Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
67
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2011
Challenges 1 9/10 - The best of them all. The longest and has the best challenges. My personal favourites are the brit awards limozine one and the convertible people carrier one. Theres nearly 3 hours of brilliant classic top gear material on this

Challenges 2 9/10 - Once again very good. On par with number 1 but just not as long, about 2 hours worth of brilliant challenges.

Challenges 3 8/10 - A bit of a cash in really. Only 1 hour of footage it would have been much better to have the material from this and the material from challenges 4 on the one DVD. Saying that there are some great ones on here the best being the truck one.

Challenges 4 7/10 - As I said a bit of a cash in but once again some great top gear fun so it doesn't disappoint on that level.

All in all I would recommend the box set to any top gear fan but £15-20 would be more of a realistic prize and one at which you'll be getting great value.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
I'm going to assume that if you're buying this: you're already a Top Gear fan. Or at least buying it for someone who is.
It has the challenges as listed plus a few extras. It also includes some extra scenes that were cut from the telly. But it also has some scenes missing. The bit when Jeremy rings the insurance company from inside the Veyron? That's missing for some reason. And remember when the Stuff took public transport across London and the boys tried to phone him? His ring tone has been changed from the Coronation Street theme to the Top Gear theme. Presumably a copyright issue.
These are minor niggles though. What really does irritate me is the way that the same splash screens from the airings on DAVE have been included. I see no reason for this at all.

Regardless though, it's definitely worth getting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Haven't watched all the challenges yet, but at least one, Bugatti Veyron vs A Plane, appears to be slightly cut, and my all time favorite in which Jezza, Hamster and Captain Slow build their own motorhomes is not included in this box set, but there is still plenty of classic Top Gear entertainment to be found in the set.

Box set contains the following challenges:

Bugatti Veyron vs A Plane
Crap '70s Supercars
Parkour vs Peugeot 207
Building Limos
Reliant Robin Space Shuttle
Porsche Cayenne Turbo S vs Red Devil
The Convertible People Carrier
Amphibious Cars: The First Attempt

Amphibious Cars: The Sequel
Bugatti Veyron vs Eurofighter
Race Across London
Motorhome Racing
The Greatest Driving Road
Fiat 500 vs Bmx
The 24 Hour Race

Cheap Alfas
British Leyland Challenge
Race Across Japan
Top Gear vs The Germans
The Lorrying Challenge
Richard's F1 Challenge
Fox Hunting
Bus Racing

Train Race
Electric Car
Ice Racing
Police Cars
Classic Rally
Fiesta
Commie Cars
Ken Block
Audi vs Skiers
Portofino Race
McLaren vs Veyron
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
This is the best way to see the challenges without Daves annoying adverts. Mind you, having seen Clarkson and co having many arguments and tricks being played I am surprised that Jeremy has not thumped anybody before now, or for that matter been thumped by one of the other two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
In this DVDs you get nothing but the challanges which have most of thre comedy involved. From attempting to cross the channel in self made amphibious cars, build a car from scratch and even taking on their German counterparts Jezza, Hamster and Captain Slow end up having you in stiches. A must have for anyone wanting top gear challlenges alone but not for those who want more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
I simply love them. A lot of viewing material from the show. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because I have a thing for movie soundtracks wich they use a lot of on the show, but they can't on the DVD's or blu rays for some reason.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
For any top gear or car fan this boxset is great, you get around 7 to 8 hours of footage and its the full challenges they dont skip out any parts, you might have seen some or indeed all, but for me i was surprised to find how many i hadnt seen in this boxset, for the money it is really a great boxset!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
I am a Top Gear fan and it goes against the grain for me to make any disparaging comments as I have seen all the challenges before when aired and wanted to enjoy them again. However, I have given 4 stars and not five because of the way in which the collection is edited.

The content is great but the programmes were so chopped about that elements of the show (challenges) that should have been used in this dvd were left out. The BBC can edit productions better than this. I am almost convinced that the editing was given over to a trainee and was not checked. The first and second DVD's were the poorest in this respect. It did improve by the third disc.

Moreover, in the lorry challenge,the picture quality of evening shots is simply terrible. No need for this at all. It looks like someone filmed it on an old home cine camera circa 1958. Anyway, content wise the programmes are great. Terrific fun for petrol heads and those who love the show - best show on telly in my view.

Still worth buying as you get pretty much all the challenges - the adventures are better produced in my view but apart for some bodge editing, well worth getting. 4 stars for quality of editing and DVD, 5 star for the show itself.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
got these for my husband and he loves them, even though we have seen nearly all of them several times before they are just so funny and great to watch, well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
Great Mix of the best Challenges plus lots of extra features. A Must-buy for Top Gear-Enthusiasts, especially for this good Price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.