Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laser level bosch Quigo
I bought this level recently for a little under fifty squid, and I am left wondering why I should have paid anything more.This level is brilliant.Aside from the hours of fun mucking around with it, it is brilliant.very handy pocket size inspite of the pass the parcel hugh wrapping it came in.They're clever these guys because they know that you do diy and will always have...
Published on 30 Jan. 2011 by sonicmook

versus
42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent laser with big limitations
This review is about the product and the product only, I did not purchase it from Amazon.

After you have torn away all the packaging and take it out of the box you will find a big tin can where your brand new self leveling laser will be, the tin can that it comes in is really poor and not so easy to open, with the plastic molds on the inside to stop the laser...
Published on 7 Dec. 2011 by Kurt


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laser level bosch Quigo, 30 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
I bought this level recently for a little under fifty squid, and I am left wondering why I should have paid anything more.This level is brilliant.Aside from the hours of fun mucking around with it, it is brilliant.very handy pocket size inspite of the pass the parcel hugh wrapping it came in.They're clever these guys because they know that you do diy and will always have a use for a big tin!
This level is great.I am relevelling a floor where the joist have sagged. I set the level up on one side of the room and presto there is the level on the other side. It's crossing the grand canyon in between but I know that the line on the other side is spot on, twenty feet away. You can't get better than that.Before I bought this I was thinking in terms of bits of string and a normal level. This laserlevel really is great.
You can also mount it on a camera tripod if you want to.It also comes with easy to use clamp. An absolute great buy.It works on two triple A's so cheap as chips to use.
It is basically a laser beam hanging inside the box.A plumbob with a laser beam on the bottom.If you buy this you will be as pleased as me, because it comes in at a great price,
and it really is good.
Having sung all it's praises it is for DIY. You could'nt build an new office block with it but you could put up a garden chalet easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class product, 19 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
I bought this level as I was moving to a new house and I needed to fit curtain poles at all of the windows.

I am not the best at DIY and although I have a very keen eye when it comes to seeing if something is not hanging straight on a wall, I am not very good at actually fixing things straight myself!

I hoped that the laser level would succeed where tape measures and spirit levels have previously failed.

It was a bit fiddly trying to find something high and steady enough to hold the level, but with a little ingenuity I managed it! This is a great little item, I can now say that I am an expert at fitting curtain poles that are truly level!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What it says on the tin., 11 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
This item is amazingly good value for money. I have left all the doors open and used it the length of the house. I didn't find it hard to see. This is a fifth of the price of the cheapest professional kit. The only difference seems to be that there is little damping of the levelling mechanism and no magnet for sticking it to a wall. The mounting bracket is fantastic and can be clipped to virtually any door or a photographic tripod, if needed. After a few weeks of owning this level you will have righted every picture, mirror and shelf in your house. For the average DIYer this is a must have for saving time. Fitting your own kitchen, bookcases or wardrobes - buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clever box of tricks, 20 Dec. 2011
By 
B. abecrombie (dundee scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
im a self employed maintenance man and like to buy good quality tools. Ive wanted a laser self level for a while for use in installing kitchens and tiling bathrooms etc. Ive just completed a job where i had to lower a ceiling by about 300 mm. This meant projecting a line around a 4 mtr square room. I jammed a batten of wood between the old ceiling and the floor and clamped the quingo onto the batten. I had already marked a spot on the wall for the new ceiling height, so i lined up the laser lines on the mark and drew a pencil line on top of the laser line. i then moved the laser to the end of the pencil line and repeated the process. It was quick easy and accurate. This is a cheap and accurate way to set up straight lines and it works well even on uneven surfaces. The only drawbacks are if the room is very bright it can be difficult to see the lines (close the curtains) and the laser lines will move if there is any vibration so clamp it well and dont let anything near it whilst setting up. all i a fantastic tool for amatuer and professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, robust and accurate but limited, 10 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
Ideal for indoors use and perhaps some limited outdoors use under darker conditions. Professional versions start in the 100's of pounds but have only 2-3 times the accuracy. Bosch has achieved this with a simple passive design that suspends a plumbed laser in a gimbal. The sliding lens cover acts as both a lock for the gimbal and an off switch. So when you turn the level off, it also protects the gimbal from being damaged when it's moved. The accuracy of this device seems to be about what they claim (0.8mm/m) when i compared it (took seconds) against a painstakingly leveled line i had made several weeks ago (which took me about 15 minutes). Its fast, seems accurate, is very simple to use and the design is clever enough to protect it against mistreatment. And its very very cheap compared to more sophisticated models.

And now for the disadvantages. The biggest problem is that the laser is not very bright. I used it in my sunlight lounge in the early afternoon (very bright) and the beam was only visible to about 3 meters. I haven't tried it outdoors yet but i imagine it has a similar problem there. In the late afternoon sun the range went to about 5 meters (as advertised) and at night with lights on the range was over 10m. Second problem, the beam is not particularly fine. At 5 meters its about 2-3mm wide, roughly the same level as the intrinsic error of the device at that range. The device is also only self-correcting when its within 4 degrees of being level but the device has a red-light warning you when this is a problem, so its only a minor issue. Finally, the provided tripod/stand is not particularly useful except for hanging off a chair or table, so borrow a camera tripod if you want to do anything more challenging with it.

This definitely fills a niche for home users who cant/wont spend the money for a professional device that is probably overkill anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for occasional DIY use, 20 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
Simple to use and good for most DIY jobs. However it is not a professional tool and the beam does not show up in strong sunlight. I had to put newspaper over the window to dampen bright morning sunlight on one occasion , but in most lights it is fine . Comes with an excellent bracket that allows it to be mounted on an assortment of objects, I mounted mine on a step ladder rung when using it to assist when tiling. Overall don't expect the earth but great value given the modest price and a very handy tool. Personally I would recommend it for occasional DIY use. Not had it long so cannot comment on long term durability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect DIY tool for home, 16 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
I purchased this item for my husband,we were dropping our ceilings, and he said it was the best bit of kit he had seen in a long time,it made the job so much easier to do,well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Decent laser with big limitations, 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
This review is about the product and the product only, I did not purchase it from Amazon.

After you have torn away all the packaging and take it out of the box you will find a big tin can where your brand new self leveling laser will be, the tin can that it comes in is really poor and not so easy to open, with the plastic molds on the inside to stop the laser bouncing around the tin is big and bulky, you will never figure out the correct way to twist the mount back to make it all fit properly from the moment you take it out, so the tin is pretty useless.

Now lets talk about the laser it self, the box shape of the laser is good and well made, it has a very limited range of self leveling, the laser is used also as a red light at the top to show when it isn't leveled enough to "self level" and you cannot use only 1 line at a time may that be vertical or horizontal, you are stuck with both on at the same time at all time, not such a big deal.

The button to turn on the laser acts as a cover for the laser lens and also works as a lock for fixing the laser inside from bouncing around once not in used but in transport, I like this feature and it will probably safe the laser projector from breaking if it falls. All in all the laser is good and I do understand this is a budget and DIY laser and not a professional tool, where the limitations are acceptable.

The laser beam has an accuracy margin of ± 0,8 mm/m, that is very good and out do alot of professional lasers with double the price.

Now what lets this laser down and renders it almost worthless is the mount, it is terrible, and I do mean terrible. The mount has a very limited adjustable height of less than 70mm, that means whatever you clamp it to must be at the height of within 70mm for where you need the laser line to be, very limited, the clamp is also limited and I have not found much items with the level of thickness to clamp it to so again very limited.

All of that with the mount can be delt with and not a huge deal but where this mount truly drops the bomb is when you need to rotate the laser in order to extend your laser line for a different horizontal location with the same height, as you rotate you can indirectly change the height. The locking wheel for the vertical angle is the same for the horizontal and therefore you cannot change the height without accidentally changing the position nor can you change position without accidentally changing the height, so whatever you are using the laser for, if moves out of the 5 meter range for the laser you will have to start all over again with setting your "level" point because you cannot be 100% sure the height hasn't changed accidentally while rotating it.

All in all the laser is good but the clamp mount that comes with it is terrible so 2 stars due to badly design mount.

I have not given up on this product yet though, Bosch have other mounts that will fit this laser where you can rotate without adjusting the height.

The mount that can do that is "Bosch WM1" however this is not a clamp mount and can only be fixed using screws to the wall or locked to a metal surface using the build in magnets

I hope my review help some of you who may come across similar problems due to the limitations of the mount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great time-saver!, 29 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
Just moved to a new house and, having put up some curtain poles using the standard manual spirit-level method, decided to buy this. What a brilliant piece of kit! Marking out curtain poles went from tens of minutes to just a few minutes. Fitting bathroom cabinets and mirrors is now really quick and easy. The clamp is well designed and I have had no problems at all finding something to fix it to (it fits on anything from 1.5cm to 5cm thick - room and wardrobe doors are favourites or a ladder on the one occasion I really needed the height). It self-levels in a couple of seconds and seems spot on when checked with my old spirit level. It's not bright enough to use outside in the daylight but is plenty bright enough to use indoors. Well-designed and very robust, it's great value for money. Highly recommended - you'll wonder how you managed without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bosch quigo laser cube, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch Quigo Self-Levelling Cross-Line Laser Level (DIY & Tools)
bosch missed a trick with this product, laser will only work when the self leveling pendulum allows,
as an electrician i wanted to place it on the floor to draw a straight line on the ceiling to position lighting,
other than that works well but a telescopic pole helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews