Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buried Treasure
Fantastic book. A swash-buckling and bodice-ripping history lesson. It is beautifully written and researched, there are some wonderful passages which totally transport you back to the mid-1600s in the Caribbean.
The heroes are dangerous and enigmatic, the heroines plucky and unconventional, the villains despicable -all the characters leap out of the page and become...
Published on 7 Aug 2011 by Valerie Pointon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Detailed
Too much detail for me, I just couldn't get into the story. The level of detail might suit those with a historical interest, but it seemed much more than was necessary to "tell the story" and I'm afraid I gave up. Some odd punctuation as well, the text is littered with hyphens, presumably from an alternative print.
Published 7 months ago by Scotty


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buried Treasure, 7 Aug 2011
This review is from: Caribbee (Paperback)
Fantastic book. A swash-buckling and bodice-ripping history lesson. It is beautifully written and researched, there are some wonderful passages which totally transport you back to the mid-1600s in the Caribbean.
The heroes are dangerous and enigmatic, the heroines plucky and unconventional, the villains despicable -all the characters leap out of the page and become real people, you are sorry to part from them when the book finishes!
Splice the mainbrace and settle down with this book, it's a good'un.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gold among the dross, 28 July 2011
By 
Barbara Reed (Here and there) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
This is a real find. Well written, well researched with a strong storyline and well rounded characters. There is a lot of good stuff in the kindle bargain box, but sometimes it takes some finding. This one was worth digging for. An historical novel with a love story and lots of action, properly proofread and edited. I won't spoil the read with too much of a synopsis, but there is action supported by good though not tedious background description. Hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking read, 6 Aug 2011
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
Another really good book from Thomas Hoover with action, romance and good historical background. Once you start you won't want to put it down again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rated Arrrr for guidance, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
I thought this would just be a Pirates of the Caribbean knock off, but was pleasantly surprised to find this was so much more. Meticulously researched, with a rollicking almost real life story, unsentimental but empathetic characters and a real sense of place and passion; I thought this was the result of a historian who had extensively studied the period, or at least a resident of Barbados. As soon as I saw Hoover had written more free novels I was straight onto his site downloading them. Amazed that this is free compared to some of the dire stuff which is charged for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read by Mr Hoover spoiled by hyphens!, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
I've read two books so far by Thomas Hoover - both on the Kindle. As already mentioned the hyphenation is terrible and really distracting - however the books themselves are well written enough to overcome this not insignificant problem. As free Kindle books they are really a cut above most and it's only the problem with the hyphenation that spoils them. This one is an engrossing story set in the Caribbean and mixes romance, adventure and historical fact and as such does a really excellent job. I like the mix of fact and fiction and learned quite a lot about our history at the time of the civil war and afterwards. It also deals with the beginning of the slave trade, the establishment of Tortuga (that place we all know and love from Pirates of the Caribbean) and the history of piracy and plantations. I'd recommend it to anyone who can bear training their mind to ignore the hyphens, and it loses one star because of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A jolly read for any fan of old-fashioned pirate tales, 27 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
There's little original about this tale of buccaneers in the Caribbean, but if you're a fan of the pirate films of the Errol Flynn era, you'll love this. Hoover does a fine job balancing plotting, history, romance and adventure. His choice to set the action in the mid-1600s, at the very beginning of English settlement in the region, is a good one as this era isn't often written about; bringing in strands of the English Civil War, the introduction of slavery and the beginnings of the tilt in power from the Spanish to the English. His hero and heroine are stereotypical (the disenfranchised but still honourable aristocrat turned buccaneer and the rebellious governor's daughter) but their characterisation is strong enough for you to like both of them and keep reading to find out what happens to them. Sub-plots and secondary characters involving Yoruba slaves, exiled Royalists and grasping plantation owners add interest. Plot-wise, it's obvious Hoover's main genre is thriller writing, as he keeps the pace brisk and jumps between romance, battle, politics, etc. The scene is always moving on before you have a chance to get bored. My only real complaint: Rotten formatting on the Kindle edition. While Hoover frequently changes scenes, the formatting doesn't keep up with him, so you have to get used to the next paragraph suddenly catapulting you somewhere else. Our hero's ship is named the "Defiance", so someone used automatic copy editing to capitalise and italicise every reference, including plenty that don't refer to his ship. Irritating, but I suppose you can't complain about the format of a free download!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SuperbYarn, 2 Sep 2011
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
A very well researched, and written, tale set in the 17th century Caribbean amid the colonists fight for independence against the English. The plotting is excellent in pulling together real historical events into the framework of an excellent tale, full of gritty realism.

The Spire Chronicle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely Detailed, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
Too much detail for me, I just couldn't get into the story. The level of detail might suit those with a historical interest, but it seemed much more than was necessary to "tell the story" and I'm afraid I gave up. Some odd punctuation as well, the text is littered with hyphens, presumably from an alternative print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just how i like it........, 20 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
............... fast & furious.

Set in 17th century Barbados during the turmoil of The English Civil war. It is a rattling good tale of Buccaneers, Planters, slavery (white & black) and the fight for Independence from Cromwell's commonwealth.
Well written, (except for random use of hyphens), well researched and thoroughly believable. The characters are realistic. The two main characters, Hugh Winston ( a borderline buccaneer) & Katy Beckford ( the rich planters daughter) are likeable and I started to empathise with their predicament.
The plot twists & turns in a roller coaster of a yarn.
I find with well researched and written Historical Fiction I start to read & research more about the relevant background once i have finished the book. I did with this unknown ( to me) aspect of England's History.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 8 Jun 2014
By 
G. Wright "KLEFTIKO" (SW ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read but spoilt by hyphen appearing on every page and in theb most unlikely places. I-f i-t was-not for this i-t would be eve-n bet-ter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caribbee
Caribbee by Thomas Hoover
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews