Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2012
I got this keyboard a while back to replace an old stock HP keyboard.

First off the looks:

It looks great! Its a rather simple design and the keys look nice, also a nice bright glowing 'steelseries' logo at the top right of the board.

Secondly the functionality:

It is a very ergonomic keyboard as the keys are easy to reach and are great for typing, gaming is great with this board as the keys feel soft to push down which is nice when gaming and it is reasonably quiet!

Third the features:

This board comes with an option to install steel series engine, this allows you to change what keys do on your board, cool right? You can easily change keys using the easy to use software steel series supplies you with! Also the actual keys them selves are removed in a sort of folding way you can take it off by un-clipping the right side of the board and simply lifting up, it folds up into a neat 3 sectioned pile and is great for maneouverability, this feature allows you to purchase new keyset's mainly branded by WoW, medal of honor and starcraft 2, all with their unique decals across the top and on the far right section of keys. They all have their own unique keys on the right side of the board which relates to what you do in your game, then alter the keys using steel series engine presets for when you are gaming! Really is a keyboard packed with fun! There are volume keys on the left side of the board and a large wrist rest across the bottom which is nice n' comfortable. There are programmable keys at the top to open certain programs and macros you can record using the engine!

The only bad thing i should note is the fact that the spacebar is split into to sections at first it was quite annoying but you get used to it after a week or two, it really isnt a big deal im just throwing it out there.

Thanks for reading this review and i recommend you purchase this motherboard!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 February 2012
Fantastic keyboard. I have been using it for over a year now and I have had no problems with it. The keys feel nice and they have a satisfying "click" when used. The macro software is great and very versatile. I play World of Warcraft daily, so the keyboard gets extensive use. It would be nice to have backlit keys, but the board is designed to have replacement keys slotted in so there is no backlight. It's only a minor point, and a desk lamp takes care of that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2012
Beautiful keyboard, can't find any faults with it at all. The greatest thing about this keyboard (in my opinion) is the freely customisable buttons at the top of the keyboard (1-8) that you can keybind to any process or program you wish you run. Saves alot of time if you have alot of windows open or you've moved the shortcut to the program elsewhere.

Fast, responsive and aesthetically pleasing. 10/10 fo sho.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
I had the zboard for a few years which broke the other day due to an unfortunate shaken beer can. I started looking for a new keyboard but was kinda guttered I wouldn't be able to use my key sets (didn't want another zboard wanted something different). I looked around and saw a few I liked then noticed this one at £30 and I have to say I love it. Yes it's great to have the key sets back but I really enjoy the one that comes with it, it's very balanced and feels light like a laptop keyboard. Truly love these keyboard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
Left shift key doesn't work until Windows has finished booting and loaded the additional drivers - meaning if your Windows password requires use of the shift key, you'd better get used to using the right one.

Aside from that niggle, bloody good keyboard!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
A very clever idea that works very very well. been using this to play world of warcraft using the cataclysm keyset.
nearly all of the important keys used in every senario are catered for superb.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
The good:

Concept: Removable keypad allows for a change in physical keypad to a purpose built gaming keypad (there are a few only) or, in my case, allows for easy cleaning of nom dribble.

Weight: Nice solid feel, doesn't float around the desktop as you type whereas some keyboards react as if you're tickling their feet as you type.

Media and custom key: You can program this for ....eh....anything. I use the media keys a lot and couldn't go back to a keyboard without them. The configurable macro keys are a boon. Usernames, passwords (not that you would (cough)), email addresses, your home address etc. etc. A really great idea.

The bad:

Whilst the keyboard base is made to survive, the keypad feels cheap. It isn't nice to type on regardless of other reviews. Keys closer to joins in the keyboard are spongier than others. It isn't consistent. This should be obvious I guess, it is a removable, and foldable, keypad. It can not be as solid as eh....a solid keypad.

Space bar is split which fights with your instincts to begin with.

The ugly:

Driver software: You need the driver software otherwise functions (custom macros and even the shift key) simply don't work. So the software is bullet proof right?....wrong....it is without doubt the worst piece of driver software I've encountered. It won't load on certain days/moon cycles, it doesn't always recognise the keypad (Note: I have the Sensei mouse too, a brilliant mouse btw, which may add to the chances of the driver software failing.) and it is prone to crashing. Crashing for driver software shouldn't be acceptable.

Summary:

I'll keep the Steelseries mouse (Sensei) and move the keyboard (Shift) on to my daughter - she's 11 and starting to take an interest in pop culture and boys so reconnecting this keyboard constantly will keep her otherwise occupied for a while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
This keyboard is one of my worse buys ever. Problems with SHIFT key (wonder why they call it Shift keyboard when shift does not work out-of-the-box). All other keyboards I've used (a LOT) have better feel even membrane ones. This keyboard is heavy, some might like that but I don't. In the end this keyboard didn't work or was unresponsive with Windows 7 x64, most times had to redo firmware update and even then it didn't work right.

After trying to make it work (Again and Again) for a few weeks (!) I switched back to good-old G19 and put this to rust on a Windows XP PC (32bit). Even if they fixed it by now not I'm not going to buy anything else from a company that ships faulty products and then the customer has to wait IF and WHEN they will fix them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
Used for hours every day, great design and love how the keyboard just pops out so that you can clean it.

Another SteelSeries product worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)