Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Blurb

India 1620: India is ruled by the son of the great Akbar, and is about to pass his crown to one of his sons. Brian Hawksworth, ship's captain and emissary of King James, must choose sides, but will he choose correctly? The future of England, and of India, depend on it.
He had come to India to open trade for "barbaric" England and squeeze out the...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Anne Marie Brear

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what I hoped for
I expected a book about India as she was. A history of the country, the way people lived, their religions, culture, way of life. The life of the villagers, the court, the harem. Instead I got a book about fighting, sinking ships, killing, betrayal, with a rather muddled bit about life in court. Too many people and not at all sure who they all were. Heavy editing would...
Published 10 months ago by jazz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 28 April 2011
This review is from: The Moghul (Paperback)
Blurb

India 1620: India is ruled by the son of the great Akbar, and is about to pass his crown to one of his sons. Brian Hawksworth, ship's captain and emissary of King James, must choose sides, but will he choose correctly? The future of England, and of India, depend on it.
He had come to India to open trade for "barbaric" England and squeeze out the Portuguese, who try to kill him at every opportunity. But once on land, he becomes captivated by the country and the people. The beauty and romance of the exquisite Moghul Empire seduce him from his material goals to a new quest for supreme sensuality in music, mystical visions, and sacred lovemaking.
From pulse-pounding sea battles, to tiger hunts, war elephants, harems and forbidden love--The Moghul takes you on a breath-taking tour of the India that existed before the British Raj.

This is a long book! I have to say I enjoyed the first third of the book, but then, for me, it got bogged down in Indian politics of the time and made the reading a slow progress.
The Moghul is not for the faint-heated and not one that you can easily put down for a few days and pick back up again. I did this and found myself lost. What makes it difficult is not only the foreign names, but the many characters. I am one who loves books that have numerous characters, but this book, with its unfamiliar place names and politics of the rulers of India at the time, was tough going in parts.
The descriptions are wonderful and at the beginning the plot is clear and enjoyable, but sadly the middle to the end of the book lost some of its magic because of the weight of intrigue and I lost interest in those fighting for the kingdom.
If the author had cut back on the politics I would have enjoyed the story much better.
I did learn much about the early times of India though, which was very interesting.
I read The Moghul by Thomas Hoover on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Read, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Gary Austin (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Thomas Hoover book I have read but it won't be the last. Hoover has clearly researched the period well and his characters have depth and realism. The book is a little long winded in places and could do with better editing. Some scenes change from one paragraph to the next with no spacing to illustrate a change of focus. You just have to bear with it and get used to it.
Overall well worth the effort to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very entertaining, nearly un-putdownable, 21 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
I have a fascination for historical fiction but have rarely found books better than CJ Sansom's Shardlake series. This was my first Indian history fiction - and it was quite fascinating. The story had all the elements of politics, intrigue, religion, romance that you would expect in a book of this kind. I probably appreciated it more because of my familiarity with the history around the Mughals and the Rajputs. The detailing in some of the areas could have been shorter - especially around the music and architecture. But loved the detailing on the food!! Other than these bouts of verbosity, it was a great read, especially the last quarter building to the climax. Even though the outcome is well known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what I hoped for, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
I expected a book about India as she was. A history of the country, the way people lived, their religions, culture, way of life. The life of the villagers, the court, the harem. Instead I got a book about fighting, sinking ships, killing, betrayal, with a rather muddled bit about life in court. Too many people and not at all sure who they all were. Heavy editing would probably have made this an excellent read. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
This book was a pure joy to read and I didn't want it to end. The fact that it was inspired by historical events in India with England's early attempts to trade with this country in the early 17th century made it all the more interesting.

My long-standing passion for Indian Miniature Paintings was re'kindle'd by the author's passionate and sensuous descriptions of life and culture in India during that period. The author's research on India's cast system, internal wars, political and religious intrigues made the book very entertaining in a non-academic way.

It was also a sad reminder of the West's long standing arrogance and misguided superiority towards ancient Eastern civilisations.

A great kindle read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Richard Ireland (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this - at first. The set-up, sea voyage and battle with the Portugese is really good and entertaining. But then it just seems to get bogged down in exploring the politics and culture of India at the time, and I became frustrated, not by any desire for shallow action sequences, but by any lack of forward momentum in the onward journey of the main character. At another time I might have been willing to give it more time to develop. It almost seemed that the author had done so much research or knew the subject so well, he just had to cram it all in to the detriment of the actual story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE MOGHUL, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed the moghul good historical fiction researched well characters felt real and sentiments expressed by hero very much in line with prejudices of the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sections, 1 Aug 2012
By 
R. S. Loch "rsloch" (the wilds of Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
The Moghul is the story of a ship's captain Brian Hawksworth's attempts to acquire trading rights for the fledgling East India Company in Mughal ruled India, a world of palace politics, sex and saris. Though fiction the story is based on historical fact thus avoiding major clangers.

The book has a major fault, the story is hidden between large passages that read as mini essays on aspects of India in the 1600s. Although some of these asides are interesting they break the plot up and quickly become dull. It's a good read if you skim through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A total surprise, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
choosing this book was a journey into the unknown for me as it is the polar opposite to my normal choice of book.

The dashing and daring adventures of the captain within made me wish I could have been in his shoes.

You could also almost smell and taste every spice that is described and feel the dust on your skin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moghul (Kindle Edition)
A good historically based read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moghul
The Moghul by Thomas Hoover
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews