Directory for Dummies" ISBN: 0764506595 first for the over all changes that use the same vocabulary to mean completely different concepts.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
a heavy going book but should allow me to be able to get to grips with active directory, well i hope
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2000
The book in split into 3 Sections, 1 & 2 are about "Basics" and "Designing" and are about 330 pages between them. The last section on "Scripting" is 250 pages, so the main focus of this book is on that. One of the best ways to find a good book, is to look at the index (I did this after I bought this book) under "I". This section has 2 pages of references to "IADs". Compare that to "DDNS", "DNS" and "LDAP". Tools to work with Windows 2000 are really important e.g. "RepAdmin", "ReplMon" "DSAStat", "GPOTool" and "GPResult". It does mention "NETDOM" and MOVETREE" but not enough information on the subject of Tools in general. To back this up look at page 61 and see what is said about "RepAdmin" and "ReplMon". I did get into this book but I wanted more before the scripting section. Don't get me wrong Scripting will be big in Windows 2000 but it doesn't warrant the coverage in this book compared to the other sections. Maybe people into VB and programming in general might disagree with me.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2000
This book covers many areas of the Active Directory, which others fail to mention, or get completely wrong in the explanation. As a consultant & trainer of Windows 2000 this book is an invaluable technical reference.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2000
i`ll keep it short..... i am a system`s engineer . i had to migrate 500 users to w2k and build new domain structure...i didn`t have a clue...i bought and read this book ....experimented with the rest of w2k.i.e DFS DDNS and BINGO ....JOB DONE.....NEVER have i read such a usefull book on anything let alone the AD before....AD is basically W2k if you get that part wrong then the rest won`t matter if its right
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2009
I thought this was a book about animals! No seriously, it's a good guide to AD and a must if you want to sit down and read instead of staring at a screen going through the electronic version. Great for reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2003
I was recommended this book and can only guess at what the person who recommended it was thinking. Make no mistake, this book is poor. Some parts are misleading, there are a number of omissions (for example, there's a long discussion of changing domain/forest modes, but no discussion of what the modes are and what each provides) and some parts are just plain incorrect. Now, how do I get my money back?
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)