Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kitchen workhorse.
This reasonably priced paperback is what I call a kitchen workhorse. One of those books you go back to time and time again for basic techniques and information. It is not a glossy coffee table book with photos to die for - it has no photos at all.
Instead this book talks you through the basic ingredients of Thai cooking - what does what, why you use it and what to...
Published on 16 May 2010 by Clockwatch

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I love the Curry Secret book and although I cook a lot of Thai dishes I was interested to see if this book contained different recipes. I don't think there was anything in it which could not be sourced in a more authentic Thai cook book. With the Curry Secret there is a base sauce which once cooked can be used along with various spices and ingredients to make many...
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by Mrs. J. Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kitchen workhorse., 16 May 2010
By 
Clockwatch (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This reasonably priced paperback is what I call a kitchen workhorse. One of those books you go back to time and time again for basic techniques and information. It is not a glossy coffee table book with photos to die for - it has no photos at all.
Instead this book talks you through the basic ingredients of Thai cooking - what does what, why you use it and what to substitute if you can't get it. It has a section on growing your own herbs for authentic flavour. It has a chapter on equipment, and cooking techniques. It explains how to get the right balances in flavour. There is a chapter on Thai curry pastes, describing and explaining them all, and even tells you how to jazz up store bought curry pastes. It then takes you to the step by step recipes. These go from a step by step guide to perfect steamed jasmine rice, which not only tells you what to do, but more importantly why, to recipes for perfect pad thai, with tips and important points to remember for instance;

"Cook your pad thai in one or two serves only: too much food in the wok will stew rather than stir-fry and you won't get that lovely `wok' flavour."

This book is almost the Thai cooking version of Nicholas Clee's "Don't Sweat the Aubergine: What Works in the Kitchen and Why"
The reason to buy this book is that it cost's no more than a one meal readymade fancy pack of Thai spices, and you will never need to buy a ready meal again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 16 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Curry Secret book and although I cook a lot of Thai dishes I was interested to see if this book contained different recipes. I don't think there was anything in it which could not be sourced in a more authentic Thai cook book. With the Curry Secret there is a base sauce which once cooked can be used along with various spices and ingredients to make many exciting dishes. By nature Thai cooking is a combination of quick stir fry dishes which do not take as long to prepare so no real secrets here just a more anglicized version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic taste, 11 Feb 2011
This no frills book delivers just what it says on the title page, at least for the recipes we have tried so far. It gets that balance of flavours created by those combinations of exotic herbs and spices so distinctive of South East Asian Cooking off to perfection. A proper cook book and a real bargain at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A let down, 29 Jun 2011
By 
D Moore "Danny Boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following the amazing Curry Secret book from the same author I thought I was going to be in with a treat but tried a few recipes and they didnt turn out well at all. Not sure if it was me or the books fault but given the expense and difficulty in finding some of the hard to find ingredients it might be better to opt for dining out instead. If you want a great book buy her indian receipe book - The Curry Secret but leave the Thai alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tastless, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had great hopes for this book and went out and bought all the spices and a blender, but after that it went downhill all the dishes I tried were bland and nowhere like a restaurant meal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabluous recipes, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Dorset Lass (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love Thai food you'll love this book!

I've tried out a few of the recipes and everyone has been fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear instructions, well presented with pictures, good recipes. I would definitely recommend this book.
A good book for novice cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Appetizing stuff!, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thai Cookery Secrets (Kindle Edition)
Kris Dhillon has put together a great little book and I can't wait to give the recipes a bash. The instructions are clear and the recipes are not complicated. I have voted four stars because the book contains no pictures. I always like to see a picture in order to get an approximate idea as to what the fish should look like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good to have on the shelf, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a book that will last well in the kitchen environment. It is printed on poor quality paper and not well bound but it does come up with some good recipes and tips for authentic Thai cooking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yummy, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great easy to follow little cook book, tried three recipes in one week-end, everyone loved them. recommended to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4b23354)

This product

Thai Cookery Secrets
Thai Cookery Secrets by Kris Dhillon
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews