Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent restored Robin of Sherwood
Robin of Sherwood is an imaginative version of the famous 12th Century legend Robin Hood. Here Robin is "Robin of Loxley". His adventures begin when his home at "Loxley Mill" is destroyed by Norman soldiers. Robin wants revenge and sets about getting it.
This series was produced in the 1980s and it was created by Richard Carpenter who earlier had worked on the...
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by Miss M. Potter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture Quality
It's great to have this series on DVD, however I found the picture quality to be disappointing. I'm sure with the technology they have nowadays it could have been so much better than it was. It was fuzzy and I thought something must have been interfering with the television.

Also, although it's not a big deal, it was advertised on here as a region 2 disc, what...
Published 5 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent restored Robin of Sherwood, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD] (DVD)
Robin of Sherwood is an imaginative version of the famous 12th Century legend Robin Hood. Here Robin is "Robin of Loxley". His adventures begin when his home at "Loxley Mill" is destroyed by Norman soldiers. Robin wants revenge and sets about getting it.
This series was produced in the 1980s and it was created by Richard Carpenter who earlier had worked on the series Dick Turpin.
Robin of Sherwood is a fabulous series. There are some great original stories and ideas here. And the DVD set brings together all of the episodes from all of the series as well as some good special features.

Robin of Sherwood weaves the legend of Robin Hood together with pagan beliefs that people of the 12th Century would no doubt be more familiar with. Seeking revenge, Robin encounters mystical "Herne the hunter" a sort of spirit protector of nature and the oppressed Saxon folk. A shamanic figure who is believed to be a forest spirit representing the powers of light and goodness, inspiring and protecting the Hooded Man. Herne appears as a man with a Stag's head.
Here Herne appears to Robin as a man wearing a stag's head. He tells him that he has chosen him to be the peoples champion and to be the son of .Herne. He endows Robin with the sword Albion. Robin then becomes "The Hooded Man" also known as Robin in the Hood, and better known as simply Robin Hood.
Lady Marion, Maid Marion of Leaford (Judi Trott), Little John, (Clive Mantle) Will Scarlet, (Ray Winstone) and Friar Tuck, (Phil Rose) are all familiar characters that join Robin. Also in this version we get the wonderful character of "Nasir" (Mark Ryan). A Saracen assassin, who had been captured in Palestine by Baron de Belleme, and brought back to England to work as his henchman. He is freed when Robin kills the Baron and, having found respect for Robin during a crucial sword fight, decides to join the Merry Men. Throughout the series, he speaks very little.
This additional character seems to have influenced further adaptations of Robin Hood through film and Television.
The Sheriff of Nottingham is played brilliantly by Nicholas Grace and Guy of Gisbourne is excellently played by Robert Addie.This great series also featured many familiar stars in guest appearances.

Michael Praed, (Robin) left the series after two seasons. He went on to Broadway and the TV series Dynasty in America.
The third series brings in the storyline that Robin of Loxley is killed in an ambush but his revolutionary spirit is assumed by a new "Hooded Man" Robert of Huntingdon. (Jason Connery) Robert is a lad of noble blood who, like his predecessor has been inspired by Herne the Hunter. Robert rescues the "merry men" and becomes Robin in the Hood.

The music is hauntingly beautiful and comes from Clannad. The whole series has unique camera work and lighting with soft focus and atmosphere. The stories are interesting and adventurous.
It is clever the way mysticism is presented in a believable way. It is not magic as such. But there is a "physical" presentation of spiritual pagan belief that is full of atmosphere.

The whole series is as enjoyable today as it was back in the 1980s when it was first made. The DVD set is well presented with great picture quality and picture restoration. Also the sound is fabulous with its new digital stereo mix. I enjoyed watching the whole series more this time round than when it was originally on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true adaptation of the Robin Hood legend, 18 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of all the adaptations of Robin Hood that I've seen so far (some I haven't seen yet), the HTV-produced Robin of Sherwood from the 1980s is in my opinion the best of the lot. This adaptation is true to the Robin Hood legend with great storylines and the actors who played their characters were a true fit to them, compared to the actors in the BBC's adaptations with Jonas Armstrong which were a bit on the cheesy side.
Back to Robin of Sherwood, the first two series with Michael Praed as Robin of Loxley/Sherwood were great because it actually had the main character in the show, whereas in series 3 Jason Connery (son of Sir Sean Connery) was brought in to the show as Robert of Huntingdon who later became the second Robin Hood because Michael Praed left the show after two series. The third (and final) series was good enough to watch, although if I have to be accurate, I would say that it perhaps wasn't quite a patch on the first two. But still, I would highly recommend this series to anyone who is a fan of the Robin Hood legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Arrow, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD] (DVD)
One scene stayed with me over the years, Robin Hood, alone and surrounded by enemies, firing his last arrow skyward. His death was heartbreaking, but I remembered it.
To my mind this is the definitive version of all Robin Hood tales on film, entertaining though some of the others are. In the 1980's I was thrilled watching. Tender love story, mystical ancient forest, Clannad! I could root for mud-spattered, vulnerable - rather than merry - men and woman fighting a hopeless cause, fighting just because it was right to. (Would be nice to be able to say we live in a fairer society today, but do we?) Not all episodes were to my taste, the demonic element could at times verge on the OTT, but some episodes were totally compelling, such as The King's Fool - which sees the return of a king, a far cry from Tolkien's Aragorn and the traditional Richard saves the day!
It's great to be able to watch it all again on DVD and be thrilled again. And there are excellent extras. Refreshingly many of the locations used are real, such as the splendid tithe barn in Bradford on Avon in Wiltshire - now empty..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the BBC's version, 3 May 2010
By 
Spidernick (Fareham, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
If, like me, you were disappointed in the BBC's mess of a version of the Robin Hood myth (with its political correctness, modern in jokes, etc., etc.) then treat yourself to this set which shows you how it should be done.

Combining elements of the classic Robin Hood myth with pagan myths around Herne the Hunter, and even elements of Arthurian legend, this series created at atmosphere which was totally devoid in the BBC's recent version. Nikolas Grace was wonderful as the Sheriff of Nottingham and this programme launched/enhanced the careers of now established actors such as Ray Winstone and Clive Mantle. Michael Praed was a much better Robin than the rather wooden Jason Connery, but the wonderful stories meant Connery's contribution didn't detract from the whole.

There are also some great guest appearances, ranging from Rula Lenska to Lewis Collins. Phil Davis appeared regularly as Prince, then King John, also to great effect.

Clannad's haunting music serves to add to the atmosphere of the programme and their CD with the is worth buying in itself.

I've no idea what the extras on this are like, but whatever their quality this set is worth getting just for the stories themselves.

'Nothing is forgotten, nothing is ever forgotten'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles!, 4 May 2013
By 
weatherwitch (Lost in the woods of Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series, owned a few older format dvd copies I'd got second hand but when this reconfigured box set came out with 8 discs, I thought fantastic, I'll get it. It really is a fabulous show, I loved the whole programme when it first came out & now, nothing has ever compared to it. But, & this is a BIG but, it is the 21st century, the dvds have been done up, look & sound better, but why on earth are there no subtitles for those of us with hearing problems?? I have ancient Ealing comedy films on dvd that few now know yet they have subtitles. So why on earth doesn't the dvd of this BAFTA award winning, world renowned series have no subtitles? That is a serious mistake.
The series however is no mistake, it is fantastic, enthralling & the out-takes the best ever! But come on producers, it is the 21st century, there is NO excuse for dvds of such popular series to not have subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable, and recommended. But without English subtitles., 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD] (DVD)
A very influential and enjoyable adaptation, looks and feels still very fresh in spite of its age to boot. The cast chemistry is very good, and so are clothes and locations. Even some details ( some haircuts - Robin's hairstyle is so early 80's rockstar, for instance ;p - and some 'home-made looking' low budget SE ) in this case add to the charm of this production.
I'm a bit of a Robin Hood fangirl (the hooded man is one of my earliest fictional crushes to boot - the Disney animated classic version, then the Sean Connery have always been my favourites since childhood)and now Michael Praed's spin on the character is happily in my top 3. He really has the charisma and fey-like, wood man-like quality required for this role also according to the series' creators ;).
This repackage edition is compact and quite handy, and I quite like the cover compared to previous prints (the black background older prints): the greener, the better!
I can't say how well the pic quality transfer fares compared to other versions, but I find it pretty good - again, considering the film is relatively old - . Audio/volume fluctuates a bit though in some spots.
The only flaw I can find is the lack of subtitles. I'm pretty fluent but I'm not a native speaker... I'm still fine with the series and can get the whole dialogue 90% of the time here, but HOH and not proficient foreign viewers might find out differently. The day they put subtitles I'll happily buy more copies for my friends as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show- I would totally recommend it as some light viewing- it will bring back memories of hte 80's if nothing else!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're all waiting for this; the hungry, the poor and the dispossessed, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the the greatest and best interpretation of this important piece of English culture. It underlines the spiritual aspect that underpins the legend and other authentic traditional magical elements introduced by Richard Carpenter give this credibility and substance. Did you know that he also wrote Catweazle? I thought Michael Praed could have been a tougher Robin in places and Judy Trott's emotional range as Marion was stretched at times but what a great supporting cast. Nickolas Grace's glorious Sheriff of Nottingham stole the show. It all made Jason Connery look wooden when he came in as Robin and they brought in a wonderfully over the top Richard Obrien. Treat yourself to this. Act without thinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Of Sherwood, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD] (DVD)
One of my best purchases on Amazon- for any Robin of Sherwood fan a must!
Takes you straight back to the 80's where a quality series, such as this, continues to stand the test of time.
Would recommend purchasing with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent restored Robin of Sherwood, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Robin of Sherwood is an imaginative version of the famous 12th Century legend Robin Hood. Here Robin is "Robin of Loxley". His adventures begin when his home at "Loxley Mill" is destroyed by Norman soldiers. Robin wants revenge and sets about getting it.
This series was produced in the 1980s and it was created by Richard Carpenter who earlier had worked on the series Dick Turpin.
Robin of Sherwood is a fabulous series. There are some great original stories and ideas here. And the DVD set brings together all of the episodes from all of the series as well as some good special features.

Robin of Sherwood weaves the legend of Robin Hood together with pagan beliefs that people of the 12th Century would no doubt be more familiar with. Seeking revenge, Robin encounters mystical "Herne the hunter" a sort of spirit protector of nature and the oppressed Saxon folk. A shamanic figure who is believed to be a forest spirit representing the powers of light and goodness, inspiring and protecting the Hooded Man. Herne appears as a man with a Stag's head.
Here Herne appears to Robin as a man wearing a stag's head. He tells him that he has chosen him to be the peoples champion and to be the son of .Herne. He endows Robin with the sword Albion. Robin then becomes "The Hooded Man" also known as Robin in the Hood, and better known as simply Robin Hood.
Lady Marion, Maid Marion of Leaford (Judi Trott), Little John, (Clive Mantle) Will Scarlet, (Ray Winstone) and Friar Tuck, (Phil Rose) are all familiar characters that join Robin. Also in this version we get the wonderful character of "Nasir" (Mark Ryan). A Saracen assassin, who had been captured in Palestine by Baron de Belleme, and brought back to England to work as his henchman. He is freed when Robin kills the Baron and, having found respect for Robin during a crucial sword fight, decides to join the Merry Men. Throughout the series, he speaks very little.
This additional character seems to have influenced further adaptations of Robin Hood through film and Television.
The Sheriff of Nottingham is played brilliantly by Nicholas Grace and Guy of Gisbourne is excellently played by Robert Addie.This great series also featured many familiar stars in guest appearances.

Michael Praed, (Robin) left the series after two seasons. He went on to Broadway and the TV series Dynasty in America.
The third series brings in the storyline that Robin of Loxley is killed in an ambush but his revolutionary spirit is assumed by a new "Hooded Man" Robert of Huntingdon. (Jason Connery) Robert is a lad of noble blood who, like his predecessor has been inspired by Herne the Hunter. Robert rescues the "merry men" and becomes Robin in the Hood.

The music is hauntingly beautiful and comes from Clannad. The whole series has unique camera work and lighting with soft focus and atmosphere. The stories are interesting and adventurous.
It is clever the way mysticism is presented in a believable way. It is not magic as such. But there is a "physical" presentation of spiritual pagan belief that is full of atmosphere.

The whole series is as enjoyable today as it was back in the 1980s when it was first made. The DVD set is well presented with great picture quality and picture restoration. Also the sound is fabulous with its new digital stereo mix. I enjoyed watching the whole series more this time round than when it was originally on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin of Sherwood - The Complete Series (Reconfiguration) [DVD]
23.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews