Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album so far
I own all of shakira's cds and I've been disappointed with She Wolf and the two versions of oral fixation. Sale El Sol is a real gem.
All the songs are amazing. This is truly the best album so far. I can't stop listening to it and dance.

1. Sale El Sol > Very good balad with good rythms.
2. Loca (Featuring El Cata)> The new hit song: impossible to not...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Glam reader

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Waka waka - Spanish version but no African electric classical guitar
It has both English and Spanish versions of Waka waka, which is nice. However, neither version have the wonderful sounding African guitar. (I call it an African Electric Classical guitar sound, a very distinctive sound, and very African, you hear it in most African music. Anyway, the You Tube video of Waka Waka (the official 2010 FIFA version) has the African guitar and I...
Published on 1 Sep 2011 by Will


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album so far, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
I own all of shakira's cds and I've been disappointed with She Wolf and the two versions of oral fixation. Sale El Sol is a real gem.
All the songs are amazing. This is truly the best album so far. I can't stop listening to it and dance.

1. Sale El Sol > Very good balad with good rythms.
2. Loca (Featuring El Cata)> The new hit song: impossible to not dance with that one. Truly a cheer-up song
3. Antes De Las Seis > Nice balad too. Very relaxing.
4. Gordita (Featuring Residente Calle 13)> Interesting song, nice duet with calle 13. Original song based mainly on the bass, it's a mix of different type of music. Good song too.
5. Addicted To You > More upbeat song,again a mix of different type of music, very dancing, it's a shaki type song
6. Lo Que Más > A balad, like antes de las seis, relaxing and beautiful
7. Mariposas > Maybe the song i like least on the album but still a good song, the sound is maybe too similar to shakira's debut album and the chorus is not as catchy as other songs, but nonetheless a nice song
8. Rabiosa (Featuring El Cata)> similar to gordita or loca, an upbeat kind of duet, the song where you start dancing when the first note starts
9. Devoción> Kind of a "Rock" sound to this song
10. Islands > Some 'electro' sound, makes me thing of the "she wolf" album.
11. Tu Boca > Interesting, mix of rock-pop, it's ok
12. Waka Waka (Esto Es Africa) (K-Mix)> everybody knows the world cup anthem, in spanish it's amazing too. This is a remix but nice too.
13. Loca (Featuring Dizzee Rascal)> the english version of loca even more dancing than the spanish one i think because the words are different in the chorus and instead of loca con mi tigre it's and i'm crazy but you like it. One of the best songs of the album.
14. Rabiosa (Featuring Pitbull) > English version of Rabiosa, as good as the spanish one.
15. Waka Waka (This Time For Africa) (K-Mix) > The English version of Waka, a real gem.

I love love love this album, i think it's the best. You can listen to the whole album non stop, it never gets old. All songs are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars miles better than she-wolf, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Michael Gross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
is it me or is this album a million miles better than the English language She Wolf album? It may be that Shakira's recent attempts to adapt to the English speaking US market just don't work for me, or it might be that the songs she writes in Spanish are really better (and I mean musically more than linguistically). It's particularly obvious in the slow pieces like Antes de las seis, and Lo que mas.

There are a few English tracks as well including the XX cover she played at Glastonbury, Islands, and the World Cup song Waka Waka (which like Whenever Wherever works in both languages), but they fit in surprisingly well.

This album reaches all the parts that the she wolf didn't, and if you don't understand Spanish, learn it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaki Does it Again., 23 April 2011
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
What can I say about this album? It's catchy. It's moving. It's emotional. It's fun. It's vibrant and it's hard hitting. It truly has a song for every mood and emotion and a song to get you through any time, whether happy or sad because as Shakira says in the title song, Sale el Sol, 'when you least expect it, the sun comes out', openly encouraging all her fans to look for the bright side in any situation no matter how bad it gets.

This album is a real diamond and every song is rated **** or ***** in my music player. The mix of both Spanish and English tracks with several tracks being either bilingual or rerecorded in both languages means both English and Spanish native speakers can enjoy and sing along to the tracks, or simply sit back and listen to the wonders that the Colombian singer-songwriter has created.

I would definitely recommend this album to anyone immediately, whether you have been a fan of Shakira in the past or not. It has something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb, 1 Jun 2013
By 
R. Meyrav - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
Happy, flowing music, much more 'original latin' than other CDs. Superb CD, one of her best out of the ones I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Shakira, 6 April 2013
By 
Jerry (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
I was hesitant buying this after buying She Wolf and not really liking it but I need not have worried because Shakira in her native language is simply as great as she ever was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Estupendo!, 22 Jun 2011
By 
N. KENYON (Preston, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
Even if you don't speak Spanish, this album is superb. I've not stopped playing it since it landed on my doorstep a few days ago. This is the real Shakira, much better than some of her English offerings. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakira Shakira!, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
Such a good CD and excellent quality, this is my second purchase form the buyer! so cheap too!

Shakira is awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding!, 16 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
BUY THIS CD! I cannot say just how brilliant it is. One of the best cd's I've ever bought. I've followed Shakira since her earlier 'all spanish' cds and must say that she has returned to her roots and wow does it show. The cd is mainly in spanish with a few songs in english. Don't let this put you off-every song is amazing. There's fast and slow songs, in various styles. All absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun listening, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
Exellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Jun 2014
By 
Michael J. Law "eurolease" (Teulada Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sale El Sol (Audio CD)
Shakira came right back to true form with this album after a few shaky offerings. Not one bad track it's all none'stop Latin rhythm beautifully produced with well known supporting guest artists thrown in just adding to a great atmosphere. Excellent album & money well spent. Highly recommended for Latin music lovers. Indeed music lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sale El Sol
Sale El Sol by Shakira (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews