Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How many miles to Babylon?
October Daye is private detective, half Daoine Sidhe and half human. As well as knight errant for her liege of Shadowed Hills. In An Artificial Night, she finds herself drawn into another potentially life threatening case as she tackles the lord of the Wild Hunt. Toby is given an enigmatic message simply stating: 'he rides'. Someone is stealing the children of the fae as...
Published on 11 Oct 2010 by Persephone

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A road too far ...
It's several months after A LOCAL HABITATION. When Stacy's young son disappears from his bedroom and her daughter falls into a coma-like state, Toby discovers that other children have been disappearing too - mortal, fae and changeling children. The culprit is Blind Michael who uses the children to form his Wild Hunt. No child ever returns.

Toby's determined...
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by I Read, Therefore I Blog


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How many miles to Babylon?, 11 Oct 2010
October Daye is private detective, half Daoine Sidhe and half human. As well as knight errant for her liege of Shadowed Hills. In An Artificial Night, she finds herself drawn into another potentially life threatening case as she tackles the lord of the Wild Hunt. Toby is given an enigmatic message simply stating: 'he rides'. Someone is stealing the children of the fae as well as mortal children... all signs point to Blind Michael. Toby has no choice but to track him down. She goes to see the Sea Witch, and is informed that there are three magical roads by which to reach Blind Michael's realm, and no road may be taken more than once. If Toby cannot escape with the children, she will fall prey to the Wild Hunt and Blind Michael's god-like power.

An Artificial Night is the third October Daye novel. It's a tense, exciting, at times creepy affair with twists and turns, hidden worlds, reluctant heroes and nursery rhymes. You get the sense that October's world is opening up, becoming grander, more epic in its scope. All the main characters return in this novel: Tybalt, Quentin, Connor, Luna and the Duke of Shadowed Hills, the Luidaeg etc. Not forgetting Spike the rose goblin!

The book was fantastic. It was incredibly atmospheric, Toby's world feels as real as our own on the page and the colour and eerie quality it can sometimes exhibit shines through in this tale of monsters in the dark, blind men, terror and dark worlds of endless night. There was a real sense of childhood nightmares at play here, childhood logic and black and white cruelty.

Tybalt is one of my favourite characters in the series and he's much more in the background here. It's become obvious in the past that he has some kind of feelings for Toby, being the enigmatic Cat King that he is however, his feelings have not been easy to decipher and it seems it may not even be as simple as Tybalt being secretly in love with her. There are numerous hints that something else is going on behind his words -- his many disappearances also lend credence to hidden agendas or issues. I'm looking forward to the point where Tybalt can be the focal point of the novel as it's clear he's a well of secrets. Connor continues to vie for Toby's affections, but it's unclear as to whether she's willing to return them. The other characters like Lily and Luna show other, surprising, sides to them. I liked this fleshing out of the characters very much -- it helps to give the story more life and depth.

Toby faces some very tough choices in An Artificial Night. In many ways the theme of this book could be choices, the good, the bad and the ugly. Toby is continuing to reassess her life and making room for those around her. She comes to an important realisation at the end of the book concerning her lust for danger; it'll be interesting to see where the author takes this development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shadows and Candlelight, 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An Artificial Night is darker than its predecessors and all the more awesome for it.

We catch up with Sire October Daye as she finishes up a case of rogue barghests (canine/scorpion hybrid monsters) and then attends a birthday party that her best friend is throwing for one of her children. Toby is their de facto aunt whom they affectionately dub Aunt Birdie. She drags herself home with memories of her own lost daughter dancing circles in her mind.

That's only the beginning of the pain because soon she comes face to face with her Fetch (May Daye; death omen)then she receives a panicked call from her best friend Stacy telling her that two of her five children are missing and a third is in an enchanted sleep and wont wake up. As if that wasn't trouble enough Tybalt turns up. Children are missing from his court too and since Toby owes him a debt (Rosemary and Rue) she's on his case too. To find and reclaim the missing children Toby must face The Wild Hunt.

This is more of an adventure than an investigation and Toby does much better in this roll. Unlike the previous books this one takes place almost entirely in Faerie. This is not the twilight Summerlands where flowers turn into butterflies though. To get the kids back she must brave the land of the wild hunt where the shadows are not comfortable and not all innocents get saved.

The characters are still fascinating and not all characters are what they seem to be. Although I must admit that I am not really happy about the character May Daye. I don't really like her and don't see that she serves any purpose. I also had a small issue with the final show down.
Aside from those two small gripes I enjoyed the story immensely because the storytelling and loves characters by far out way any complaints I have. I defiantly recommend this book to friends and anyone else.

This tale is dark and scary and emotional and we get to meet Raj the Prince of Cats. Have you bought it yet?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A credible fantasy series, 14 Sep 2010
By 
Paul Lynch (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I greatly enjoyed the first two Toby Daye books. The set up of the first book, wherein Toby is stolen from her (semi) human life as a wife and mother of a small child by being locked in the body of a koi carp for 15 years, resulting a twisted and depressive personality shift, is strangely credible in a way that most modern fantasy romances can't reach. Inside is a true hero waiting to emerge, and we see her gradually come more into her own over the series.

Some elements that come from this I don't find entirely engaging - Toby's inability to relate to the men in her life, for instance. I can intellectually see the logic, but it's more frustrating for me that I'd like it to be (as in, there are times I just want to slap her).

As for "An Artificial Night", the story is based on the power of folk tales, from simple nursery rhymes to the Childe ballads. It works well. This is one series I plan to persevere with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Arrificial Night by S. McGuire, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story. I could not put the book down. I loved the series and would encourage others to read it, if you like supernatural or shifters, fairies and other supernatural beings.

Book arrived in good time, and in good condition. Will us them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A road too far ..., 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's several months after A LOCAL HABITATION. When Stacy's young son disappears from his bedroom and her daughter falls into a coma-like state, Toby discovers that other children have been disappearing too - mortal, fae and changeling children. The culprit is Blind Michael who uses the children to form his Wild Hunt. No child ever returns.

Toby's determined to get the children back, but doing so means travelling to his lands, which can only be accessed by three roads. No road can be taken twice. Armed with a candle given to her by the Luidaeg that will protect her from Blind Michael's power, Toby has until it burns down to find the children and escape. But the odds are against her. Blind Michael is a firstborn fae whose power is like nothing she's encountered before plus her Fetch - a harbringer of her death - has shown up, suggesting that success isn't an option ...

The third in Seanan McGuire's October Daye Series is an okay story about the cost of standing up to tyranny and personal sacrifice but despite some great visual imagery was let down by a two-dimensional villain and a back-and-forth plot that sapped pace.

Toby's determination to stand up for what's right really comes through no matter what the consequences is her best trait, but at times she falls into mawkish fatalism and it would have been more interesting had she challenged the fae on their deal with Blind Michael. I liked the exchanges with her Fetch, May and her friendship with the Luidaeg is nicely depicted. There's also more background on Luna, which gives depth to her relationship with Sylvester.

Unfortunately the moment Toby's told there are only 3 roads to Blind Michael's realm, you know she's going to have to take all three. As with A LOCAL HABITATION a ricochet effect takes place as she goes back and forth, which I found deadened the pace to the story and made for repetition. Additionally Blind Michael is a two-dimensional villain, evil for the sake of being evil without any exploration as to his motives. The effect of his power is psychologically fascinating but again, it never really gets explored.

Ultimately this is an okay read but the predictability and the lack of a great villain prevented me from really enjoying it. I'll read the next book in the series but am not sure I'll go further with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The monster under the bed is real., 26 Nov 2011
By 
E. Nicholson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this third volume of the October Daye novels the author goes back to legends, the kind that underpin our subconscious worries and many children's 'fairy' tales. October, dealing with a case, or rather multiple cases, of kidnapping,of both fae and human children, has to battle dark forces that nobody else in the fairy kingdoms has had the courage or common sense to confront.

There is, perhaps, less focus on October's life in San Francisco, but the wide-ranging exploration of myth, and myths of myth, make up for that, and October and her friends are always grounded in present-day reality. The scenes at her friend's house, including the birthday party, ensure that we are continually aware of October's dual nature. Whilst the particular threat is dealt with by the end of the book, the reader is alerted to the idea that there might be things 'out there' that even the fairies have forgotten. And there will be permanent effects on some of the children, too, impinging on their life in modern America.

October's 'ordinary' ways of moving through magical and mundane places will not suffice and she must take older roads, fuelled by spells tied to traditional rhymes and universal fears. This echoes her 'usual' need to chant nursery rhymes to access magic. The story is a fairy tale within a fairy tale; the heroine is the hero who defeats the powers of darkness and rescues the innocent victims. She has help along the way from unexpected sources. In the course of her crusade she is changed both physically and mentally and some of the changes will last. Unlike many 'hero' tales, this one gives us the space to reflect on the effects of heroic actions on the hero.

This is thoughtful urban fantasy at its best.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best storyline so far. I love a good magical quest!, 13 Oct 2011
By 
The Demon Librarian (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is my favourite of the series plot-wise so far. Who doesn't love a good magical quest?

I really felt like this one stepped it up a notch on all levels. It was set predominantly in the realm of the Fae, and the storyline was much more fantastical than the last two books. Toby was also tested like she's never been before AND we got lots of answers about her own back story. Well, okay, not answers, exactly. But definitely more information and quite possibly even more questions, lol.

Blind Michael is stealing children to be his riders for his yearly hunt on All Hallows Eve. When he makes off with someone Toby cares about, she sets about trying to get them back, no matter the cost. Her morals will let her do no less.

If I was being picky I might say the plot got slightly repetitive as certain events happened more than once. But I really don't think I even care because of what else we were treated to in terms of character developments!

And Tybalt....*big dreamy sigh* Tybalt, Tybalt. I swear, if October doesn't want him, I'll take him! I absolutely adore him! And I just love it when we know more about how characters feel about each other than they do. Seanan McGuire is very good as this. It must be hard to drop the clues in there for us yet leave Toby completely guileless. And for it to be believable, too.

I don't know if anything will ever come of these "feelings" that I'm sensing. With Tybalt being Cait Sidhe, and a King no less, and October only being a smart-mouthed changeling, I'm just not sure how it will all work out. But they at least have to try, don't they?

I'll just keep reading until it happens. That will show Seanan McGuire who's boss. Ha!

5 stars! ★★★★★
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Move by Candlelight, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Bookaholic (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The previous reviewers again have given very good reviews. This is a wonderful series and the imagination can be so believable. Have all the present books in the written paperback form and will continue to keep that way with this series until it finishes? Another well deserved 5* . Series that can be re read time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and atmospheric, 5 April 2011
By 
thanwen (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Information on the story itself has already been given here by others, so what I'd like to add is that I love how atmospheric (and darker than the previous *great* two novels in the series) it is. It's the type of book where you can not only see but feel the scenery, the atmosphere. I also like how the characters develop - and change. They don't stay what they are from point one, they develop and reveal other sides of them which makes them deeper and richer and all the more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite so far, 6 Oct 2010
These books just keeping getting better and better. I couldn't put this down and read it in a day despite trying to ration myself to a few chapters at a time. I am now bereft and pining for the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews