Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure for royalty
Discovered this delightful drink at a Whisky fair. After tasting some of the world's best whisky's, this liqueur was a fresh surprise, to clean the palette, and tingle the taste-buds. It's a unique drink, with a fairytale history, and can be enjoyed on it's own, or with a dab of whisky. For the price, it's a steal! Just be very careful, this velvet smooth refreshment...
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by connoisseur

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not As Gingery As You'd Expect
I adore ginger! This seemed ideal for Christmas - a ginger liqueur. Sadly, the flavour is too subtle for my liking and when used as a mix with whisky is simply drowned out. Best for those who like a little taste of ginger, but no good for ginger diehards.
Published 1 month ago by A. Knox


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure for royalty, 5 Dec 2011
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
Discovered this delightful drink at a Whisky fair. After tasting some of the world's best whisky's, this liqueur was a fresh surprise, to clean the palette, and tingle the taste-buds. It's a unique drink, with a fairytale history, and can be enjoyed on it's own, or with a dab of whisky. For the price, it's a steal! Just be very careful, this velvet smooth refreshment packs a 41% punch! Don't risk driving, after a few sips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
Took a real gamble on this as I was in the mood to try something different, the other reviews were promising and there is a little history to this drink which intrigued me.

Well this is lovely, warm, and quite sweet - but not overly so for a liqueur. The ginger is powerful and tickles your throat and the lovely initial flavour is replaced after a few seconds with a warm glow that lingers comfortingly in your throat.

Already persuaded relatives to buy this after tasting my bottle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just superb., 27 Dec 2013
By 
DB (Paisley, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
This is currently my favourite drink.

Excellent on ice as a winter warmer. Fair gives you a wee glow!

The label also has directions for various cocktails or drinks with KG in it.

By far my favourite way is a tall glass with angostura bitters shaken out, ice in, double KG in it, topped up with ginger ale and a slice of lime. I could just sit and drink that all night. Well, I have and suddenly realised the alcohol creeps up and before I know it I have balance and coordination issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings Ginger, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Susan Rushmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
Now this really is a favourite of mine. Not a lot to say about it, I found out about it last year and all I can say is it didn't last long and I am not a drinker but I do like a tipple every now and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
Bought as a present, it was delicious! I've now bought this twice! A sweet heart warming liquor. I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful liqueur!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
A wonderful liqueur. A friend told us about it, we tried it and loved it. We shall certainly be buying some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing..., 16 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. S. W. Wilson (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
This Dutch-made liqueur is stronger, thinner and sharper than I expected.

Of good flavour, my instinct is that it would best be deployed as a cocktail component.

It is less gluggable as a aperitif / digestif because it is not unctuously glutinous like Drambuie. It is however just as warming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 25 Oct 2013
By 
S. Hankin (Winchester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
This is the second brother I have brought this for as a gift because the first brother raved about how nice it was. Every person that has taken a sip has loved it.
It came packaged so well that you don't need to hunt the shops looking for it or carrying it home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful drink., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
Comes out on special occasions.Beautiful drink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warming, silky smooth and a bit exotic, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl (Grocery)
Just bought our 3rd bottle of the KG. It comes extremely well presented/labelled and exudes class. I would have no hesitation in buying this as a present for a friend.

How does it taste? For an alcohol by volume strength of 41% the KG is silky smooth, with a delayed gentle hit of ginger. The lemon is rather unforthcoming, but this in no way diminishes the overall big warming mouth feel and the way it clings as it goes down. Have tried it in cocktails (there is a helpful guide to mixing it with other drinks attached to the bottle) and it can enhance many combinations. Buy it, you'll almost certainly like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King's Ginger Liqueurs 50 cl
23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews