Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tense and well-made thriller
A group of ex-convicts are kidnapped and taken to an island where they will be hunted for sport by the wealthy. Before long the situation becomes a game of survival. The hunters arrive on the island with the big guns whilst the hunted must use their best survivalist skills to brave the dangerous uncharted landscape. Unknown to all of them is the last of a doomed...
Published 7 months ago by StormSworder

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Bites
I was`not too sure when i first started to watched the film, but I felt it was ok. Prisoners who caused hurt and suffering to others, were put on the island and were being hunted by the family and friends of the people they have hurt or killed. They meet they match when they encounter hydra.
Published on 2 July 2011 by Rov45


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tense and well-made thriller, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydra [DVD] (DVD)
A group of ex-convicts are kidnapped and taken to an island where they will be hunted for sport by the wealthy. Before long the situation becomes a game of survival. The hunters arrive on the island with the big guns whilst the hunted must use their best survivalist skills to brave the dangerous uncharted landscape. Unknown to all of them is the last of a doomed expedition living on the island, along with a creature from the darkest realms of human mythology.

This is a great film. The characters are all well-written, the storyline never ceases to be gripping and intriguing and the Hydra itself is a fantastic and terrifying CGI creation. Cut off one of its heads and it will simply grow another, in the tradition of the hydra legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super cool movie, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydra [DVD] (DVD)
exelent performing and top enternament with great actors:-) i love this kind of thrilling Movies with a lot of nervkiyttling moments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hydra, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Kevin Barry McGinn (Jersey, Channel Islands, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydra [DVD] (DVD)
Films Quite Good, Some People Would Think Its Pants, But I Rather Liked This Film, If You Like Creature Flicks You Should Like This One, The Only Thing That Lets The Film Down Is The Hydra Itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable creature-feature with decent story and characters., 11 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Hydra [DVD] (DVD)
Special effects in Syfy-type monster movies have really improved in the last 3 or 4 years. Just as recently as the mid 2000's, the effects were often blocky, padly pixellated and rendered into the background and often looked out of place. Slowly but surely, these made-for-TV films are getting better effects, as the price of quality CGI slowly falls. In modern monster films of this type, such as HYDRA and BASILISK, the creatures are now routinely very well created, although I;ve noticed how the CGI is low quality in things such as backgrounds, explosions, weather etc.

But quality special-effects do not a good picture make; story, characters, script, and a bit of sense also help too.

HYDRA - THE LOST ISLAND is basically yet another copy of THE MOST DANGEROUS GAME with a mythical creature thrown in. An ex-marine and three criminals are kidnapped and taken to a deserted island where four mega-rich businessmen with grudges have paid to hunt them. However, the island is also home to the four-headed snake-like HYDRA, who doesn't care if its prey is hunter or hunted, it justs wants some dinner.

I quite enjoyed this film actually. The effects are better than usual; not great, but not bad, but the monster isn't really the best thing here. The story, though unoriginal, is well-handled, and is entertaining, and the characters are clearly distinguishable and well-motivated. Generally, for a film with a giant mythical monster in it, this is pretty good, and you could do much much worse than this for some creature-feature thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SNAKES ALIVE, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydra [DVD] (DVD)
AN ENJOYABLE HORROR/FANTASY MOVIE SOMEWHAT DIFFERENT FROM THE USUAL SLASHER/REDNECKS IN THE WOODS THEME.A BUNCH OF CRIMINALS ARE SENT TO A REMOTE ISLAND TO BE HUNTED BY RICH ASSASSINS.WHAT THEY ARE NOT AWARE OF IS AN ANCIENT HYDRA SNAKE GOD IS AT LOOSE ON THIS ISLAND TO DESPATCH ANYONE WHO COMES IN RANGE.ITS A SHAME THAT THE HYDRA APPEARS TOO SOON AT THE BEGINNING OF THE FILM AND IN DOING SO SPOILS THE MOMENT OF SUSPENSE AND BUILD UP BUT NONETHELESS I THOUGHT THE BASIC IDEA OF THE STORYLINE WAS GOOD.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS FILM TO ALL HORROR/FANTASY MOVIE FANS EVERYWHERE AND HAVE ADDED THIS TO MY COLLECTION.INCIDENTALLY THE C.G.I.IS PRETTY GOOD CONSIDERING THE RESTRAINTS OF THE BUDGET AND THE PRINT QUALITY MORE THAN ACCEPTABLE FOR THIS TYPE OF B MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Bites, 2 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydra [DVD] (DVD)
I was`not too sure when i first started to watched the film, but I felt it was ok. Prisoners who caused hurt and suffering to others, were put on the island and were being hunted by the family and friends of the people they have hurt or killed. They meet they match when they encounter hydra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lower one's IQ, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hydra [DVD] (DVD)
This film, in my opinion, is a waste of time. After watching the first 10 minutes I suddenly felt (I think) that my IQ has plummeted to the size of my neck collar!! It is really wierd. I think I may have already given this dvd away as a present to this guy who is on regular psychiatric appointments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hydra [DVD]
Hydra [DVD] by Andrew Prendergast (DVD - 2011)
5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews