Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre, wacky oddity.
This comes from after the demise of the original line-up, and features just Randy California plus Ed Cassidy. (John Locke is also credited as helping out on keyboards.) A really oddball release, but this is a Spirit album which you ignore at your peril. Originally released in 1981 on Rhino (US) and Beggars Banquet (GB), it represents a mish-mash of the rejected 1973...
Published on 26 Jan 2008 by P. B. Koeb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Badge Holders Only
Ok First up be careful. This is probably for fans only. To be honest on first play I wasn't sure I was enough of a fan to overlook the sonic issues with this collection....Hi Fi it aint!! On repeated plays however I have come to appreciate the wackiness of the concept and the breadth of material here. The "live" and in studio jams won't take up too much of...
Published 1 month ago by JESB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre, wacky oddity., 26 Jan 2008
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Potatoland (Audio CD)
This comes from after the demise of the original line-up, and features just Randy California plus Ed Cassidy. (John Locke is also credited as helping out on keyboards.) A really oddball release, but this is a Spirit album which you ignore at your peril. Originally released in 1981 on Rhino (US) and Beggars Banquet (GB), it represents a mish-mash of the rejected 1973 "Potatoland" recordings plus a few late seventies songs. They are the usual kind of eclectic mix for which Spirit were known - bluesy rock, an excellent ballad ("Open Up Your Heart") and the weirdness of "Potatoland Theme".

The second side of the original album is an out-of-left-field rock opera, of sorts. It's quite ridiculously goofy. Stupid storyline and utterly nutty dialogue between Randy/"Kaptain Kopter" and Ed/"Commander Cassidy". Mixed into that "mess" are the daft "Donut House", dynamite "Turn To The Right", with a fabulous slide guitar solo, and the rather pretty, all-too-brief "My Friend". This is an album which simply should not work, but somehow.....somehow.....it does. Give it a try and expand your mind, "man".

Update. (05/03/12) This should be compared and contrasted with the "Original Potatoland" release. I'll be purchasing my copy very shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vegetable Delight, 27 Dec 2003
By 
Ianham "Ianham" (Ross-shire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Potatoland (Audio CD)
A flawed masterpiece of an album, that only laterly saw the light of day. Only initially released in Britain, it earned the earned Spirit it's only Top 40 placing. The album is essential to those of you who dream of a Byrds versus Big Star fight off with a dash of plain weird on the side. The lead of track "We've got a lot to learn" is harmony heaven and amply demonstrates how underappreciated the Spirit experience is. Be prepared for psychedelic silliness but luxuriate in poptastic tunes esp. "My Friend". Half genius/half madness - fine by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mashed Potatoes?, 20 Jan 2004
This review is from: Potatoland (Audio CD)
One of those quirky albums that has definitely stood the test of time. Particular faves of mine are "Turn to Your Right" and "Fish Fry Road" - absolute Spirit classics! It is meant to be a bit of fun, but at the same time holds some fantastic "pop" tunes whilst maintaining that slightly mystical quality that Spirit mastered.
RIP Randy California.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Badge Holders Only, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato Land (Audio CD)
Ok First up be careful. This is probably for fans only. To be honest on first play I wasn't sure I was enough of a fan to overlook the sonic issues with this collection....Hi Fi it aint!! On repeated plays however I have come to appreciate the wackiness of the concept and the breadth of material here. The "live" and in studio jams won't take up too much of your time but the Potato Land concept and most of the other material here is a hoot. Most of the things you probably love about Spirit (if you're considering this) are all present and correct but this is definately not for the "merely interested or uncommitted". For you folks I suggest the 12 dreams of Doctor S or maybe some of the Sprit albums from the 70s, then call back to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Potatoland - CD (U,S, version). by Spirit, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato Land (Audio CD)
I think anyone who has enjoyed Spirit in the 70`s or 80`s will find this a very good listen. An excellent themed album that is very like to the English (U,K,) release. It also has the added benifit of the bonus tracks, all great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Potato Land !, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato Land (Audio CD)
A excellent re-issue of this brilliant album with bonus tracks and a full CD of bonus material , well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars takes me back to my teens, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Potato Land (Audio CD)
great piesce of ork to what was a quite revolutionary and forward thinking album.The songs are great and again a good mixture of styles. You will not her the same thing throughout thus helping to stimulate your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Potato Land
Potato Land by Spirit (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews