Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wyclffe 4
This new series is different from the previous three in that each episode of the earlier ones stood alone, whereas these are to a great extent dependent upon the previous ones and need to be seen in sequence in order to understand how they have developed. DI Doug Kersey has apparently committed an error of judgement and will face the conqeuences. We see how he copes...
Published on 3 Dec. 2010 by A. M. Pardoe

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The plots in this fourth series are getting further and further away from the original Burley novels and there seems to be less about the crimes and more about the relationships between the characters and their own personal problems. No wonder they stopped after five series.
Published on 17 Dec. 2011 by richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wyclffe 4, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
A. M. Pardoe (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
This new series is different from the previous three in that each episode of the earlier ones stood alone, whereas these are to a great extent dependent upon the previous ones and need to be seen in sequence in order to understand how they have developed. DI Doug Kersey has apparently committed an error of judgement and will face the conqeuences. We see how he copes emotionally with this prospect over about three successive episodes and how Charles Wycliffe and Lucy Lane react to him. Later we see Lucy, who has not taken Doug's advice in dealing with another situation, faces the consequences and how Wycliffe behaves when dealing with her. Finally we see Wycliffe himself under some strain from the pompous ass that DCC Stevens, a uniformed senior incompetent officer, puts upon Charles. Stevens appears in several of the episodes and is resented for his interference in matters of which he is ignorant.
The change of direction that this Series Four is much more about the interpersonal relationship between the team of three and makes them seem more believable and real. The actual details of the crime appear to some ectent subservient to the emotional and relationship tensions that exist between anyone working together in these circumstances.
Sadly, yet again there are no subtitles, hence 4 stars instead of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab views, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
Watching the DVD of Wycliffe series 4 reminded me just how good the series was first time around. I have also bought series 5 but yet to watch it. I shall also be buying series 1, 2 and 3 in the next few weeks. Series 4 is as good as I remember it - if only for the wonderful cornish scenery. The characters work very well together and show their human side when others are in trouble. It was nice to see what these series were like before everyone had all today's gadgets of mobile phones, laptops, ipads etc. This is good old fashioned police work using brains not gadgets. Works for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality British Police Drama., 21 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. S. Newbury "Galleons" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
The fourth season of Wycliffe shows no let up in the quality of writing, acting or storylines. It's nice to see a Top Quality British Police drama with well thought out storylines instead of all the American shoot em ups. Good gritty actors with very believable stories set in the beautiful countryside on England. Only question I have is why it's still not running. Top Quality Show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. J. D. Clegg "Dave Clegg" (Huddersfield West Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
We didn't see the series originally on TV, so Wycliffe was new to us. We've enjoyed all the series up to now. Particularly like the lack of intrusive background music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent detective series of a bygone era - well the 1990's. Not that long ago. Another recommendation from A Barter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid entertainment., 9 Mar. 2015
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent continuation of this undemanding but enjoyable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crime scene, 13 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
once again the acting team on wycliffe have produced very good crime stories and all of them well worth the purchase. it's a shame that the series wasn't resurrected as it was a brillant success when shown on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good series, very watchable time and time again, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very good series, very watchable time and time again. Much missed series of good detective series, great cast and fabulous scenery and great plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still enjoying Wycliffe, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
Well, series 1, 2, and 3 were good. How do they manage to keep the viewer glued to the tv after 4 series !! Easy, they get better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] (DVD)
this was a gift for someone .and was brought with all of the others in the complete collection and have enjoyed watching all of the dvds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD]
Wycliffe - The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] by Jack Shepherd (DVD - 2010)
£9.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews