Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic zen
I`ve always loved reading about zen,and although i`ve read many books on the subject,this one is for me superb. i have every intention of reading it again from the beginning excellent zen material,and some new stuff as well.Up there with the best for me.
Published on 26 April 2012 by gilo21

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Formatting on Kindle Terrible
I read the above reviews and downloaded for free. Apart from the foreign dictionaries this is the first book I have deleted from the Kindle. I just could not read this. The font is too small and when enlarged the line spacing is to much. Pity as I was looking forward to read this.
Published on 6 May 2012 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic zen, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
I`ve always loved reading about zen,and although i`ve read many books on the subject,this one is for me superb. i have every intention of reading it again from the beginning excellent zen material,and some new stuff as well.Up there with the best for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading., 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
I tend to avoid writing book reviews, the experience of a book is often too subjective for them to be meaningful, however in this instance I am going to make an exception. This is a very good book, a very good read, and absolutely astonishing considering it costs nothing. If you are interested in the history of Zen, or Chinese/Japanese buddhism in general, or even simply curious, then download this book now. The narrative flows easily, never becoming turgid or technical, and the author's knowledge of the subject is readily apparent. I am sure that if you are in one "camp" or other within the buddhist community some of his opinions may be contentious, but for an outsider's or layman's view of the subject this is as good as any I have read. You lose nothing by giving it a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing piece of work, 2 Sep 2012
By 
Lee K. Freeman "fml" (seaham, co.durham, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing piece of work combining anecdotal evidence and history of Ch'an/Zen Buddhism. I have been hooked to this book ever since I received it. Surely this work is a must for any person interested in the history and thinkers - or is that non-thinkers? - behind Ch'an thought,or no-thought, as the case may be. Anyway, I recommend this to anyone interested in Buddhism, philosophy, Daoism and religious history. It has been a long time since a book has had me this engrossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
Wasn't sure what to expect from this book and i must say i was very pleasantly surprised. Excellent history of how Zen came to be, from its origins in Indian buddhism, through China becoming ch'an then onto Japan to finally becoming Zen. With excellent collections of mini stories of masters along the way you really get a feeling of comfort, wisdom and amusement. Mr Hoover has fitted this all together nicely into a fascinating read. highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
Well written, and very informative, giving an in depth history of how Zen arose and progressed. Background information about China and Japan are interesting too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
Lovely combination of a philosophies history, interior adaptations and social relevance. With some well chosen stories and folklore which really capture your imagination and inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
Become one with nature as I have with this wonderful book called the journey to Zen. Respect people from Japan fat Americans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting and helpful, 26 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
this is a great book, not what I imagined it would be but actually turned out a lot better. A great history of Zen with very interesting anecdotes and some eye opening dialogue passed down through the ages. It raised many questions for me by way of Zen history and just how easily it is for original ideas, beliefs to become corrupted and change over time as things are bent for political or cultural purposes BUT Zen has survived and developed in some ways after all there is not set way, one must follow the signs and forge ones own path and this book definitely helps as a guide, I would consider myself a beginner in terms of Zen but not in terms of Buddhist belief and ways. It has definitely made me want to travel further and I am already looking at writings by some of the great masters mentioned within. A great scholarly piece of work but I found it very accessible and expansive and it has helped me a great deal. Definately an awakening for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
great read. well presented on an easy read informal format. even better that it's free on kindle..so some decent thingsin life really do come for free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dont miss it, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Zen Experience (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good and pleasent book, I`am really enjoying to read... The history of zen buddhism, the masters and their teachings written very well.. And all for free..You can`t ask for more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Zen Experience
The Zen Experience by Thomas Hoover
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews