Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tale, 22 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This series of books so reminds me of my trips to the library to collect the next Hornblower books when I was much less old than I am now. They are not masterpieces but are wonderful adventures with some clever plots. My only tiny gripe is the way almost every character has their height mentioned when they are introduced! Looking forward to reading the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book, 13 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Well I have just finished the second book and bought the third, I can see me finishing all six this month they are such page turners.
As I said in my review of book one, you know she's going to win but the way she does it is what makes you want to keep reading.
The more you read, the more you understand the fictional world that the books inhabit and that makes them more enjoyable from my perspective.
Another enjoyable read that has all the markings of a modern day "cowboys and indians" storey, to lift a simile from the books.
Well done again to the author, I am off to continue the adventure that is Jenetta Carver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fun Read with some good Twists, 25 Dec. 2010
By 
M. Thompson "Mike Thompson" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
As the third in the series, I felt that the author kept up the pace of the first two books in the stellar career of Jenetta Carver. The description for this book only covers the first two chapters; however, any other description would only provide plot spoilers.
The author has done great work as usual in all engineering and planetary descriptions, keeping up the realistic feel for the world that he's created.
At the back of the book, there are some helpful appendices to help with the large relative distances, the military ranks and the main characters.
In addition, the author makes a point of explaining within the story all references to escapades in the previous books or to engineering ideas that have already been explained. Therefore, if you really wanted, you could read this book as a standalone book (I don't think it would be quite as much fun though).
Off to read the next one in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The clones of mawcett, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed reading this book as much as the proceeding books, brilliant, can't wait to start the next episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Keep them coming. I need a fix of the next instalment please. Get writing quicker, please, please! I highly recommend for any sci fi buffs out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapist fantasy!, 8 Oct. 2013
By 
A alwis "Al" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
An addictive series! Just plain old fun reading, swashbuckling adventure with a happy endings. Happily working my way through the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and fascinating, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The story moves quickly while exploring the issues of cloning. Probably stands alone but recommend reading the Galaxy Unknown first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clonetastic!, 13 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
As Admiral Holt says at one point in the book, Jenetta "needed a little rounding out". Whatever the Admiral meant by that, you'll have to read the book to find out, but DePrima takes pause in this book from the headlong rush from one battle to the next to give us more depth and character development. Nevertheless, after a slow start the action hots up, and we have our fill of raiders, battles, decoys, attacks, assassination attempts, and even more Carvers than you can shake a stick at. The pacing is excellent, and the characters are starting to feel like members of the family.

As with the first two books, my first reaction on finishing was to head straight back to Amazon to download book 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Galaxy Unknown Saga, 8 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I'm an avid reader of Sci Fi and was immediately hooked after reading the first book in the series and ended up rushing at the end of each one to download the next onto my kindle...The books are well written and you engage with the characters well worth the time to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 3 in a superb series, 12 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clones of Mawcett (A Galaxy Unknown Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This book, together with the other six books so far published in this series, is a real "page-turner". A Space Opera which openly acknowledges the Hornblower books as an inspiration, although the heroine is more likeable and infallible (perhaps closer to Alexander Kent's Richard Bolitho or Dudley Pope's Ramage).

Set in the 23rd Century, with well thought out explanations for faster-than-light travel and other scientific advances, and gripping descriptions of set piece battles in space, all seven books are thoroughly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews