Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 22 Sep 2010
By 
S. BOSTON (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have been waiting for this show to arrive on DVD for years. And now, at last, it's here! This is one of the funniest shows ever made by ITV. It was specially written for Robert Gillespie by Brian Cooke (The co-creator of much loved sitcoms such as Man About the House, George and Mildred and Father Dear Father.)

Keep it in the Family has the same wonderful carefree attitude that Brian Cooke is famous for. Even though this show was made in the eighties, it still has that nice seventies feel. All episodes on this DVD are filled with fantastic set pieces and laugh out loud one liners.

Even though the show is innocent by today's standards, it still runs close to the bone and if you look and listen hard enough, you will pick up on some very funny and secretly risque jokes that I'm sure passed the censors eye and ear because of Dudley's childlike delivery. One of the reasons this show is so good is because of Dudley's enthusiasm and complete disregard for all things adult. He is a free spirit, and gives a laidback, yet almost hyperactive performance throughout the show. The way he switches from child to adult to child again is a testament to his great acting ability.

This is Robert Gillespies crowning glory before he became a very serious and very well repected theatre actor and director. Please pick a quiet moment to watch this DVD. Turn the phone off, pour a glass of wine, and sit back and relax. This show is a classic that has been hiding in the shadows for far too long.

But now it's here. At last!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Gillespie is hilarious, 25 Nov 2010
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Robert Gillespie is hilarious as the father who has to deal with his down-to-earth wife and two young adult daughters. Gillespie's character is a cartoonist (he draws "Barney the Bionic Bulldog"). He is perpetually behind in getting his work done, because he has so many other things to do, most of which get him into trouble. He pretends to be a policeman and goes to the theatre to "arrest" whoever stole his daughter's tickets; he leaves answering machine messages on his editor's machine that make it sound like the machine is broken. He hassles his daughters' boyfriends. But all this is more adult than the usual situation comedy.

It's nice that this series is finally available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in the Family The Complete First Series DVD, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Keep it in the Family was a series i remember from the early 80s and have always hoped it would be re-released again, so i was delighted to see it on Amazon. When you buy these sort of comedy DVDs you are always worried that what you found funny all those years ago still has the same effect, and i can tell you it has lost nothing over the years the sharp whit and 1 liners are a joy to watch, so can't wait for series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just buy it and love it, 29 Dec 2010
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this from the good old days. It was brilliant then and it is now. This sitcom was and remains cool. The gentle sillyness of Dudleys self induced situations and the brick bat comedy between his wife, daughters and everyone else would not see air time in todays "lets be real" world. GOOD Comedy is about make believe with just enough reality for it to be plausable. Or to put it another way comedy must be possible if not probable. I cant add anymore to the already superb reviews but I would say Buy it and love it and please Thames release all the other series on DVD this is a winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Gillespie - simply genius!, 24 Oct 2010
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I was absolutely delighted that this series has finally been released on DVD having been such a big fan when it was originally broadcast. The excellent script and performances well stand the test of time and bring back some great memories for me . Having the chance to watch this series again highlights just what an excellent comedy performer Robert Gillespie is, his timing is perfection, and the combination of wicked mischieviousness and childlike innocence makes his character so endearing He simply never stops in each episode and the supporting cast are all excellent.

I hope the rest of the series will be released, it deserves recognition a second time around.
Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Family, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
My review for series 4 applies to all the other series. It remains a highlight in my dvd library. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Comedy of Old, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a classic from it's time. It might not appeal to everyone but it does to me - it depends on what sort of sense of humour you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More great comedy from the heyday of British comic genius, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
We loved this - it's quirky, frustrating central character (Robert Gillespie doing vertically challenged eccentric cartoonist and loving it) with strong female roles, heaps of sarcasm and thekind of surreal verbal digressions that pique your interst as much as tickling your funny bone. Great ensemble work, belevable premise and a noticeable absence of four letter words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very fine britcom for those awful 1980 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keep it in the Family - The Complete First Series [DVD]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews