Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars11
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2010
Having spent the past year learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript/jQuery, PHP and MySQL, when I came up with an idea for a smartphone app I was a bit daunted by the idea of learning not one, but at least three different programming languages in order to make my app work on the major smartphone platforms.

However, this book teaches you how to create apps using web scripting languages and then compile them into Object C using PhoneGap so that you can package your apps for sale in iTunes. PhoneGap offers this same functionality for several other platforms, too. The book is brief and if you have any experience coding dynamic websites, you will get through the examples in no time. The real areas this book stands out are 1) showing you how to add distinctive iPhone styling and gloss to your apps and 2) guiding you through the less-than-intuitive process of compiling them with PhoneGap.

All in all, it's a very clearly written book and all you need to create native C apps without knowing a single line of C.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
the book is brilliant for getting you started to build your 1st native app in no time... read the book within a day and by next day, had my first native app working :-) had already explored phonegap online but lost interest due to lack of any straight forward & easy documentation on pre-requisite & step-by-step "how-to". this book gave just the right kick start in a very short span without wrecking my brain. 1 star less as i was really hoping that they had used jquerymobile instead of jqtouch, though it does not makes much of a difference. have already got another book especially for jquerymobile.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
... but, nonetheless, an early insight into how one can produce reasonably comprehensive iOS Apps without Objective-C.

It's early days, still, for this approach to App development - so the solution is not as elegant as a pure Objective-C approach.

However, for those interested in what is likely a future direction for iOS App development, and willing to run a few experiments of their own in the interim, it's a very useful text.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
A very useful guide on how to combine HTML 5.0 with CSS and Javascript to build native-looking iPhone web applications, as an alternative to Objective C - Cocoa. Clarifies the pros and cons of the approach and illustrates how to make use of iPhone web browser's capabilities (e.g. accessing geo-location data). Good prior knowledge of HTML 5.0 and Javascript makes this book a quick read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
This book is brilliant for anyone starting to write apps with HTML, CSS and javascript. Written in a clear and concise manner with easy to follow examples. I managed to create my apps in next to no time. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
This book is very Badly out of date. Otherwise would be great. The chapters are laid out well, informative, but the parts I needed were COMPLETELY wrong and obsolete.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
I have read this book from chapter 1 to 6 so far (7 in total), and have tested most of the code without any problems yet. This book is the first I have read on producing an iphone app, and it has probably saved me many many hours of messing about discovering kirks and work arounds. If you think you need a native app you may well change your mind after reading this book... highly recommended, worth every penny imo
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2010
As HTML5 applications become ever more present for web and mobile, this book provides great inspiration. The detailed CSS and markup samples ensure you achieve that all important iPhone friendly look. And coverage of Phonegap gives confidence that using HTML has the flexibility to produce App Store deployable results.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
quick easy guide to making websites work well on iphones. Especially good for making the websites look like native iphone apps.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Excellent read and very concise, Doesnt go to indepth into the sections but just enough to keep your interest and learn from. Throughly Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)