Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
I own the previous "Robin of Sherwood" DVDs, but since I absolutely adore this series, I bought the blu-rays too. My opinion? Even if you have the DVDs, this is a must! The clarity of image and sound is truly amazing, indeed better than the DVDs. I agree with all the previous reviewers! I would also like to add that there's a booklet inside with a 48 (yes, forty eight!)...
Published on 4 Feb 2011 by Arwyn

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mangled by the American's
Its okay if you want to watch it on a small screen, it won't fit widescreen. The Americans have mangled the hour long episodes into two half hour episodes that cut off in odd places thereby ruining the whole story line. This is a British drama, made in Britain so why have the Americans been allowed to ruin it in this way?
Published 21 months ago by Jeanmh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herne's Son Never Looked Better, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Bob Drake "BobDrake" (Bronx, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This set is labeled region free (regions A-B-C). I am playing it on a region A Panasonic 3D BD player in the U.S.

I have purchased so many versions of Robin of Sherwood over the years, including an NTSC VHS version that was, frankly, terrible.

The DVD version was a vast improvement but there was a surprising amount of grain.

The BD limited edition is a revelation. The packaging looks good with a clear sleeve bearing the Robin of Sherwood logo over an oversized box -- there are smaller boxes for 3 BDs, but size matters when you are pricing limited edition items.

The BD picture quality, considering the age and the 16mm image source, is quite remarkable. I have been watching the series on a 50" plasma with the 4:3 image zoomed to fill the 16:9 screen. The picture is a bit soft, but very watchable even at such a large size. Some digital manipulation was probably used but is it not obvious. Edges are clean if a bit soft. Colors are vibrant. Sherwood never looked so green. The Robin of Sherwood logo is a zingy yellow and red. Skin tones are realistic. Flames are bright yellow-orange as thatched roofs are torched.

The set is certainly worth the price of admission. Now we need the Jason Connery episodes on BD. Then my life will be complete.

Herne's son is dead, long live Herne's son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is Forgotten, it's like it's all new again!, 10 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
What can I say? As a die-hard devoted fan of RoS since it's original airing, to the extent of being the owner of one of the original costumes & having met many of the cast and crew, I never thought it could get better. How wrong I was! It certainly helped sway me that so many on here said the same, doubtful whether yet another version added would make a difference, would it really be that good, and so many must've had the delightful sensation I did seeing it as though for the first time all over again! Even before the Normans got off their rafts to burn Loxley village, you could tell the incredible difference in colour and clarity, and the soundtrack is even better than before, without the need to constantly adjust the volume as I did with the DVD's. Having a plethora of brand new extras which were all a delight to see for the first time, too! Great interviews with those missed from first time round: Robert Young, Philip Jackson & George Baker were well worth it, but then all the HD-quality images, upgraded + extended Electric Theatre Show, and of course the ever famously loved outtakes!! This is a revision to treasure, so thanks to Network for bringing it to life!! Just a shame ITV isn't taking notice how popular this is, since they were offered the two new specials and turned it down!! This is a must, so get it now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Series, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A legendary series about a legend... a top quality remaster in Blu-ray and an essential purchase whether or not you already own the dvd series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, 11 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
i have noticed that other reviews have said that the transmission order of the episodes is out of whack .this is true but in the timeline of the show they are in the right order hence marions father being dead in the swords of wayland but alive in the prophecy when the prophecy was shown first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brought back lots of memories., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Clear and and of very high quality. Really impressed. Was a kid when it watched it last and it brought back a lot of memories of childhood. Thanks amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 19 Mar 2013
By 
P. Thomas "Pentop" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I loved this product. Took me back to the 80s and made me feel young again. This was my favourite programme when I was a teenager and I had them all on video. It's so lovely to be able to put them back in my DVD and Blu-ray collection where they belong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant DVD, Sherwood nerds heaven!, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Brian Condra "Bee See" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A classic from the eighties restored and standing the test of time. This is Robin for the Gothic generation. Sheer delight to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment, 19 April 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Southern England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well worth watching. This is good entertainment that seems to be so sadly lacking on modern TV. The blu ray transfer isnt the greatest. Its very watchable but perhaps this is not the disk to use to showcase your blu ray player to your friends. However, don't let that put you off because this is an excellent series and good family fun to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to watch a classic..., 16 Nov 2014
By 
P. Holden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Bought as a present for my wife who is a long time fan, writes fanfic and is a member of several appreciation groups. Apparently its perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 12 Dec 2013
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
From memory, the episode sequence not correct. But... Good picture quality. Good 'extras'. Insightful booklet. The definitive version: buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin of Sherwood - Michael Praed [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£38.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews