Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story
I found this very interesting to read. It's the tale of three families who build up baking empires from scratch with plenty of rivalry in between. It covers three generations. I did feel though that the subject matter could have covered three books - because this was in one novel characters and happenings couldn't be covered in as much detail as they would have been if...
Published on 29 Dec. 2011 by Kew

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too complex, not enough on the bread!
A book covering various families across 3 generations with too many people to follow, too many deaths in strange circumstances to be realistic. The idea was OK but the execution was far from good more about the companies involved would have helped. I did read it all but didn't feel I had read a memorable book.
Published on 30 Jun. 2012 by Irwin Armstrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story, 29 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breadwinners (A Family Saga of Love, Lust and Betrayal) (Kindle Edition)
I found this very interesting to read. It's the tale of three families who build up baking empires from scratch with plenty of rivalry in between. It covers three generations. I did feel though that the subject matter could have covered three books - because this was in one novel characters and happenings couldn't be covered in as much detail as they would have been if a seperate book had been devoted to each generation. Don't let that comment put you off, I enjoyed reading this. But if the author ever finds enough hours in the day, this story could be the basis of a whole series of novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This batch of bread is delicious..., 14 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Breadwinners (A Family Saga of Love, Lust and Betrayal) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book many months ago (probably early 2011). This is a true saga in it's own right. Characters are well constructed; good, solid details regarding the "setting" ie South Africa... not without subtle mentions of early protagonist(s) origins/North West England. The author has intricately woven a lovely and intriguing "tapestry" over the years/generations.
This is one batch of bread that will definately never be relegated to my toaster! A book that I will surely read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The breadwinners, 8 July 2011
This review is from: The Breadwinners (A Family Saga of Love, Lust and Betrayal) (Kindle Edition)
In her saga, Jan Hurst-Nicholson gives us three families in competition, intertwined, in love with and at odds with one another, all draped in an unlikely cloak of the family bakery that morphs, over time and generations, into corporate, high tech and high finance cutthroat business and politics. Believe me, and the author, Jan, within this story is high drama, sometimes crusty, sometimes hot and steamy, sometimes sweet and light, just as the breads and pastries that draw the families together and rends them apart. The unforgettable characters are the primary ingredients to this excellent mixture set in South Africa, but the reader will never again take a lowly loaf of bread for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Breadwinners, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breadwinners (A Family Saga of Love, Lust and Betrayal) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, I couldn't wait every night to pick it up, the sort of book you just couldn't put down, but when I got to the end I was so disappointed , I think it should have carried on a bit further, unless of course I'm missing something.
it is a shame there is no follow up to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read!, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Breadwinners (A Family Saga of Love, Lust and Betrayal) (Kindle Edition)
I was quickly caught up in this well plotted, realistic work of fiction of the time. A page turner which ended too soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, 4 May 2012
This review is from: The Breadwinners (A Family Saga of Love, Lust and Betrayal) (Kindle Edition)
could not put this book down brilliant read a great page turner you wont be disappointed sorry it ended would love a follow up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too complex, not enough on the bread!, 30 Jun. 2012
By 
Irwin Armstrong (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Breadwinners (A Family Saga of Love, Lust and Betrayal) (Kindle Edition)
A book covering various families across 3 generations with too many people to follow, too many deaths in strange circumstances to be realistic. The idea was OK but the execution was far from good more about the companies involved would have helped. I did read it all but didn't feel I had read a memorable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews