Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars40
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2011
What can I say about this album? It's catchy. It's moving. It's emotional. It's fun. It's vibrant and it's hard hitting. It truly has a song for every mood and emotion and a song to get you through any time, whether happy or sad because as Shakira says in the title song, Sale el Sol, 'when you least expect it, the sun comes out', openly encouraging all her fans to look for the bright side in any situation no matter how bad it gets.

This album is a real diamond and every song is rated **** or ***** in my music player. The mix of both Spanish and English tracks with several tracks being either bilingual or rerecorded in both languages means both English and Spanish native speakers can enjoy and sing along to the tracks, or simply sit back and listen to the wonders that the Colombian singer-songwriter has created.

I would definitely recommend this album to anyone immediately, whether you have been a fan of Shakira in the past or not. It has something for everyone.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
I own all of shakira's cds and I've been disappointed with She Wolf and the two versions of oral fixation. Sale El Sol is a real gem.
All the songs are amazing. This is truly the best album so far. I can't stop listening to it and dance.

1. Sale El Sol > Very good balad with good rythms.
2. Loca (Featuring El Cata)> The new hit song: impossible to not dance with that one. Truly a cheer-up song
3. Antes De Las Seis > Nice balad too. Very relaxing.
4. Gordita (Featuring Residente Calle 13)> Interesting song, nice duet with calle 13. Original song based mainly on the bass, it's a mix of different type of music. Good song too.
5. Addicted To You > More upbeat song,again a mix of different type of music, very dancing, it's a shaki type song
6. Lo Que Más > A balad, like antes de las seis, relaxing and beautiful
7. Mariposas > Maybe the song i like least on the album but still a good song, the sound is maybe too similar to shakira's debut album and the chorus is not as catchy as other songs, but nonetheless a nice song
8. Rabiosa (Featuring El Cata)> similar to gordita or loca, an upbeat kind of duet, the song where you start dancing when the first note starts
9. Devoción> Kind of a "Rock" sound to this song
10. Islands > Some 'electro' sound, makes me thing of the "she wolf" album.
11. Tu Boca > Interesting, mix of rock-pop, it's ok
12. Waka Waka (Esto Es Africa) (K-Mix)> everybody knows the world cup anthem, in spanish it's amazing too. This is a remix but nice too.
13. Loca (Featuring Dizzee Rascal)> the english version of loca even more dancing than the spanish one i think because the words are different in the chorus and instead of loca con mi tigre it's and i'm crazy but you like it. One of the best songs of the album.
14. Rabiosa (Featuring Pitbull) > English version of Rabiosa, as good as the spanish one.
15. Waka Waka (This Time For Africa) (K-Mix) > The English version of Waka, a real gem.

I love love love this album, i think it's the best. You can listen to the whole album non stop, it never gets old. All songs are amazing.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
is it me or is this album a million miles better than the English language She Wolf album? It may be that Shakira's recent attempts to adapt to the English speaking US market just don't work for me, or it might be that the songs she writes in Spanish are really better (and I mean musically more than linguistically). It's particularly obvious in the slow pieces like Antes de las seis, and Lo que mas.

There are a few English tracks as well including the XX cover she played at Glastonbury, Islands, and the World Cup song Waka Waka (which like Whenever Wherever works in both languages), but they fit in surprisingly well.

This album reaches all the parts that the she wolf didn't, and if you don't understand Spanish, learn it!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
Easily dismissed for the belly-dancing and the pop-froth image, it's albums like this that illustrate why Shakira is not only a pop superstar but a seriously talented musician. It was her Latin fans that powered her career until she hit the global stage, and this is much more an album for them than for her Western audience. There are a couple of songs in English; most people will have come across Waka Waka from the World Cup and the recently-released duet with Dizzee Rascal (Loca), but most of the rest is in Spanish. Consequently, it's not going to fare as well in the US or UK charts as music of this quality should, but it really is our loss.

The album itself is a mixture of sunny, cheerful, upbeat songs like Sale el Sol and Mariposas, through to quieter, more personal tunes such as Antes De Las Seis and Lo Que Mas, by way of fast-paced dance-pop-rock (Rabiosa, Addicted To You, Tu Boca), and a couple of darker songs such as Devocion and the faintly menacing hip-hop style Gordita. Quite the mixture, but the album drags you relentlessly along until you can't help falling for it. It's a radical change from She-Wolf, and once again doesn't really compare to anything else in her back-catalogue, but I would say that this is definitely one of Shakira's best albums, up there with Donde Estan Los Ladrones, and bears favourable comparison with anything else you can name in Latin pop-rock.

For me, Devocion has to be the stand-out track but Mariposas, Gordita, Rabiosa are also extremely good and Tu Boca simply as a showcase for Shakira's amazing voice. I'm personally not such a fan of Islands, a cover of the XX song, but that's personal preference for you.

Ultimately, this is Shakira making the music she wants to make in the way she wants to make it; catchy, tuneful, diverse and top class. The language barrier may put off some, but if so then you're missing out on what is a very very good album. Top marks.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
Even if you don't speak Spanish, this album is superb. I've not stopped playing it since it landed on my doorstep a few days ago. This is the real Shakira, much better than some of her English offerings. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
BUY THIS CD! I cannot say just how brilliant it is. One of the best cd's I've ever bought. I've followed Shakira since her earlier 'all spanish' cds and must say that she has returned to her roots and wow does it show. The cd is mainly in spanish with a few songs in english. Don't let this put you off-every song is amazing. There's fast and slow songs, in various styles. All absolutely brilliant.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Shakira came right back to true form with this album after a few shaky offerings. Not one bad track it's all none'stop Latin rhythm beautifully produced with well known supporting guest artists thrown in just adding to a great atmosphere. Excellent album & money well spent. Highly recommended for Latin music lovers. Indeed music lovers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
Shakira was doing brilliantly up until 2009's "She Wolf" album, which i have to say, I only really enjoyed 4 out of 10 tracks, - Mon Amour, Men In This Town, She Wolf, Spy, the rest of the album however was a bit of a throwaway!

But this NEW album makes up for all of that.

This Album sits well with her Classic Spanish album Trilogy "Pies Descalzos-Donde Estan Los Ladrones-Fijacion Oral vol.1"

Sale El Sol (The Sun Comes Out) is a warm, vibrant sunny album, it's really hard to put away once you've explored the album.
The album is bookended by; the gorgeous sunny rock ballad- Sale El Sol, and Waka Waka- Another lively sunshine anthem.
However, in between, Shakira manages to throw in a few dark shadows via "Devoción" a really edgy rock song, with some really cool riffs, as well as another rawk song "Tu Boca". I always knew Shakira had been inately a rock chick- (just check out her past 20yr career), however, when i stumbled upon these latter two songs, i thought i had inadvertently segwayed into music by "The House of Shakira"- a Swedish metal band!

Shakira also covers "Islands" (a XX cover), Shakira's treatment reinterprets this originally dark song, and casts some colour and light onto it making it more accessible in her own exotic blend, "Mariposas" is a cool driving pop/rock song with a singalong chorus.

Another thing Shakira's known for is her ability to write perfect ballads, especially in Spanish (i.e. Tu, Mocas en la Casa, Que Me Quedes Tu), now however she has given us "Antes De Las Seis" a soft rock ballad, as well as an extremely delicate piano ditty "Lo Que Mas" which reminds me of R.E.M's "Nightswimming".

As every Shakira fan (hardcore or otherwise) has come to expect, all of Shakira's albums must have a dance element, Songs like "Loca", "Gordita" (sounds like it wouldn't be out of place on a Kill Bill movie soundtrack, it has that Mexican flavour which conjures up blistering heat), "Addicted To You", "Rabiosa", infuses more sunshine antics without overdoing the theme. This is a well balanced album, a lot of thought has evidently gone into this album.

This album is seriously a career defining album for Shakira, it revisits old Shakira haunts from Pies Descalzos to Oral Fixation vol.2 and introduces fans to something familiar as well as new and exhilarating!

5* Star album!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
I was hesitant buying this after buying She Wolf and not really liking it but I need not have worried because Shakira in her native language is simply as great as she ever was.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Happy, flowing music, much more 'original latin' than other CDs. Superb CD, one of her best out of the ones I have.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)