Customer Reviews


451 Reviews
5 star:
 (392)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend
The title of this album says it all. This is such a great collection of songs I don't know where to start. If you're new to Marley then you can't do better than this album, and if you're already a fan then this a great collection of his stuff in one place. Worth it for 'No woman no cry' alone! Brilliant summer music, or any time of the year it's that good!

Feel...
Published on 5 Oct. 2007 by Spider Monkey

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great audio for a timeless album! 3 star rating due to Bad design for the booklet that houses the cds!
Bought the 30th Anniversary Remaster.
The 5.1 audio puts it a notch up. Not to mention the alternative versions being a bonus.

What pisses me off is whoever the designer for the hardcover book was should be shot.
Although the booklet does not have too many pages, the paper stock, which I assume to be at least 110 to 130 gm adds up to a substantial...
Published 9 months ago by J. Oon


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 5 Oct. 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
The title of this album says it all. This is such a great collection of songs I don't know where to start. If you're new to Marley then you can't do better than this album, and if you're already a fan then this a great collection of his stuff in one place. Worth it for 'No woman no cry' alone! Brilliant summer music, or any time of the year it's that good!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King!, 13 July 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
What can I say, this is THE "King of Reggae"! The Deluxe Edition is a great package with the Legend album itself, plus a nicely presented booklet and bonus CD. This extra CD is an interesting mixture of re-mixes and extended versions, with some songs not on the Legend CD. Not sure how much Mr. Marley was involved with these, and one or two are a little irksome (being popped-up or over sampled), but it's still a great CD to listen to, and doesn't cost any more. In fact it was 2p cheaper than the single CD version when I bought it. The Legend CD of course if flawless, and should be in anyone's collection even if you don't normally listen to reggae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae Legend, 12 May 2007
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
Bob Marley is a reggae legend, whose life was tragically cut short, but his legacy continues to be inspirational to fellow reggae bands. The Legend: Remastered is a tribute to the legend, who has captivated interest with colourful and vibrant music during the 70's decade, but his appeal continues to maintain interest. The album features 16 tracks, which are all digitally remastered, but the original sound is still retained. Some of my personal favourites include One Love / People Get Ready, Get up, stand up, Could you be loved, Satisfy my soul and son. In few commercials, the background music is based on few of his well known tracks. These songs are really tuneful and great pleasure to listen to. Without him, raggae music would not recieve the widespread recognition it continues to achieve at present. Bob Marley has promoted reggae music in the map, which started to flourish during the 70's decade to the present. The album I would truly recommend for anyone who loves reggae music and Bob Marley is the the true representative of reggae music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively Up Your Music Collection, 17 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
There are a handful of albums that I see in just about every house that I visit. Bob Marley-Legend is one of them. Everyone seems to love his songs and I think the main reason is their simplicity. Marley seems to be able to strip music to it's simplest form and deliver messages so relevant but without the pretentiousness that most artist impose.
Think of Reggae and Bob Marley immediately comes to mind. He has put this genre on the map and made it his own. He has mastered the genre to make the most wonderful and chilled out songs ever recorded. Played from beginning to end, this collection will take away all your worries and chill your soul. A great summer's day album to play whilst relaxing in your yard and equally good music to play in the background of a nice social gathering. One time I was in a chillout bar and they had the whole album on in the background and not one tune seemed out of place, in fact it helped tremendously with the atmosphere.
Music doesn't get more honest than this. Simplicity and beauty with a strong thread of genius interwoven throughout. this collection of songs shows clearly why Bob Marley is heralded in such high regard by millions of people worldwide. He touches everyone who hears his music, which is just about the full population of the planet.
One of the greatest collections of an artist's work and rightfully titled. Bob Marley was, and still is, a legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are to buy just one Reggae album get this one, 31 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
This album is aptly named; Bob Marley's music has touched the world, and this compilation does even more justice to his brilliance than the original release of "Legend" -- better, crisper sound and "Exodus," in its complete form. There was never an excuse for having the shorter version of this great song on this album and it always took away from the album for me but now Legend is the perfect album. This reissue has improved and the sound is great, all the lyrics and a good essay on Bob, and the 2 new "Bonus" tracks is a great addition to this package. "Exodus" is the best reason to toss your old "Legend" aside.

Everyone knows all the great songs from this great man. With sweet songs like "Is This Love, "No Woman, No Cry" (a recording of the famous live performance), and the empowering "Get Up Stand Up." There is a song for nearly any mood. It seems that EVERYONE, whether they're into hip-hop or rock or country can dig Bob Marley. Not many artists can do what he had done. That being said, this album is just about the most versatile disc conceivable. Feeling a little low - just play "Three Little Birds" or "Is This Love?" Need some music to get your party started? play the infectious "Jamming" and "Could You Be Loved" will do the trick. Looking to chill out with your significant other? "Waiting in Vain" (just about the most beautiful song ever conceived) or "Stir It Up" will set the mood straight.

Most of the tracks on this album are songs that were paramount for Bob Marley and the Wailers' career in the seventies and eighties. Bob Marley's "Legend" is an excellent album, definitely a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 5 Nov. 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
The title of this album says it all. This is such a great collection of songs I don't know where to start. If you're new to Marley then you can't do better than this album, and if you're already a fan then this a great collection of his stuff in one place. Worth it for 'No woman no cry' alone! Brilliant summer music, or any time of the year it's that good!

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 30th Anniversary Legend 5.1 Surround Sensation!, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am at an age now when wows are few and far between! But this latest offering from Universal is WOWWWW!
This has always been a great album and the recent Pure Audio version was very good within it's stereo limitations. Now with all the instruments spread across the wide 5.1 soundstage what a transformation. Every instrument is beautifully separated in the mix and it sounds as though a lot of work has been put in to bring out the nuances and positioning of each. Everything is there with crystal clarity from the edge of the hi-hat and all the other percussion, the organ, guitars, that wonderful deep round reggae bass, the detailed brass, never any harshness, just a great laid back feel. Bob's voice is not in your face, but just right. If you have any affection for Legend I urge you to find your way to a full range surround system and discover what can be achieved when old recordings are given the best of up to date treatment. .....I think I'll have another WOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Nov. 2011
I had one like this one but it got scratched from playing too much. This Deluxe set is fantastic though, It has two cds and one dvd . The music is fantastic as you would expect , it is Mr Bob Marley after all and he is legend as the title says.
You have the live version of "No woman No cry" Its fantastic, if you dont have the live version, its worth buying this set just for that! I have all his albums but got this one for when I go away and I cant carry all the cds, but if you are not sure and you just want a best of Bob Marley, Then this is the one to get cause you wont be disappointed as all the hits you have heard on the radio are on here like"Buffalo Soldier","I shot the sherrif","Is this love" and many more. If you only get one Bob Marley cd get this one, because you will also get to watch Bob's Live perfomances as well on the dvd and him being interviewed!! Its fantastic. Get it now !!Bob Marley & The Wailers - Legend (Deluxe Sound & Vision) NTSC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsary Purchase, 5 Mar. 2002
By 
Richard Page (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legend (Audio CD)
My tape version of Legend finally gave out and it coincided with the Deluxe edition - despite some misgivngs the second disc is an excellent addition to my largeish BM catalogue - most of the remixes add depth to the familiar songs , the dub version of One Love an excellent finale. 2 remixes of waiting in vain seems odd - would have preferred a couple more dub versions of other songs instead. As for disc 1, my it still remains the best collection of his songs - Easy Skankin & Punky Reggae Party add to the well known hits - might have benefited from Survival instead but I'm splitting hairs. If you have 1 Love compilation this one might be double handling as it were - if you havent then Legend should be the next thing you buy. Now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Marley Legend - PURE AUDIO BLU RAY REVIEW, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legend (Blu-ray Audio)
Legend
Yes - we all know that this is a great album - but this review is about the sound quality of the new PURE AUDIO BLU-RAY disc. I compared the CD with this using a £1,500 Cyrus CD play with £300 cables, against the Pure Audio in the cheapest, £150, Sony Blu-ray player with a £30 cable - the result - and all my family agreed - was astonishing! The Pure Audio was absolutley astounding - the best sound quality I have ever heard - and I have listened to systems costing tens of thousands. Absolutely fantastic - you feel like the band is is in the room with you - and the vocals are fabulous. A must buy. This format is the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legend (Deluxe Edition)
Buy MP3 Album£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews