Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game but beware of the EA flaw
Great game in every way, check out some review from IGN and Gamespot for more details.
Just writing to let you know that Ultimate Edition PS3 version doesn't come with the Return to Ostagar DLC. This is due to an error made by EA. They are fixing it right now and they have told that everyone who bought this game will receive free Return to Ostagar DLC probaply from...
Published on 30 Oct 2010 by KcK

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Balls-up
There's not a whole lot else to be said about Dragon Age by this point. It's a fantastic return to form for Bioware, who have struggled to produce anything decent since the first Knights of the Old Republic game. With Dragon Age they have taken the KoTOR formula of combining real time and turn based RPG gaming and thrown it into a blender with Oblivion, Lord of the...
Published on 11 Jan 2011 by John Clayton III


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought it to my daughter, and she likes it a lot, she is realy happy with her new game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I really enjoy this game. I first finished it on the Xbox, but when I switched to ps3 (for the blu-ray player and I didn't want 2 consoles in the house), I bought this so I can play it again. I liked it mainly for the storyline. I found the action reasonably enjoyable when playing as a mage or rogue, but I found the fighter to be a bit dull (just pick your target and instruct to attack, with the occasional special move).

I found the stand alone expansion stories to be just okay - worth playing once. However, I would recommend this Ultimate edition over buying just the main game because the expansion packs for the main game does improve the experience and adds to the story - especially the return to Ostagar mission (which you will get a code to download from Playstation Store as a result of a fault on the original disc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story-telling., 20 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I love good stories, and Dragon Age just do that. Embellished with great gameplay and satisfying Sword&Magic battles.

ULTIME EDITION just adds more content for less money. Excelent Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Immersive, Epic, Great Game, 1 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a brillant game - I loved it. Note that the graphics isn't up to today's standards, not even to yesterday's. I even considered dumping the game during the first hour of gameplay due to the graphics standard. However, after a while the epic, immersive story and the great fighting system capture you and make up for this completeley. Beware: this game takes a lot of time to play - it must have taken me over 80 hours to complete it (in the hard mode), and I have not played through all the side-quests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Age, 6 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
it's a very good game with a long and branched story where you can choose when dealing with the scourge or fight with it. You can Use three races Elf, Dwarf and Human with three respective classes Mage, Warrior, Thief. during the story you will be accompanied by a group of 3 people additional to your character, who choose to follow you or go according to your actions good or bad. flaw this game a little bit of graphics because it is old but it's a game not to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Epic., 2 Jun 2012
By 
S (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Dragon age has quickly become a cult classic.

With three races, and six unique backgrounds to choose from the story has a great deal of replayability. The DLC, included in this edition, add another dozen or so quests that allow you to come closer to the level 25 game cap.

One thing I would note is that if you want Shale, the strongest tank in the game, then you'll need a new copy as she comes as DLC. It's worth the extra as Shale is exceptionally strong and adds a new area to collect her as well as giving depth to a dwarven quest.

The main game sees you advance through the unique origin for your race and background, then see the King die in the first great battle which sets the story up.

His betrayer becomes regent, and the nation of Ferelden is divided in civil war. You have to try and overthrow this disloyal imposter and restore order to the kingdom in order to resist the invading Darkspawn, an evil that blights the land every hundred years or so.

To do so you have to recruit an army of mages, templar, werewolves, elves, and dwarves to battle the archdemon leading the horde. This is an epic quest that gives you an apparant freedom as you can recruit them in any order you wish - and leave for side quests to make money or gain exp/ bonus equipment.

Two major flaws prevent this being a give:
1. You can glitch infinite money/items which in turns allows you infinite stat points by duping Tomes of Skill and Sundry (and there's a quest in an early town that can seriously mess up your game as it gives infinite exp which levels you too far as you wont have equipment to match the newly strengthed enemies)

2. The platinum is glitched as one of the trophies is 'kill 1000 darkspawn'. Having killed close to ten times that, I still don't have it.

That said, this is one game every ps3 owner should have in their collection as it's a great deal of fun and relatively cheap too.

NB There's also a problem with one DLC item, return to ostagar, but Bioware fixed this by issuing me a new DLC in less than an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More substance than semblance, 9 May 2012
By 
D. Foad ""Heaven's Proclaimer"" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Overall a very well fleshed out RPG with an good amount of playtime unique storyline interactive speech with NPC's for a good price and when you think of all the DLC content that comes with it it's well worth every penny,
Score 8.9 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the journey, 6 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
If you like a game with a good history and a lot of side plots, this is your choice.
The Ultimate version brings all at once, expansions, DLCs, everything!
IMHO, this game is way better then Dragon Age 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Massive game, 18 Mar 2011
By 
D. Nekooi "Games Designer" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The amount of content here is incredible, you will have around 100 hours of gameplay here, and definetly more if you are a trophy hunter!

If you are familiar with games such as Balders Gate or even Mass Effect, you will have a general idea as to how this game works. However, the controls are sometimes a little annoying. Not in the sense that they don't work properly, but that certain aspects of the games controls, inventory menu etc. could have been streamlined a bit to make it faster to navigate.

Graphically the game isn't bad. With an RPG of this size graphics usually suffer, and thats evident here. But I don't want you to think that the graphics are bad at all, they just don't have the polish of more popular high budget action games.

So to summarise. If your looking for a big game thats going to take you on a brilliant fantasy journey, this is for you!

If, however, your expecting an action packed, skip all the dialogue, race to the finish kind of game. This is not for you!

---

Just a not about the DLC:

All the DLC comes on the disc. When your on the XMB (main playstation menu) go to the games section. There will be 2 Disc Icons instead of the regular 1. The top is the game and the bottom one is the additional content. If any content doesn't appear in the game, contact EA and they should send a code to download it!

All the best and happy gaming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Balls-up, 11 Jan 2011
By 
John Clayton III (Greystoke) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
There's not a whole lot else to be said about Dragon Age by this point. It's a fantastic return to form for Bioware, who have struggled to produce anything decent since the first Knights of the Old Republic game. With Dragon Age they have taken the KoTOR formula of combining real time and turn based RPG gaming and thrown it into a blender with Oblivion, Lord of the Rings and a small pinch of Mass Effect to create a genuinely epic RPG that couples satisfying, rewarding gameplay with a great story and characters. If you haven't already played it by this point, then you clearly aren't much of an RPG fan. This Ultimate Edition was my first time properly playing the PS3 version of the game, having previously bought the original at release on 360, so this was going to be a somewhat 'fresh' enough experience for me that I was sure I'd have no trouble replaying the game again and still getting full enjoyment out of it. I wasn't wrong either. It's still very much a fantastic game, and the new added content really adds to the package... for the most part.

As you no doubt know by now, the Ultimate Edition includes the full DA Origins game, the 'Awakening' sequel/expansion pack and all of the downloadable content released for the game(Which is quite a bit of content in itself). To say this package represents tremendous value for money would be putting it mildly, as the actual game alone is one of the most extensive RPGs around, taking me around 60 hours or so, and that's not even doing everything and only going off one of the six unique 'starter' stories you can play. This collection would be an absolute steal... if not for the fact it has one very glaring flaw that proved instensely frustrating once I noticed it: The game does NOT have all of the downloadable content included on disc, despite what it says on the box.

Yep, the DLC pack "Return to Ostagar" is NOT on this disc. Yes, you will see it available to install from the disc when you put the disc in, but no matter how many times you install it, it does not appear in the game. It is NOT on the disc. I know EA have promised to provide free codes to download the DLC if you contact them, but even so, this is an amateur hour mistake for such a high profile release and I find it hard to believe there was no better way to spare us all some inconvenience here. It may seem a comparatively small complaint, but it does still make this release, by it's very name, a pretty blatant piece of false advertising, a lie pressed in Blu-Ray if you will, and it is for that reason I'm cutting the score in half for this release(You'll see it as 3 stars, but it's a spiritual 2 and a half). That reason and no other.

There's no reason this shouldn't have been caught in quality control, so it's hard to forgive no matter how much gate closing when horsey is long gone EA do. I bought this disc in good faith, and I got an incomplete package. Would you buy a Kit Kat if one of the fingers was missing? This is the same thing in my eyes. It doesn't matter how tasty the other three fingers are, you pay for FOUR fingers, you have a right TO FOUR FINGERS!

Get your crap together EA, or I'll be getting my chocolate elsewhere in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3)
Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
24.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews